The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Icehouse Catalogue Heats Up with New Aussie Compilation

with 3 comments

Sometimes reissues happen in the most unexpected places. This is nowhere more true than in Australia, where Universal Music is gearing up for a thus-far well-received catalogue expansion for Australian rockers Icehouse.

If you’re an ’80s pop fan – or grew up in the U.S. with a radio tuned to a pop station in your house – you’ll easily remember “Electric Blue,” the band’s biggest Stateside hit (and only one of two Top 40 singles on these shores). The hook-laden tune, written by bandleader Iva Davies with avowed Icehouse fan John Oates, rocketed to No. 7 on Billboard‘s Hot 100 in 1987. But in Australia, where “Electric Blue” went to the top of the charts, it was only the peak of a lengthy, hit-filled decade. The band’s first album, called Icehouse and credited under the band’s original name, Flowers (leading some to mistakenly call the album Flowers), was the highest-selling debut album in Australia until Savage Garden broke the record in the 1990s, and there were plenty of hits to go around, like “Love in Motion,” “Great Southern Land,” “Hey Little Girl,” “Crazy” and more.

The Icehouse train started rolling anew in 2011 with the announcement of a new deluxe edition of Icehouse/Flowers for its 30th anniversary (following a series of remasters of the band’s full catalogue by Chrysalis/EMI Warner Music in 2002). This set would feature a new remaster, three bonus tracks and two bonus discs (a CD and a DVD) of unreleased live material. The reissue was a stunning success in its native country, peaking at No. 10 (when does a reissue do that in America, sad to say). Now, a new compilation has been announced for release in Australia at the end of August. White Heat: 30 Hits collects nearly all of the band’s singles (and some album cuts), from Icehouse/Flowers to 1993’s Big Wheel, on two discs and adds a bonus DVD of the band’s music videos, many of which boast alternate edits for Australian and international markets.

Two additional details sweeten the deal for hardcore fans: first, anyone who pre-orders the set before August 12 will have their copy’s liner notes signed by Iva Davies; second, more catalogue activity is to follow, with another expansion of sophomore album Primitive Man in the works.

White Heat: 30 Hits is available to order here and will be released on August 27. Hit the jump for the full track list!

White Heat: 3o Hits (Universal Australia, 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Can’t Help Myself
  2. We Can Get Together
  3. Walls
  4. Icehouse
  5. Love in Motion (Original Single Mix)
  6. Great Southern Land
  7. Hey, Little Girl
  8. Street Cafe
  9. Glam
  10. Taking the Town
  11. Don’t Believe Anymore
  12. Dusty Pages
  13. No Promises
  14. Baby, You’re So Strange
  15. Mr Big

Disc 2

  1. Cross the Border
  2. Crazy
  3. Electric Blue
  4. My Obsession
  5. Man of Colours
  6. Nothing Too Serious
  7. Touch the Fire
  8. Jimmy Dean
  9. Big Fun
  10. Miss Divine
  11. Anything is Possible
  12. Satellite
  13. Big Wheel
  14. Invisible People
  15. Love in Motion (w/ Christina Amphlett)

Disc 3: DVD of music videos

  1. Can’t Help Myself
  2. We Can Get Together (Australasian Version)
  3. We Can Get Together (International Version)
  4. Walls
  5. Icehouse
  6. Love in Motion (Original Single Version)
  7. Great Southern Land
  8. Hey, Little Girl
  9. Street Café
  10. Glam
  11. Taking the Town
  12. Don’t Believe Anymore
  13. Dusty Pages
  14. No Promises (International Version)
  15. No Promises (U.K. Version)
  16. Baby, You’re So Strange
  17. Mr Big
  18. Cross the Border
  19. Crazy (Australasian Version)
  20. Crazy (International Version)
  21. Electric Blue
  22. My Obsession
  23. Man of Colours
  24. Nothing Too Serious
  25. Touch the Fire
  26. Big Fun
  27. Miss Divine
  28. Anything is Possible
  29. Satellite
  30. Big Wheel
  31. Invisible People
  32. Love in Motion (w/ Christina Amphlett)
  33. Sister (from Countdown, 1980)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-4 from Icehouse/Flowers (Regular Records, 1980)
Disc 1, Track 5 from non-LP single (Regular Records, 1981)
Disc 1, Tracks 6-9 from Primitive Man (Regular Records, 1982)
Disc 1, Tracks 10-12 from Sidewalk (Regular Records, 1984)
Disc 1, Tracks 13-15 and Disc 2, Track 1 from Measure for Measure (Regular Records, 1986)
Disc 2, Tracks 2-6 from Man of Colours (Regular Records, 1987)
Disc 2, Tracks 7-8 from Great Southern Land (Regular Records, 1989)
Disc 2, Tracks 9-11 from Code Blue (Regular Records, 1990)
Disc 2, Tracks 12-14 from Big Wheel (Massive, 1993)
Disc 2, Track 15 from Masterfile (Massive, 1992)

Written by Mike Duquette

July 25, 2011 at 11:34

Posted in Compilations, Icehouse, News

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great to see this release featured. A correction regarding the remasters in 2002, they were conducted by Warner Music Australia rather than EMI. EMI has the Icehouse back catalogue for some part of the early 90’s.


    July 25, 2011 at 20:24

  2. I got the Flowers reissue earlier this summer and it’s awesome. I’ve pre-ordered White Heat as well. I’m curious to find out what versions of the various songs appear on this. I’m guessing they’re all the Australian 7″ versions, but who knows? It’s good to see Icehouse enjoying a bit of a renaissance.


    July 27, 2011 at 10:42

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: