The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Hip-o Select Gets on the Good Foot with Lost Fred Wesley Album

with 2 comments

Hip-o Select’s James Brown singles sets may be done with the recent release of Volume 11, but the Godfather of Soul’s catalogue has a lot of uncovered treasures, and a new release from the boutique label continues to uncover the legend of Brown and his crack team of musicians – in particular one Fred Wesley.

Wesley, Brown’s longtime trombonist, arranger and musical director in the 1960s and 1970s, is best known to casual J.B. fans as the credited force behind the funky No. 1 soul single “Doing It to Death” (by Fred Wesley & The J.B.’s) in 1973. But the jazz-trained Wesley’s true solo album under his own name, recorded a year before, was consigned to the shelves on Brown’s People Records, with only a pair of forgotten 45s, including a take on Herbie Hancock’s “Watermelon Man,” to show for it.

Now, Select unearths the entire album as Wesley intended audiences to hear it, a nine-track affair with four bonus cuts to boot. An interesting turn, however, is that much of the album – while credited to the J.B.’s – instead utilizes crack jazz musicians from New York City. (Joe Farrell, Eddie Daniels, Steve Gadd, Ron Carter and both Randy and Michael Brecker are just a few of the names on the LP. Of the intended LP, the only true J.B.’s track is “Watermelon Man,” with a certain funky Godfather sitting in on the drum set.)

The disc closes out with four tracks from the same sessions that were issued on non-LP singles. In total, six of these tracks are being heard for the first time anywhere, counting a version of “Transmogripification” that lasts longer than the version on The J.B.’s Hustle with Speed album in 1975.

With the release of this lost album, it looks like there will be plenty of projects to catalogue the legend and mystique of The Hardest Working Man in Show Business. The disc ships November 18 and can be ordered after the jump.

Fred Wesley & The J.B.’s, The Lost Album featuring Watermelon Man (Hip-o Select/Polydor B0016192-02, 2011)

  1. Watermelon Man
  2. Sweet Loneliness
  3. Secret Love
  4. Seulb
  5. You’ve Got a Friend
  6. Transmograpification
  7. Use Me
  8. Get on the Good Foot
  9. Everybody Plays the Fool
  10. Alone Again (Naturally)
  11. Back Stabbers
  12. J.B. Shout
  13. Funky & Some

Tracks 1 and 10 released on People Records single PE 617, 1972
A short version of Track 6 released on Hustle with Speed (People Reords PE 6606, 1975)
Tracks 7 and 9 released on People Records single PE 616, 1972
Tracks 11-12 released on People Records single PE 614, 1972
Track 13 released as Polydor Records single B-side 14226, 1974
All other tracks previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

November 7, 2011 at 10:18

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hopefully this means that we will see a release of the unreleased JBs album “These Are The JBs” soon.

    Mike Y

    November 10, 2011 at 17:36

    • the mentioned release on PE616 was to my knowledge only released on Polydor never on People, at least past 30 years I’ve never meet any collector who as that PE616 single including “use me”.


      February 4, 2012 at 23:03

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: