The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

In Case You Missed It: Cherry Red Brings Out Pop Will Eat Itself, Soul Reissues

leave a comment »

Last week at Cherry Red saw news an expansion of Bauhaus frontman Peter Murphy’s solo debut and a host of titles from Big Break Records. But that wasn’t all. Monday saw the release of four other expanded titles from the label group: two from a legendary British alternate rock outfit and another two overlooked soul albums.

Pop Will Eat Itself, the Stourbridge-based band, first gained attention when their self-released debut EP, The Poppies Say GRRrrr!, was lauded by NME and added to the BBC’s Radio 1 playlist. The band would flirt with mainstream success in the 1990s, after signing to RCA and a raucous opening slot for Public Enemy, culminating with their sole U.K. Top 10 single, “Get the Girl! Kill the Baddies!” Singer Graham Crabb continues to work with a reformed version of the band after a full reunion in the mid-2000s, but it’s that classic lineup that will be saluted with two expanded sets from Cherry Red.

The first, Now for a Feast!, was actually the band’s second full-length release, collating much of their non-LP material from 1986 to 1987. That set is now expanded to two discs, including all of their primary single sides and a bonus disc of B-sides, alternate versions and unreleased material, including rare early demos by the band (some cut while they were still working under the name Wild and Wandering). Additionally, the band’s first proper LP, 1987’s Box Frenzy, has been reissued with additional material, including non-LP mixes and tracks and three unreleased demos.

Cherry Red’s also got two albums out on the label. One is Stares and Whispers, a late-’70s album from Freda Payne (she of “Band of Gold” fame), which features two non-LP B-sides and a single cut with Tavares (her labelmates on Capitol at the time). The other is Back for More, a 1980 album by Al Johnson (onetime lead singer of the ’60s soul group The Unifics), augmented by both edited sides of the single Columbia released to promote the album.

All track lists and order pages can be seen after the jump.

Pop Will Eat Itself, Now for a Feast! 25th Anniversary Edition (Cherry Red CDMRED502, 2011)

Disc 1: Expanded compilation

  1. I’m Sniffin with You Hoo
  2. Sick Little Girl
  3. Mesmerized
  4. There’s a Psychopath in My Soup
  5. Candydiosis
  6. Black Country Chainstore Massacre
  7. Monogamy
  8. Oh Grebo I Think I Love You
  9. Titanic Clown
  10. B-B-B-Breakdown
  11. Sweet Sweet Pie
  12. The Devil Inside
  13. Runaround
  14. Lovemissile F1-11
  15. Orgone Accumulator
  16. Everything That Rises
  17. Like An Angel

Disc 2: 

  1. Dust Me Down (Wild and Wandering Demo)
  2. Johnny Ray (Wild and Wandering Demo)
  3. Apple Tree (Wild and Wandering Demo)
  4. Summer Girl (Live @ Birmingham Uni, 1986)
  5. Inside You (Pre-Beat Box Demo)
  6. Picnic in the Sky (Pre-Beat Box Demo)
  7. Pyschopath in My Soup (Early Version)
  8. Everything That Rises (New Version)
  9. Oh Grebo, I Think I Love You (New Version)
  10. Bubbles
  11. Ugly

Disc 1, Tracks 1-12, 15 and 17 released as Now for a Feast! compilation (Chapter 22 CHAP LP 33 (U.K.)/Rough Trade ROUGH US-22 (U.S.), 1988)
Disc 1, Tracks 1-5 released as The Poppies Say GRRrrr! EP (Desperate Records SRT-1 (U.K.), 1986)
Disc 1, Tracks 6-10 released as Poppiecock EP (Chapter 22 CHAP 9 (U.K.), 1986)
Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 later released as Poppiecock – The Poppies Play 5 a Side (Chapter 22 12 CHAP 9 (U.K.), 1986)
Disc 1, Tracks 11-13 released as Chapter 22 EP CHAP 11 (U.K.), 1987
Disc 1, Tracks 14-17 released as Chapter 22 12″ single 12 CHAP 13 (U.K.), 1987
Disc 2, Tracks 1 and 4 released on 2000 Light Ales from Home (Iguana Records VYK14 (U.K.), 1986)
Disc 2, Tracks 2-3 and 5-7 previously unreleased
Disc 2, Track 8 released on Chapter 22 12″ single L 12 CHAP 13 (U.K.), 1987
Disc 2, Tracks 9-11 released on Chapter 22 12″ single 12 CHAP 16 (U.K.), 1987

Pop Will Eat Itself, Box Frenzy: Expanded Edition (Cherry Red CDMRED503, 2011)

  1. Grebo Guru
  2. Beaver Patrol
  3. Let’s Get Ugly
  4. U.B.L.U.D.
  5. Inside You
  6. Evelyn
  7. There is No Love Between Us Anymore
  8. She’s Surreal
  9. Intergalactic Love Mission
  10. Love Missile F1-11
  11. Hit the Hi-Tech Groove
  12. Razorblade Kisses
  13. Picnic in the Sky
  14. Kiss That Girl
  15. There is No Love Between Us Anymore (Specially Extended Dance Mix)
  16. Grebo Guru (Sonic Sounds EP Mix)
  17. Supersonic Human (Graham Shome Demo)
  18. Intergalactic Love Mission (Graham’s Home Demo)
  19. Def Con One (Clint Shome Demo)
  20. Def Con One
  21. Def Con One (Doomsday Power Mix)

Tracks 1-12 released as Chapter 22 LP CHAP LP 18 (U.K.)/Rough Trade LP ROUGH US-33 (U.S.), 1987
Tracks 13-15 from Chapter 22 12″ single 12 CHAP 20 (U.K.), 1988
Track 16 from Sonic Sounds EP given away free with Sounds magazine, 1987
Tracks 17-19 previously unreleased
Track 20 from Chapter 22 single PWEI 001 (U.K.), 1988
Track 21 from Chapter 22 limited 12″ single PWEI L12 001 (U.K.), 1988

Al Johnson, Back for More: Expanded Edition ( SMCR-5020, 2011)

  1. I’m Back for More (feat. Jean Carn)
  2. Saved by the Bell
  3. You’re a Different Lady
  4. School of the Groove
  5. I’ve Got My Second Wind
  6. Tonight’s the Night for Love
  7. You Are My Personal Angel
  8. Peaceful
  9. You Are My Personal Angel (US Single Edit)
  10. I’m Back for More (US single Edit)

Tracks 1-9 released as Columbia LP JC 36266, 1980
Tracks 10-11 released as Columbia single 1-11207, 1980

Freda Payne, Stares and Whispers: Expanded Edition ( SMCR-5021, 2011)

  1. Master of Love
  2. Love Magnet
  3. Stares and Whispers
  4. Feed Me Your Love
  5. I Get High (on Your Memory)
  6. Loving You Means So Much to Me
  7. Bring Back the Joy
  8. Baby, You’ve Got What It Takes
  9. I Can’t Live on a Memory
  10. I Wanna See You Soon – Tavares featuring Freda Payne

Tracks 1-7 released as Capitol LP ST-11700, 1977
Track 8 released on Capitol single CL-15959 (U.K.), 1977
Track 9 released on Capitol single 4383, 1977
Track 10 released on Capitol single CL-15945 (U.K.), 1977

Written by Mike Duquette

July 20, 2011 at 11:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: