The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

These Are the Good Times: U.K. Gets New CHIC Compilation, Too

with one comment

As if the revelation of a new U.K. compilation for today’s birthday boy Johnny Mathis (with an unreleased track from the CHIC-produced I Love My Lady, no less) wasn’t exciting enough, Edsel’s Music Club Deluxe imprint has also announced a similar set for CHIC themselves – and rarity-seekers are going to be excited.

Magnifique! The Very Best of CHIC captures the greatest hits and album cuts from the inimitable disco band, spanning not only through their biggest period of success from 1977 to 1983 but also including the band’s 1992 comeback album CHIC-ism. (Most of the big hits, including “Le Freak,” “Everybody Dance,” “I Want Your Love” and “My Feet Keep Dancing,” are presented in their original single edits, while others, like “Good Times” and “My Forbidden Lover,” are presented in full.) A few of the edits are relatively rare to CD, including single versions of “CHIC Mystique” and “Your Love” from CHIC-ism and an edit of “You Can Get By,” from the band’s first album, which first appeared on the back of the “Everybody Dance” 7″ single.

The two most exciting tracks for collectors, though, might be the couple of U.K.-only single sides that are rare, if not entirely new, to CD. Disc 1 closes out with an edit of the “MegaCHIC” medley released to promote the U.K compilation of the same name in 1990. Disc 2, meanwhile, features one of the rarest CHIC jewels of all: the instrumental of Carly Simon’s “Why,” a U.K. Top 10 hit from the band’s Soup for One soundtrack, previously only available on the British 12″ single. (A 12″ single released in the U.S. featured a live instrumental version, instead.)

Magnifique!, out in the U.K. next Monday, October 3, might be the perfect soundtrack for your upcoming reading of Nile Rodgers’ new book. Read the track list and find a link to order after the jump.

CHIC, Magnifique! The Very Best of CHIC (Music Club Deluxe MCDLX-529 (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Chic Cheer
  2. Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) (7″ Edit)
  3. Le Freak (7″ Edit)
  4. Everybody Dance (7″ Edit)
  5. Your Love (7″ Edit)
  6. My Forbidden Lover
  7. I Want Your Love (7″ Edit)
  8. Soup for One
  9. I Loved You More
  10. High
  11. Happy Man
  12. (Funny) Bone
  13. Hangin’ (7″ Edit)
  14. I Feel Your Love Comin’ On
  15. Give Me the Lovin’
  16. Believer
  17. Something You Can Feel
  18. Doin’ That Thing to Me
  19. MegaCHIC – The CHIC Medley (Edit)

Disc 2

  1. Open Up
  2. Good Times
  3. My Feet Keep Dancing (7″ Edit)
  4. Why (Live Instrumental)
  5. A Warm Summer’s Night
  6. São Paolo
  7. Tavern on the Green
  8. You Can’t Do It Alone
  9. Sometimes You Win
  10. Rebels Are We (7″ Edit)
  11. Real People
  12. Stage Fright
  13. Strike Up the Band
  14. You Can Get By (7″ Edit)
  15. Savoir Faire
  16. Take a Closer Look
  17. What About Me
  18. CHIC Mystique (Lovely Radio Edit without Rap – Remixed by Roger S.)

Original versions of Disc 1, Tracks 1, 3, 7 and 11-12 and Disc 2, Tracks 9 and 15 from C’est CHIC (Atlantic, 1978)
Original versions of Disc 1, Tracks 2 and 4 and Disc 2, Tracks 6 and 13-14 from CHIC (Atlantic, 1977)
Original versions of Disc 1, Track 5, 10 and 17-18 and Disc 2, Track 18 from CHIC-ism (Warner Bros., 1992)
Disc 1, Track 6 and Disc 2, Tracks 2-3, 5 and 17 from Risqué (Atlantic, 1979)
Disc 1, Track 8 and Disc 2, Track 7 from Soup for One: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Mirage, 1982)
Disc 1, Track 9 and Disc 2, Tracks 1, 8 and 10-11 from Real People (Atlantic, 1980)
Original versions of Disc 1, Track 13-14 from Tongue in CHIC (Atlantic, 1982)
Disc 1, Tracks 15-16 and Disc 2, Track 16 from Believer (Atlantic, 1983)
Disc 1, Track 19 from Atlantic 12″ single A-7949 T (U.K.), 1990
Disc 2, Track 4 from WEA 12″ single K-79300 T (U.K.), 1982
Disc 2, Track 12 from Take It Off (Atlantic, 1981)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 30, 2011 at 14:08

Posted in CHIC, Compilations, News

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After last year’s amazing CHIC box set, it’s hard to muster up too much excitement for this compilation, although that instrumental version of “Why” is pretty tempting…


    September 30, 2011 at 18:35

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: