The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Deftones Go “Elite,” Release Vinyl Box

leave a comment »

Get ready, vinyl heads: yet another vinyl box set is coming your way, this time from Reprise for Sacramento rockers Deftones.

When the Deftones’ debut album, 1995’s Adrenaline, went gold (and later platinum) with considerably little promotion on MTV or radio, it could have been construed as a surprise. But the band – comprised of high school friends Chino Moreno, Stephen Carpenter and Abe Cunningham on vocals, guitar and drums, respectively, plus bassist Chi Cheng and keyboardist Frank Delgado (a guest member until 2000) – was road-tested over a lengthy period of time, and worked hard toward finding their edge in a crowded West Coast rock scene. Earning the attention of Madonna’s Maverick Records imprint, the Deftones built a strong, dedicated fan base, earning three platinum and one gold album certification and seeing their last four albums peak within the U.S. Top 10.

The band has also built a strong amount of crossover appeal through their wide variety of studio and live covers of everyone from Duran Duran and Depeche Mode to John Lennon and Sade. These fan favorites have been compiled several times, most recently on Covers, a vinyl set exclusive to Record Store Day retailers earlier this year.

While recent years have been challenging for the band – Cheng was seriously injured in a car accident in 2008 and Sergio Vega has filled in since then – the band presses on, having released the strongly-reviewed Diamond Eyes in 2010 and supporting Cheng’s recovery, after which they will finish work on Eros, the album they were working on before the bassist’s accident. The band celebrates that strong output with a 180-gram vinyl box set coming out October 25 and featuring all six of their studio albums over seven LPs (2000’s White Pony is a double album) as well as the aforementioned Covers set. The set, limited to 1,000 hand-numbered copies, can be ordered now, and the track lists are yours to peruse after the jump.


Deftones, The Vinyl Collection 1995-2011 (Reprise, 2011)

LP 1: Adrenaline (originally released as Maverick 46054, 1995)

  1. Bored
  2. Minus Blindfold
  3. One Week
  4. Nosebleed
  5. Lifter
  6. Root
  7. 7 Words
  8. Birthmark
  9. Engine No. 9
  10. Fireal
  11. Fist

LP 2: Around the Fur (originally released as Maverick/Warner Bros. 46810, 1997)

  1. My Own Summer (Shove It)
  2. Lhabia
  3. Mascara
  4. Around the Fur
  5. Rickets
  6. Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)
  7. Lotion
  8. Dai the Flu
  9. Headup
  10. MX
  11. Bong Hit
  12. Damone

LPs 3-4: White Pony (originally released as Maverick 47667, 2000)

  1. Feiticeira
  2. Digital Bath
  3. Elite
  4. RX Queen
  5. Street Carp
  6. Teenager
  1. Knife Prty
  2. Korea
  3. Passenger
  4. Change (in the House of Flies)
  5. Pink Maggit

LP 5: Deftones (originally released as Maverick 48391, 2003)

  1. Hexagram
  2. Needles and Pins
  3. Minerva
  4. Good Morning Beautfiul
  5. Deathblow
  6. When Girls Telephone Boys
  7. Battle-Axe
  8. Lucky You
  9. Bloody Cape
  10. Anniversary of an Uninteresting Event
  11. Moana

LP 6: Saturday Night Wrist (originally released as Maverick 43239, 2006)

  1. Hole in the Earth
  2. Rapture
  3. Beware
  4. Cherry Waves
  5. Mein
  6. U, U, D, D, L, R, L, R, A, B, Select, Start
  7. Xerces
  8. Rats!Rats!Rats!
  9. Pink Cellphone
  10. Combat
  11. Kimdracula
  12. Rivière

LP 7: Diamond Eyes (originally released as Reprise 511922, 2010)

  1. Diamond Eyes
  2. Royal
  4. You’ve Seen the Butcher
  5. Beauty School
  6. Prince
  7. Rocket Skates
  8. Sextape
  9. Risk
  10. 976–EVIL
  11. This Place is Death

LP 8: Covers (originally released as Reprise 49582, 2011)

  1. Drive (bonus track on iTunes edition of Saturday Night Wrist, 2006)
  2. Caress (bonus track on iTunes edition of Diamond Eyes, 2010)
  3. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want (from B-Sides and Rarities – Maverick R2 76460, 2005)
  4. No Ordinary Love (B-side to “Change (in the House of Flies)” – Maverick 44876, 2000)
  5. Savory (from the Far EP Soon – Immortal Records, 1997)
  6. Do You Believe (bonus track on iTunes edition of Diamond Eyes, 2010)
  7. Simple Man (from B-Sides and Rarities – Maverick R2 76460, 2005)
  8. Ghost (bonus track on iTunes edition of Diamond Eyes, 2010)
  9. The Chauffeur (from The Duran Duran Tribute Album – Mojo UD-53029, 1997)
  10. If Only Tonight We Could Sleep (Live) (from B-Sides and Rarities – Maverick R2 76460, 2005)
  11. Sleep Walk (B-side to “Minerva” – Maverick 42627, 2003)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 5, 2011 at 09:00

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: