The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for June 22nd, 2011

La-La Land Preps Reissues for Goldsmith and Trevor Jones Plus Titles for Comic-Con

leave a comment »

La-La Land Records released its newest titles yesterday featuring some A-list composers – all the while, as always, amid speculation for their next releases at the San Diego Comic-Con.

This week’s releases were Bad Girls by Jerry Goldsmith and The Sender by Trevor Jones. Bad Girls, a Western about a quartet of prostitutes (Andie MacDowell, Drew Barrymore, Mary Stuart Masterson and Madeline Stowe) on the run in Texas after a justifiable homicide and subsequent jailbreak. The score boasted the kind of action material (this time with a natural Western twist) that Goldsmith was already legendary for, and this release greatly expands the original Fox Records CD, which ran just under 40 minutes. Meanwhile, The Sender is an early horror score from Trevor Jones, the South African composer who’d later become famous for scores to Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal (1982) and Labyrinth (1986) as well as 1992’s The Last of the Mohicans.

These two titles are La-La Land’s last for a month; the next three will be announced on July 19, but they will be available first at the San Diego Comic-Con that weekend (July 21-24) before being offered for the general public on August 2. Fan speculation is, as always, rampant; the label’s Comic-Con batch last year included excellent expansions of the scores to Krull (1983) and Tim Burton’s Batman (1989). There has been semi-official confirmation that Elliot Goldenthal’s score to Batman Forever (1995) will get an expanded release this year – but its status as Comic-Con title has been debunked by Goldenthal’s Facebook page, which puts the release on track for October. While this may be disappointing for some, that means there are even more titles worthy of such a major announcement in the pipeline!

Bad Girls is limited to 3,000 copies, while The Sender caps out at half of that – 1,500 units. Track lists and ordering info are after the jump. Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Mike Duquette

June 22, 2011 at 13:18

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Hendrix “In The West” Emerges With New Performances, Retooled Track List

with 4 comments

Those looking forward to Experience Hendrix’s upcoming reissue of In the West might be surprised to find that the new In the West isn’t quite the same album it was upon its original release in 1972, and not just because of the three added bonus tracks.  Confirmation has come from Experience Hendrix’s website that, while In the West’s original eight songs still figure on the disc, two will be heard in different performances.

The original LP was drawn from Hendrix’s concerts at the Royal Albert Hall on February 24, 1969, the San Diego Sports Arena on May 24, 1969, Berkeley Community Theatre on May 30, 1970 and the Isle of Wight Festival on August 30, 1970.  For the September 13 reissue, both of the Royal Albert Hall performances have been replaced.   “Little Wing” will now be heard in a rendition from the second show at San Francisco’s Winterland Ballroom on October 12, 1968.  “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” from Royal Albert Hall has been replaced with a performance from the San Diego Sports Arena on May 24, 1969, exactly three months after the Royal Albert Hall date.

Hit the jump for more information on this unexpected change, and the full track listing with each performance venue indicated! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

June 22, 2011 at 10:42

Teen Spirit, Redux: “Nevermind” to Be Expanded for 20th Anniversary

with 2 comments

Back in April, in a Back Tracks post commemorating Nirvana on the occasion of Kurt Cobain’s passing, we declared it “inconceivable that the powers-that-be at Geffen/UMe wouldn’t be thinking of reissuing [breakthrough album Nevermind] for the two-decade mark (especially with the exact anniversary falling in November, just in time for the box set frenzy associated with the fourth quarter).” At the time, the band’s Hormoaning EP had received a domestic vinyl reissue for Record Store Day and 20th anniversary badges were springing up on Facebook and Twitter, so it seemed like a natural fit.

Boy, were we right! Universal Music Enterprises today announced a box set version of the classic 1991 album for release this fall. We hope you’re sitting down for this one – it’s a five-disc set, four CDs and a DVD. According to the news release, the set “will include previously unreleased recordings, rarities, b-sides, BBC radio appearances, alternative mixes, rare live recordings and an unreleased concert in its entirety on DVD.” A track list has not been nailed down yet, but one would imagine that the audio portion would feature some overlap with the 2004 box set With the Lights Out.

Read the full, brief announcement here and keep it tuned here for additional information as it’s made available. (Thanks to eagle-eyed reader Sergio for passing this one along!)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 22, 2011 at 10:15

Posted in Box Sets, News, Nirvana, Reissues

Lowe and Edmunds, Live: Rockpile “Live at Montreux” Arrives On CD

leave a comment »

Nick Lowe, Dave Edmunds, Billy Bremner and Terry Williams, individually, are among the most accomplished artists to come out of the “pub rock” scene. Joined as Rockpile, they are a true rock legend. Though the band only recorded one album, 1980’s Seconds of Pleasure, under its own name, the Rockpile sound is instantly recognizable.  It graced solo LPs by Edmunds and Lowe as well as tracks by Mickey Jupp and Carlene Carter (then Lowe’s wife). Eagle Records will on August 22 release on CD the first-ever Rockpile live album, taken from the band’s 1980 performance at Montreux.

The Rockpile name first surfaced in 1970 on a Dave Edmunds solo LP and was used when Edmunds toured in support of the album as “Dave Edmunds and Rockpile.” Terry Williams, on drums, was among the members of that touring band. Around the same time, Nick Lowe was making waves as a member of Brinsley Schwarz. When Edmunds was enlisted to produce the band in 1974, he and Lowe realized their common sensibility, and pushed the folk/country/rockabilly revivalists into a forward-thinking power pop style, a forerunner of New Wave. The Rockpile lineup was formed shortly thereafter but record company politics kept it from being much more than an on-again, off-again concern; Lowe was the first artist signed to Stiff Records, while Edmunds recorded for Led Zeppelin’s Swan Song label. Still, Rockpile played on albums by both Lowe and Edmunds including Lowe’s first two solo LPs and Edmunds’ Tracks on Wax 4 and Repeat When Necessary. In 1980, Edmunds was extricated from his Swan Song contract and committed to a Rockpile album proper, Seconds of Pleasure.

Hit the jump for more, including the complete track listing of the new set! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

June 22, 2011 at 09:43