The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Weekend Wround-Up: Ramones Vinyl (Plus), Warhol’s Legacy, A Voyage to Honnalee on DVD

leave a comment »

  • On Tuesday, July 19, Rhino is reissuing the first four Ramones albums on 180-gram vinyl with the original artwork and track lists (meaning Leave Home will have “Carbona Not Glue” on Side One). Those who order the first 500 copies of each LP directly from the label will receive a bonus 7″ with their respective albums.
  • Legacy Recordings will release a strictly limited box set in August to commemorate the life and work of Andy Warhol. 15 Minutes: Homage to Andy Warhol will feature three CDs consisting of 17 audio components (poetry, spoken word, music, or reminiscences) by 18 different artists, mostly friends and colleagues from the art world but also including musical luminaries like Bob Dylan and Patti Smith. Those components will also be replicated on four vinyl LPs; the box will additionally feature 16 12″x12″ silkscreened art pieces by the same artists. This box will be limited to 1,964 copies at $600 each; for the serious collector, a deluxe edition will feature the silkscreened prints as “numbered, signed or stamped” by their creator(s), and silkscreened by Warhol’s master silkscreener, Alexander Heinrici.” That set, of which only 85 copies will be made, will go for $20,000.
  • Shout! Factory will commemorate the 50th anniversary of Peter, Paul and Mary with the release of a special that commemorated the folk group’s 25th anniversary. Peter, Paul and Mary: The 25th Anniversary Concert, was taped at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center in Nashville and broadcast on PBS in 1986, and makes its debut on disc on July 23 (as an Amazon exclusive).

Check out track lists and order links for the Ramones and Peter, Paul and Mary sets after the jump.Ramones, Ramones (originally released as Sire SR-6020, 1976 – reissued Rhino, 2011)

  1. Blitzkrieg Bop
  2. Beat on the Brat
  3. Judy is a Punk
  4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend
  5. Chainsaw
  6. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue
  7. I Don’t Wanna Go Down to the Basement
  8. Loudmouth
  9. Havana Affair
  10. Listen to My Heart
  11. 53rd & 3rd
  12. Let’s Dance
  13. I Don’t Wanna Walk Around with You
  14. Today Your Love, Tomorrow the World

Bonus single: “I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend” b/w “California Sun/I Don’t Wanna Walk Around with You” (Live at the Roxy, Los Angeles) (originally released as Sire SA-734, 1976)

Ramones, Leave Home (originally released as Sire SR-6031, 1977 – reissued Rhino, 2011)

  1. Glad to See You Go
  2. Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment
  3. I Remember You
  4. Oh, Oh, I Love Her So
  5. Carbona Not Glue
  6. Suzy is a Headbanger
  7. Pinhead
  8. Now I Wanna Be a Good Boy
  9. Swallow My Pride
  10. What’s Your Game
  11. California Sun
  12. Commando
  13. You’re Gonna Kill That Girl
  14. You Should Never Have Opened That Door

Bonus single: “Swallow My Pride” b/w “Pinhead” and “Let’s Dance” (Live at the Roxy, Los Angeles) (originally released as Sire SA-738, 1977)

Ramones, Rocket to Russia (originally released as Sire SR-6042, 1977 – reissued Rhino, 2011)

  1. Cretin Hop
  2. Rockaway Beach
  3. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  4. Locket Love
  5. I Don’t Care
  6. Sheena is a Punk Rocker
  7. We’re a Happy Family
  8. Teenage Lobotomy
  9. Do You Wanna Dance?
  10. I Wanna Be Well
  11. I Can’t Give You Anything
  12. Ramona
  13. Surfin’ Bird
  14. Why Is It Always This Way?

Bonus single: “Sheena is a Punk Rocker” b/w “I Don’t Care” (originally released as Sire SA-746, 1977)

Ramones, Road to Ruin (originally released as Sire SRK-6063, 1978 – reissued Rhino, 2011)

  1. I Just Want to Have Something to Do
  2. I Wanted Everything
  3. Don’t Come Close
  4. I Don’t Want You
  5. Needles & Pins
  6. I’m Against It
  7. I Wanna Be Sedated
  8. Go Mental
  9. Questioningly
  10. She’s the One
  11. Bad Brain
  12. It’s a Long Way Back

Bonus single: “She’s the One” b/w “I Wanna Be Sedated” (originally released as Sire SIR-4009 (U.K.), 1978)

Peter, Paul and Mary, The 25th Anniversary Concert (Shout! Factory, 2011)

  1. Such is Love
  2. I’m in Love with a Big Blue Frog
  3. Puff, The Magic Dragon
  4. Right Field
  5. Where Have All the Flowers Gone?
  6. El Salvador
  7. Like the First Time
  8. Kisses Sweeter Than Wine
  9. Wedding Song (There is Love)
  10. Weave Me the Sunshine
  11. Greenwood
  12. Light One Candle
  13. Leaving on a Jet Plane
  14. If I Had a Hammer
  15. Greenland/Whale Fisheries
  16. Power
  17. Blowin’ in the Wind
  18. This Land is Your Land
  19. Goodnight, Irene

Written by Mike Duquette

July 8, 2011 at 12:51

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: