The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

You Can’t Stop Twisted Sister: Live Set Coming From Rhino Handmade

with one comment

Do you wanna rock?  Then the latest release from Rhino Handmade might just be for you!  Following stellar sets from the 1960s (The Beau Brummels’ Bradley’s Barn) and the 1970s (Bobby Charles’ self-titled album), the label jumps into the glam world of the 1980s with a vengeance!  Twisted Sister’s Live at the Marquee Club captures the Long Island band taking London by storm in March 1983.

At the time of the Marquee Club gigs, Twisted Sister had only released one studio album, 1982’s Under the Blade, and the breakthrough success of Stay Hungry (which introduced “We’re Not Gonna Take It” and “I Wanna Rock”) was still more than a year in the future.  But Live at the Marquee Club preserves the Dee Snider-fronted quintet at their most raw and powerful.  According to the label, “recordings from those legendary nights reveal the Long Island quintet raw, hungry and catching fire just a few months before it achieved breakout success on radio and MTV.”  The concert album features thirteen rare and unreleased performances from two March evenings on a single disc.  It features the quintessential line-up of Snider, guitarists Jay Jay French and Eddie “Fingers” Ojeda, bassist Mark “The Animal” Mendoza and drummer A.J. Pero.

Rhino continues: “Until now, the only way to hear bits and bobs of this historic two-night stand was through a series of 7” and 12” records released in 1983 exclusively in the U.K.  Live at the Marquee Club combines these hard-to-find cuts with five previously unreleased songs, including the title track from the band’s hard-rocking debut, Under the Blade, and covers of the Shangri-Las’ ‘Leader Of The Pack’ and the Slade version of the R&B staple ‘Let The Good Times Roll.’  The live album also includes the first ever public performance of ‘You Can’t Stop Rock ’n’ Roll,’ which would surface just three months later on the band’s second album. Snider’s legendary stage banter – also unreleased – can be heard interspersed between a few songs.”  And suffice to say you’ve never heard Jeff Barry and Ellie Greenwich’s classic death disc “Leader” quite like this before!

You can look forward to a creatively-designed package that reflects the band’s iconic logo in a striking way.  The disc is housed in a gatefold made from heavy-duty cardstock and die-cut into the shape of the Twisted Sister logo. Metal journalist Malcolm Dome contributes the new liner notes.  Live at the Marquee Club ships mid-September.  In addition, all pre-orders placed before 11:59 p.m. PST on September 18 will be automatically entered to win one of 50 copies signed by the entire band.

Hit the jump for the complete track listing plus pre-order link directly at Rhino Handmade.  Live at the Marquee Club arrives September 20 and retails for $19.98.  Are you gonna take it?

Twisted Sister, Live at the Marquee Club (Rhino Handmade, 2011)

  1. What You Don’t Know
  2. Sin After Sin
  3. Bad Boys (of Rock ‘n’ Roll)
  4. Destroyer
  5. Leader of the Pack
  6. Tear It Loose
  7. Band Rap
  8. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘n’ Roll
  9. Run For Your Life
  10. Shoot ‘Em Down
  11. Dee’s Rap
  12. It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll
  13. Band Introductions
  14. I Am (I’m Me)
  15. Under the Blade
  16. Let the Good Times Roll

Written by Joe Marchese

August 17, 2011 at 11:59

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Twisted Sister? … TWISTED SISTER??? What do you want to do with your life??


    August 18, 2011 at 19:35

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: