The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

In Case You Missed It: INXS Release New Hits Set

with 3 comments

You certainly wouldn’t be wrong in debating the merits of another INXS compilation on store shelves, particularly after the good job Rhino did with 2001’s double-disc Shine Like It Does: The Anthology and the breezy, single-disc The Best of INXS the next year. (The band, of course, haven’t released much new material worth covering since the tragic death of original frontman Michael Hutchence in 1997.) But in the U.K., new things are happening with the band’s catalogue – Universal Music has acquired the license to all of INXS’ albums outside the U.S. – and while great things are planned, it’s worth starting small and reminding the public of one of Australia’s best pop-rock acts of the past few decades.

With that in mind, October saw Universal release The Very Best, a new compilation both available in single-disc and deluxe two-CD/one-DVD formats. The single disc set includes all the hits you’d come to expect from an INXS hits set (“Need You Tonight,” “Original Sin,” “Never Tear Us Apart,” “Suicide Blonde,” “What You Need,” “New Sensation”) and a few you might not (“Just Keep Walking,” “Baby Don’t Cry”).

Collectors, and even those whose fandom is more than casual, are going to want to spring for the deluxe set. In addition to adding some of the more glaring omissions from the single disc version (“Don’t Change,” “The One Thing”) and a few album cuts (most from Kick), there are a few rarities and unreleased goodies to enjoy. These include “Good Times,” the band’s collaboration with former Cold Chisel frontman Jimmy Barnes that appeared on the soundtrack to The Lost Boys; four vintage live tracks and a mashup of “Need You Tonight” with an unlisted song by Gwen Stefani of No Doubt (if the proliferation of amateur remixes are any indication, it’s likely her solo hit “Hollaback Girl”). Additionally, a DVD includes a 45-minute documentary, videos and rare live performances for television.

The sets are available now and the full breakdown is after the jump.

INXS, The Very Best (Petrol Electric/UMTV 0600753360002 (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1 (also released as single-disc edition)

  1. Need You Tonight
  2. Mystify
  3. Suicide Blonde
  4. Taste It (7″ Version)
  5. Original Sin
  6. Heaven Sent
  7. Disappear
  8. Never Tear Us Apart
  9. The Gift
  10. Devil Inside
  11. Beautiful Girl
  12. By My Side
  13. Kiss the Dirt (Falling Down the Mountain)
  14. Elegantly Wasted
  15. New Sensation
  16. What You Need
  17. Listen Like Thieves
  18. Just Keep Walking
  19. Bitter Tears
  20. Baby Don’t Cry

Disc 2

  1. Don’t Change
  2. The One Thing
  3. Shining Star
  4. The Stairs
  5. Please (You Got That…)
  6. Burn for You
  7. I Send a Message
  8. The Loved One
  9. Salvation Jane
  10. Shine Like It Does
  11. Stay Young
  12. Kick
  13. Calling All Nations
  14. To Look at You
  15. Good Times – INXS and Jimmy Barnes
  16. Need You Tonight/Hollaback Girl – INXS vs. Gwen Stefani
  17. Kiss the Dirt (Falling Down the Mountain) (Live at the Edinburgh Playhouse – 12/3/1987)
  18. What You Need (Live at the Edinburgh Playhouse – 12/3/1987)
  19. Mystify (Live at the Edinburgh Playhouse – 12/3/1987)
  20. Disappear (Live at Brixton Academy, London – 10/28/1994)

Disc 3: DVD

  1. The Very Best Documentary
  2. Taste It (Top of the Pops – 5/5/1992)
  3. The Strangest Party (Top of the Pops – 10/6/1994)
  4. Never Tear Us Apart (Later…with Jools Holland – 11/12/1994)
  5. Need You Tonight (promo video)
  6. What You Need (promo video)
  7. Beautiful Girl (promo video)
  8. Suicide Blonde (promo video)
  9. The Gift (international promo video)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-2, 8, 10 and 15 and Disc 2, Tracks 8 and 12-13 from Kick (WEA, 1987)
Disc 1, Tracks 3, 7, 12 and 19 from X (WEA, 1990)
Disc 1, Tracks 4, 6, 11 and 20 from Welcome to Wherever You Are (EastWest, 1992)
Disc 1, Track 5 and Disc 2, Tracks 6-7 from The Swing (WEA, 1984)
Disc 1, Track 9 and Disc 2, Track 5 from Full Moon, Dirty Hearts (EastWest, 1993)
Disc 1, Tracks 13 and 16-17 and Disc 2, Track 10 from Listen Like Thieves (WEA, 1985)
Disc 1, Track 14 from Elegantly Wasted (Mercury, 1997)
Disc 1, Track 18 from INXS (Deluxe, 1980)
Disc 2, Tracks 1-2 and 14 from Shabooh Shoobah (WEA, 1982)
Disc 2, Track 3 from Live Baby Live (EastWest, 1991)
Disc 2, Track 9 from The Best of INXS (Atlantic/Rhino, 2002)
Disc 2, Track 11 from Underneath the Colours (Deluxe, 1981)
Disc 2, Track 15 from The Lost Boys: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Atlantic, 1987)
All other tracks previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

November 16, 2011 at 12:33

Posted in Compilations, INXS, News

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s like JD Fortune never existed! Poor old fella


    November 16, 2011 at 15:39

  2. Short of a full box-set, the “Shine Like It Does” anthology from Rhino a few years ago is easily the best INXS collection out there. In fact, I’d say it’s probably the best 2-Disc hits collection for just about any band, anywhere. The big fat booklet of liner notes, essays, etc. is epic. They obviously had a huge and talented team of people put it together. The liner notes are way better than many full-fledged box sets!


    November 16, 2011 at 16:59

    • Amen, Don. Let’s hope if Universal does a box set (I can’t imagine they’ve not considered it, given that there’s never been one for INXS), it’ll get it as close to perfect as “Shine Like It Does” did.

      Mike Duquette

      November 16, 2011 at 17:03

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: