The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Love Hurts, But This Nazareth Box Looks Painless

with 2 comments

Madness isn’t the only artist getting a career box set from Salvo Music this year. The U.K. label is affording the same treatment to Scottish rockers Nazareth.

While the band had only fleeting chart success in either the U.K. or the U.S. (enjoying early success at home with Top 10 hits “Broken Down Angel” and “Bad Bad Boy,” as well as high-charting tunes like their rocking takes on Joni Mitchell’s “This Flight Tonight” and Tomorrow’s “My White Bicycle,” and having one brief Top 10 in the U.S. with the Boudleaux Bryant ballad “Love Hurts” (originally performed by no less than The Everly Brothers!), their fan base is still strong (owing in part to Salvo’s lengthy reissue campaign in recent times). The band still tours and even records, releasing an album earlier this year.

Now comes news of a new box set for Nazareth, The Naz Box, coming this fall. The four-disc set features two discs of singles, album cuts and B-sides across the band’s entire career alongside two discs of live tracks recorded by the BBC (while the source of these tracks have not been determined, they have likely seen release on other archival titles or as bonus tracks on the Salvo reissues) and, most exciting for fans, nine unreleased demos and outtakes.

The Naz Box is out September 19 and can be ordered on Amazon U.K. here. Have a look at the track list after the jump.

The Naz Box (Salvo Music (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Dear John
  2. Friends
  3. Woke Up This Morning
  4. If You See My Baby
  5. Razmanaz
  6. Bad Bad Boy
  7. Broken Down Angel
  8. Go Down Fighting
  9. This Flight Tonight
  10. Shanghai’d in Shanghai
  11. Loved and Lost
  12. Hair of the Dog
  13. Love Hurts
  14. My White Bicycle
  15. Vancouver Shakedown
  16. I Want to Do Everything for You
  17. Expect No Mercy
  18. Place in Your Heart
  19. New York Broken Toy
  20. Star

Disc 2

  1. May the Sunshine (Single Mix)
  2. Holiday
  3. Heart’s Grown Cold
  4. Every Young Man’s Dream
  5. Crazy (A Suitable Case for Treatment)
  6. Boys in the Band
  7. Dream On
  8. Whippin’ Boy
  9. Where Are You Now
  10. Sweetheart Tree
  11. Cinema
  12. Hit the Fan
  13. Piece of My Heart
  14. Hire and Fire
  15. Every Time It Rains
  16. Cry Wolf
  17. Can’t Shake Those Shakes
  18. Light Comes Down
  19. Day at the Beach
  20. Big Dog’s Gonna Howl

Disc 3: Live BBC Tracks

  1. Turn on Your Receiver (BBC)
  2. Called Her Name (BBC)
  3. Country Girl (BBC)
  4. Black Hearted Woman (BBC)
  5. Goin’ Down (BBC)
  6. Alcatraz (BBC)
  7. Vigilante Man (BBC)
  8. Ruby Baby (BBC)
  9. Woke Up This Morning/Boogie (BBC)
  10. Changing Times (BBC)
  11. Honky Tonk Downstairs (BBC)
  12. What You Gonna Do About It (BBC)
  13. You Got Me Hummin’ (BBC)
  14. Guilty (BBC)

Disc 4: More BBC and unreleased outtakes

  1. Telegram (BBC)
  2. Night Woman (BBC)
  3. Born to Love (BBC)
  4. Gone Dead Train (BBC)
  5. Kentucky Fried Blues (BBC)
  6. Teenage Nervous Breakdown (BBC)
  7. Paper Sun
  8. Storm Warning
  9. Mexico (Demo)
  10. Laid to Wasted (Sound Elixir outtake)
  11. Read the Book
  12. SOS (Sound Elixir outtake)
  13. Sunshine of Your Love (Snakes ‘n’ Ladders outtake)
  14. See You See Me
  15. Heatwave

Disc 1, Track 1 from Nazareth (Mountain (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1971)
Disc 1, Track 2 was the B-side to “Dear John” – Pegasus PGS-2 (U.K.), 1972
Disc 1, Track 3 from Exercises (Mountain (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1972)
Disc 1, Track 4 from Pegasus single PGS-5 (U.K.), 1972
Disc 1, Tracks 5-7 from Razmanaz (Mooncrest (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1973)
Disc 1, Tracks 8-9 from Loud ‘n’ Proud (Mooncrest (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1973)
Disc 1, Tracks 10-11 from Rampant (Mooncrest (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1974)
Disc 1, Tracks 12-13 from Hair of the Dog (Mooncrest (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1975)
Disc 1, Track 14 from Mooncrest single MOON 47 (U.K.), 1975
Disc 1, Track 15 from Close Enough for Rock ‘n’ Roll (Mountain (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1976)
Disc 1, Track 16 from Play ‘n’ the Game (Mountain (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1977)
Disc 1, Tracks 17-19 from Expect No Mercy (Mountain (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1977)
Disc 1, Track 20 and original version of Disc 2, Track 1 from No Mean City (Mountain (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1980)
Disc 2, Tracks 2-3 from Malice in Wonderland (Mountain (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1980)
Disc 2, Track 4 from The Fool Circle (Vertigo (U.K.), 1980/A&M (U.S.), 1981
Disc 2, Track 5 from Heavy Metal: Music from the Motion Picture (Epic (U.K.)/Asylum (U.S.), 1981)
Disc 2, Tracks 6-7 from 2XS (Vertigo (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1982)
Disc 2, Tracks 8-9 from Sound Elixir (Vertigo (U.K.)/A&M (U.S.), 1983)
Disc 2, Track 10 from The Catch (Vertigo (U.K.), 1984)
Disc 2, Tracks 11-12 from Cinema (Vertigo (U.K.), 1986)
Disc 2, Track 13 from Snakes n’ Ladders (Vertigo (U.K.), 1989)
Disc 2, Tracks 14-16 from No Jive (Mausoleum, 1991)
Disc 2, Track 17 from Move Me (Vertigo (U.K.), 1994)
Disc 2, Track 18 from Boogaloo (Steamhammer (U.K.), 1998)
Disc 2, Track 19 from The Newz (Edel (U.K.), 2008)
Disc 2, Track 20 from Big Dogz (Edel (U.K.), 2011)
Disc 4, Tracks 7-15 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

August 5, 2011 at 11:50

Posted in Box Sets, Nazareth, News

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why do they keep leaving “Our Love Leads To Madness” off of these compilations?!


    August 5, 2011 at 18:41

  2. “Read The Book” Track 11 on disk 4… anyone know anything ? Date written, recorded ?


    August 22, 2014 at 01:11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: