The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

No Longer a “Siamese Dream”: First Wave of Smashing Pumpkins Expanded Reissues Announced

with 4 comments

Anyone worried that Billy Corgan’s muse would take him away from the long-promised expanded reissues of The Smashing Pumpkins’ catalogue can breathe a sigh of relief. The first two entries in the reissue campaign – 2 CD/1 DVD editions of Gish (1991) and Siamese Dream (1993) – have been announced for a November 28 release domestically (December 5 for the rest of the world).

These albums – produced by Butch Vig and remastered by Bob Ludwig – are the first in a lengthy salvo of reissues promised by EMI through 2013. Featuring new interviews with frontman Corgan conducted by journalist David Wild and bonus material curated by Corgan, the packages follow the tradition of deluxe editions by David Bowie and Duran Duran, with lift-top boxes holding the three discs and additional artwork.

As for bonus material, Gish and Siamese Dream boast a healthy amount of unreleased demos and session material. (Gish uses some already-released material, featuring new Butch Vig-commissioned mixes of some single and B-side tracks, including the band’s original version of “Tristessa” released by Sub Pop Records, but most of the B-sides are likely being saved for an expanded version of Pisces Iscariot, the band’s original B-sides-and-rarities set.) The sets will each come with newly-released vintage live shows on DVD, both recorded at Chicago’s Metro club and featuring new introductions from club owner Joe Shanahan.

Hit the jump for the full scoop on track lists for each set!

Gish: Deluxe Edition (Virgin/EMI, 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as Caroline Records 1705, 1991)

  1. I am One
  2. Siva
  3. Rhinoceros
  4. Bury Me
  5. Crush
  6. Suffer
  7. Snail
  8. Tristessa
  9. Window Paine
  10. Daydream

Disc 2: Bonus material

  1. Starla (2011 Mix)
  2. Siva (John Peel Session – 8/7/1991)
  3. Honeyspider (Reel Time Demo – 2011 Mix)
  4. Hippy Trippy (Crush Music Box Demo)
  5. Snail (Live Radio Performance)
  6. Plume (2011 mix)
  7. Bury Me (Reel Time Demo – 2011 Mix)
  8. Daydream (Old House Demo)
  9. Tristessa (Sub Pop Single Version – 2011 Mix)
  10. Girl Named Sandoz (John Peel Session – 8/7/1991)
  11. Jesus is the Sun (Apartment Demo)
  12. Blue (Gish Sessions Demo)
  13. Smiley (Gish Sessions Demo)
  14. I Am One (Reel Time Demo – 2011 Mix)
  15. Seam (Suffer/Apartment demo)
  16. La Dolly Vita (2011 mix)
  17. Pulseczar (Gish Sessions Demo)
  18. Drown (Alternate Guitar Solo)

Original versions of Tracks 1 and 6 were B-sides to “I Am One” 12″ single – Hut Recordings HUTT 18 (U.K.), 1992
Tracks 2 and 10 released on The Peel Sessions EP – Hutt Recordings HUTT 17 (U.K.), 1992
Original versions of Tracks 3, 9 and 16 released as Sub Pop 12″ single 90, 1990
Track 17 released on Earphoria promo (Virgin DPRO-12694, 1994)
All other songs previously unreleased.

Disc 3: DVD – Live at The Metro, Chicago, – 8/25/1990

  1. Introduction
  2. I am one
  3. Snail
  4. Rhinoceros
  5. Bury Me
  6. Tristessa
  7. Window Paine
  8. Razor
  9. Sookie Sookie
  10. Godzilla
  11. Crush (Acoustic)

Siamese Dream: Deluxe Edition (Virgin/EMI, 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as Caroline 1740, 1993)

  1. Cherub Rock
  2. Quiet
  3. Today
  4. Hummer
  5. Rocket
  6. Disarm
  7. Soma
  8. Geek U.S.A
  9. Mayonaise
  10. Spaceboy
  11. Silverfuck
  12. Sweet Sweet
  13. Luna

Disc 2: Bonus material

  1. Pissant (Siamese Sessions Rough Mix)
  2. Siamese Dream (Broadway Rehearsal Demo)
  3. STP (Rehearsal Demo)
  4. Frail and Bedazzled (Soundworks Demo)
  5. Luna (Apartment Demo)
  6. Quiet (BBC Session – Billy Corgan Mix)
  7. Moleasskiss (Soundworks Demo)
  8. Hello Kitty Kat (Soundworks Demo)
  9. Today (Broadway Rehearsal Demo)
  10. Never Let Me Down Again (BBC Session)
  11. Apathy’s Last Kiss (Siamese Sessions Rough Mix)
  12. Ache (Silverfuck Rehearsal Demo)
  13. U.S.A. (Soundworks Demo)
  14. U.S.S.R. (Soundworks Demo)
  15. Spaceboy (Acoustic Mix)
  16. Rocket (Rehearsal Demo)
  17. Disarm (Acoustic Mix)
  18. Soma (Instrumental Mix)

All songs previously unreleased except Track 10, originally released on Large N’ in Charge (Hut Recordings/Virgin 8399162, 1994)

Disc 3: DVD – Live at The Metro Chicago – 8/14/1993

  1. Introduction
  2. Rocket
  3. Quiet
  4. Today
  5. Rhinoceros
  6. Geek U.S.A.
  7. Soma
  8. I am One
  9. Disarm
  10. Spaceboy
  11. Starla
  12. Cherub Rock
  13. Bury me
  14. Hummer
  15. Siva
  16. Mayonaise
  17. Drown
  18. Silverfuck

Written by Mike Duquette

October 18, 2011 at 17:53

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My only reservation about these sets concerns the lack of relevant B-sides with either title. Songs like “Purr Snickety” and “Bullet Train To Osaka” have never been officially released on CD–hopefully these are intended for inclusion on the expanded “Pisces Iscariot.”

    Other than that–these look awesome! I’m in!


    October 18, 2011 at 19:35

  2. At first glance these sort of look like The Cure reissues, with the bonus disc being comprised almost completely of demos. Sure, they’re previously unreleased, but are they any good? In the case of The Cure, most of them weren’t. 😦


    October 19, 2011 at 09:48

    • Whilst many of these demos and unreleased tracks have never been officially released, quite a few of them have been available through the fan sites and audio archive sites for years. Quite a few of them are pretty good (other opinions are available). There are a few too many demos of album tracks on there for my liking because as Charlie Sheen said there are dozens of great songs they recorded like ‘With You’ or ‘Daughter’ which they never officially released.

      I’m personally more interested in the DVD live shows.


      October 20, 2011 at 15:05

  3. I don’t know what I’m more excited about–the garish new artwork, the inevitable brickwalled remastering, or the completely underwhelming bonus tracks (which are completely unacceptable when one considers the dozens upon dozens of unreleased songs the Pumpkins recorded during their prime.)

    Charlie Sheen

    October 19, 2011 at 23:28

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: