The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Last Payback: Hip-o Select Releases 11th and Final Singles Set for James Brown

with 7 comments

Five years after Hip-o Select’s first exhaustive volume of James Brown’s complete singles discography was committed to compact disc (and, incidentally, two decades after the Star Time box set first attempted a definitive overview of Brown’s greatest musical moments on the format), the announcement of the 11th volume of the set brings the series to a close.

On The Singles Volume 11: 1979-1981, the end of Brown’s tenure on Polydor Records is detailed. While none of the material had the chart impact of “It’s Too Funky in Here,” the big hit from the last volume, there’s some interesting material to be had here, including rare B-sides, material from a 1980 live album, and the international hit “Rapp Payback,” cut for the independent label T.K. Records.

As a bonus, the second disc of the set features all of Brown’s Polydor 12″ single mixes, including lengthy versions of “Get Up Offa That Thing,” “It’s Too Funky in Here” and others. As has been the custom for the singles sets, J.B. staffer/historian Alan Leeds provides in-depth liner notes and track-by-track commentary, putting the figurative cape on the shoulders of the legend of James Brown, now and forever The Hardest Working Man in Show Business.

The limited edition set, 5,000 copies strong, is taking orders now. A link to Hip-o Select and the full track list is after the jump.

James Brown, The Singles Volume 11: 1979-1981 (Hip-o Select/Polydor, 2011)

Disc 1

  1.  Star Generation
  2. Women Are Something Else
  3. The Original Disco Man (Short Version)
  4. The Original Disco Man
  5. Let the Boogie Do the Rest
  6. Regrets
  7. Stone Cold Drag
  8. Let the Funk Flow
  9. Sometimes That’s All There Is
  10. Get Up Offa That Thing (Live)
  11. It’s Too Funky in Here (Live)
  12. Rapp Payback (Where Iz Moses)
  13. Rapp Payback (Where Iz Moses) (Part II)
  14. Stay with Me
  15. Smokin’ and Drinkin’
  16. Give That Bass Player Some (Part I)
  17. Give That Bass Player Some (Part II)
  18. I Go Crazy
  19. World Cycle Inc.

Disc 2: The 12″ Singles

  1. Get Up Offa That Thing/Release the Pressure
  2. If You Don’t Give a Doggone About It (12″ Version)
  3. Eyesight (12″ Version)
  4. The Spank (12″ Version)
  5. For Goodness Sakes, Look at Those Cakes (12″ Version)
  6. It’s Too Funky in Here (12″ Version)
  7. Star Generation (12″ Version)
  8. Rapp Payback (Where Iz Moses) (12″ Version)
  9. Give That Bass Player Some (12″ Version)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-2 released as Polydor single PD-2005, 1979
Disc 1, Tracks 3-5 released as Polydor single PD-2034, 1979
Disc 1, Tracks 6-7 released as Polydor single PD-2054, 1980
Disc 1, Tracks 8-9 released as Polydor single PD-2078, 1980
Disc 1, Tracks 10-11 released as Polydor single PD-2129, 1980
Disc 1, Tracks 12-13 released as T.K. single TK-1039, 1980
Disc 1, Tracks 14-15 released as T.K. single TK-1041, 1981
Disc 1, Tracks 16-17 released as Polydor single PD-2167, 1981
Disc 1, Tracks 18-19 released as Polydor single POSP 290 (U.K.), 1981
Disc 2, Track 1 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-010, 1976
Disc 2, Track 2 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-038, 1977
Disc 2, Tracks 3-4 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-040, 1978
Disc 2, Track 5 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-059, 1978
Disc 2, Track 6 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-086, 1978
Disc 2, Track 7 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-100, 1979
Disc 2, Track 8 released as T.K. single TKD-452, 1980
Disc 2, Track 9 released as Polydor 12″ single PRO-157, 1981

Written by Mike Duquette

September 14, 2011 at 16:35

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was a bit disappointed when I first saw “1979-1981,” as I was hoping the last installment might license some of his Scotti Bros stuff. I do like the idea of having all the 12″ mixes, though.


    September 15, 2011 at 06:13

    • The impression I’ve always got was the controllers of the Scotti Bros. catalogue (Sony?) haven’t much cared to do anything with JB’s stuff there. “Living in America isn’t a favorite, but it’s strange how it’s never appeared on any comps PolyGram or UMe have done.

      Mike Duquette

      September 15, 2011 at 08:10

  2. What might be next, if anything, in the JB series? I bet they do 30 minute CDs of all of the original LPs.


    September 15, 2011 at 08:00

    • My guess – and I haven’t really inquired yet – is two-fers of the LPs or live material.

      Mike Duquette

      September 15, 2011 at 08:12

  3. They should offer a nice slipcase for all 11 volumes and reissue the early titles that are fetching big bucks. It was a poor marketing strategy. Many collectors who recently learned about JB or just discovered this series will hesitate to buy any when they learn that the best early years discs are out of print. Also interest in the later volumes faded as the series took a long time to finish. I bet it would have sold way more copies as two large volumes (10 & 12 CDS) which could have remained in print.


    September 15, 2011 at 08:08

  4. I really hope some of the missing titles get reissued (“Hey America”, “Sho is Funky Down Here”, “Plays New Breed” etc). Plus, a lot of them were only briefly available as Japanese imports. Expanded editions like “Live at the Garden” would be nice as well.


    September 15, 2011 at 20:02

    • Correction to above, “Hey America” is avaialble on the “Complete James Brown Christmas” 2cd comp.


      September 15, 2011 at 20:11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: