The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Deep Purple Reissues, Live Material Coming from Eagle Rock

with 3 comments

Eagle Rock’s recent release of Deep Purple’s Phoenix Rising documentary, which collected some previously unseen footage of 1975/1976’s Mk. IV tour in Japan, is being followed up by no less than seven reissues of the band’s early studio and live material.

Next Tuesday, the label will release remastered and expanded editions of the band’s first three albums, Shades of Deep Purple, The Book of Taliesyn and Deep Purple. Each will feature the same bonus tracks – mostly outtakes and live material – that were appended to the EMI remasters of 2000.

Then on August 16, Eagle Rock will reissue four Deep Purple shows on CD. Those shows include material from the Mk. II era (In Concert 1970/1972, a pair of BBC-recorded concerts, and Scandinavian Nights, recorded by Swedish radio in 1970) and two sets from the Mk. III era with new vocalist David Coverdale. All have been previously released by either Harvest Records or various third-party labels over the past 30 years, but are now getting a somewhat more standardized release now.

Full track details and ordering info are, as always, after the jump. (Thanks to our friends at Ultimate Classic Rock for passing along the info!)

Shades of Deep Purple (Eagle Rock ER-202242, 2011)

  1. And the Address
  2. Hush
  3. One More Rainy Day
  4. Prelude: Happiness/I’m So Glad
  5. Mandrake Root
  6. Help
  7. Love Help Me
  8. Hey Joe
  9. Shadows (Outtake)
  10. Love Help Me (Instrumental)
  11. Help (Alternate)
  12. Hey Joe (Top Gear Session, BBC)
  13. Hush (Live U.S. TV, 1968)

Tracks 1-8 released as Parlophone LP PCS 7055 (U.K.)/Tetragrammaton T-102 (U.S.), 1968
Tracks 9-13 previously released on expanded edition – EMI 72434 98336 2 3 (U.K.), 2000

The Book of Taliesyn (Eagle Rock ER-202222, 2011)

  1. Listen, Learn, Read On
  2. Wring That Neck
  3. Kentucky Woman
  4. Exposition/We Can Work It Out
  5. Shield
  6. Anthem
  7. River Deep, Mountain High
  8. Oh No No No (Outtake)
  9. It’s All Over (Top Gear Session, BBC)
  10. Hey Bop a Re Bop (Top Gear Session, BBC)
  11. Wring That Neck (Top Gear Session, BBC)
  12. Playground (Remixed Instrumental Outtake)

Tracks 1-7 released as Tetragrammaton T-107 (U.S.), 1968/Harvest LP SHVL-751 (U.K.), 1969
Tracks 8-12 previously released on expanded edition – EMI 72435 21608 2 2 (U.K.), 2000

Deep Purple (Eagle Rock ER-202232, 2011)

  1. Chasing Shadows
  2. Blind
  3. Lalena
  4. Fault Line
  5. The Painter
  6. Why Didn’t Rosemary
  7. Bird Has Flown
  8. April
  9. Bird Has Flown (Single Version)
  10. Emmaretta
  11. Emmaretta (Top Gear Session – 1/14/1969)
  12. Lalena (BBC Radio Session – 6/24/1969)
  13. The Painter (BBC Radio Session – 6/24/1969)

Tracks 1-8 released as Harvest SHVL-759 (U.K.)/Tetragrammaton T-119 (U.S.), 1969
Tracks 9-10 released as Tetragrammaton single T-1519 (U.S.), 1969
Tracks 11-13 previously released on expanded edition – EMI 72435 21597 2 7 (U.K.), 2000

In Concert 1970/1972 (originally released as Harvest SHDW 412 (U.K.), 1980 – Eagle Rock ER-202302, 2011)

Disc 1: BBC’s Sunday Show – 2/19/1970

  1. Speed King
  2. Child in Time
  3. Wring That Neck
  4. Mandrake Root

Disc 2: Live at the Paris Theater, London – 3/91972

  1. Highway Star
  2. Strange Kind of Woman
  3. Maybe I’m a Leo
  4. Never Before
  5. Lazy
  6. Space Truckin’
  7. Smoke on the Water
  8. Lucille

Scandinavian Nights: Live in Stockholm 1970 (originally released as Connoisseur Collection DP VSOP LP/CD 125, 1988 – reissued Eagle Rock ER-202312, 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Wring That Neck
  2. Speed King
  3. Into the Fire
  4. Paint It Black

Disc 2

  1. Mandrake Root
  2. Child in Time
  3. Black Night

All tracks recorded at Konserthuset, Stockholm by Swedish National Radio  – 11/12/1970

Mk. III: The Final Concerts (originally released as Connoisseur Collection DP VSOP CD 230 (U.K.), 1988)

Disc 1

  1. Burn
  2. Stormbringer
  3. Gypsy
  4. Lady Double Dealer
  5. Mistreated
  6. Smoke on the Water
  7. You Fool No One

Disc 2

  1. Space Truckin’
  2. Goin’ Down
  3. Mistreated (Alternate)
  4. You Fool No One (Alternate)

Live in London (originally released as Harvest SHSP 4124 (U.K.), 1982 – reissued Eagle Rock ER-202332, 2011)

  1. Burn
  2. Might Just Take Your Life
  3. Lay Down Stay Down
  4. Mistreated
  5. Smoke on the Water
  6. You Fool No One

Written by Mike Duquette

July 13, 2011 at 15:58

Posted in Deep Purple, News, Reissues

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t get the point in reissuing the first three albums, which have already been remastered, with the same bonus tracks…

    Perhaps is it a different remaster? But how many times can you remaster the same album and sell it?

    Can someone please explain me?


    July 13, 2011 at 16:45

  2. I have the first 3 albums when they were issued by Spitfire Records which is/was owned by Eagle Rock. But I know that when Deep Purple released the huge Listen Learn Read On boxset, there were quite a few John Peel BBC tracks that were outstanding and I would hope they could be released since the boxset is now out of print. But I saw on the Deep Purple website that there is supposed to be a deluxe 3 CD reissue of their 1984 comeback album Perfect Strangers which looks pretty cool as well as a deluxe reissue of Rainbow’s Long Live Rock and Roll.


    July 13, 2011 at 20:39

  3. Loves me the early Deep Purple stuff… Those first couple of albums have such a great sound, with all that organ in the mix. I’ve never owned those albums, but I’m going to have to pick those up. “Hush,” “Kentucky Woman,” a couple of great Beatles covers, love it!


    July 14, 2011 at 07:23

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: