The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Disturbed Round Up “Lost Children” for B-Sides Set

leave a comment »

The rock world may be getting a bit quieter next year, with the planned hiatus of alt-metal group Disturbed. But for longtime fans and collectors, they’re at least going out with a bang, releasing a compilation of B-sides and unreleased material as a going-away present.

The Lost Children collates 16 tracks from the Chicago-based band, many of which have appeared on Japanese pressings, import CD singles, soundtracks or digital downloads, all in one place for the first time. The set spans the band’s entire chronology, from “God of the Mind” and “A Welcome Burden,” both of which appeared on last year’s 10th anniversary reissue of The Sickness, to a set of rare and unreleased tracks recorded during sessions for the band’s latest effort, Asylum (2010) – the fourth consecutive album out of the band’s five-album discography to debut at No. 1 in the United States. (One of the most intriguing is “3,” released as a digital download to raise money for the West Memphis Three last year, making its debut on physical media.)

The lead single, “Hell,” was released as an extra track on some international editions of 2005’s Ten Thousand Fists. The whole set comes out November 8, and the track list is yours to view after the jump.

Disturbed, The Lost Children (Reprise 528610-2, 2011)

  1. Hell
  2. A Welcome Burden
  3. This Moment
  4. Old Friend
  5. Monster
  6. Run
  7. Leave It Alone
  8. Two Worlds
  9. God of the Mind
  10. Sickened
  11. Mine
  12. Parasite
  13. Dehumanized
  14. 3
  15. Midlife Crisis
  16. Living After Midnight

Track 1 from Ten Thousand Fists: Deluxe Edition (Reprise (cat. # undetermined – U.K.), 2005)
Track 2 from The Sickness: 10th Anniversary Edition (Reprise 522887-2, 2010)
Track 3 from Transformers: The Album (Warner Bros. Records 220348-2, 2007)
Tracks 4 and 11 are previously unreleased tracks from the Asylum sessions, 2010
Tracks 5 and 8 from Ten Thousand Fists: Tour Edition (Reprise 9362 44347-2, 2005)
Track 6 from Indestructible: Limited Edition (Reprise 439484-2, 2008)
Track 7 from Japanese pressing of Asylum (Warner Music WPCR-13915, 2010)
Track 9 from Japanese pressing of The Sickness (Warner Music WPCR-11268, 2002)
Track 10 from “Land of Confusion” CD single (Reprise W 738 CD (Europe), 2006)
Track 12 from Japanese pressing of Indestructible (Warner Music WPCR-12886, 2008)
Track 13 from “Stricken” CD single (Reprise W 685 CD, 2005)
Track 14 recorded during the Asylum sessions and offered as a digital download, 2010
Track 15 from Covered: A Revolution in Sound (Warner Bros. Records 512896-2, 2009)
Track 16 from “Another Way to Die” CD single (Reprise (cat. # undetermined), 2010)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 30, 2011 at 11:37

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: