The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Holiday Tunes Watch, Part 3: John Denver, Muppets Go “Urban” on Vinyl

leave a comment »

Is the outpouring of love for the new Muppets film still not enough for you? Of course not! So you’ll be happy to know that there’s yet another great musical collectible (after Disney’s fun reissue of the 2006 A Green and Red Christmas) that celebrates our fur and felt friends, not to mention one gone-but-not-forgotten pop favorite: a vinyl reissue of the beloved holiday album by John Denver and The Muppets.

Maybe it was his just-offbeat-enough sensibilities in public – the onstage good-natured behavior that just barely betrayed a distinctly liberal slant – or maybe it was the physical similarities to Scooter, the Muppet’s faithful gofer and nephew of the owner of the Muppet Theater. But John Denver was a lifelong friend to Jim Henson and his band of colorful characters, and nowhere did it manifest more famously than John Denver and The Muppets: A Christmas Together, a 1979 album and subsequent television special.

While that special has yet to be released on DVD (come on, Disney!), the album has been readily available on CD and through iTunes for several years. This reissue, however, is a special one for vinyl collectors: an LP version, with all the original artwork restored (you have to love those Muppet Christmas cards on the gatefold sleeve!) pressed on “Kermit-green” vinyl, along with a download card to enjoy the album on your iPod. It’s available exclusively in stores and online at Urban Outfitters, the offbeat mall chain specializing in kitschy and ironic apparel and gifts. Rest assured, though: there’s nothing ironic about giving the gift of Muppets (or John Denver!) this holiday season.

Stroll down memory lane with the album track list after the jump, and click on the link in the last paragraph to order your copy!

(A hearty thanks to super-reader Jeff S. for the tip!)

John Denver and The Muppets, A Christmas Together (originally released as RCA Records AFL1-3451, 1979 – reissued Windstar Records 23486269, 2011)

  1. The Twelve Days of Christmas – John Denver and The Muppets
  2. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Rowlf and John Denver
  3. The Peace Carol – John Denver, Scooter and Cast
  4. Christmas is Coming – Miss Piggy, The Great Gonzo, Scooter and Robin the Frog
  5. A Baby Just Like You – John Denver
  6. Deck the Halls – John Denver and The Muppets
  7. When the River Meets the Sea – Robin the Frog and John Denver with Cast
  8. Little Saint Nick – Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem
  9. Noel: Christmas Eve, 1913 – John Denver
  10. The Christmas Wish – Kermit The Frog
  11. Medley: Alfie the Christmas Tree/Carol for a Christmas Tree/It’s in Every One of Us – John Denver and The Muppets
  12. Silent Night, Holy Night – John Denver and The Muppets
  13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas – John Denver and The Muppets

Written by Mike Duquette

December 2, 2011 at 13:50

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: