The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

“Chimes of Freedom” Flashing for Bob Dylan and Amnesty International

with one comment

Let’s face it, Bob Dylan tributes aren’t exactly uncommon. That said, one of the most ambitious albums of its kind is coming down the pike, set for January 24 release. Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan is a specially-priced 4-CD set containing 73 Dylan songs in renditions from an incredibly broad array of artists. Most of the tracks were recorded specifically for this project, but since a handful are previously unreleased tracks of an older vintage (and Dylan’s own 1964 released take of “Chimes of Freedom,” appropriately enough, closes out the set), we felt that coverage of this set was warranted here.

Chimes of Freedom is produced by Jeff Ayeroff and Julie Yannatta, who were also responsible for 2007’s Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur. That 2-CD set brought together artists like U2, R.E.M., Green Day, The Flaming Lips and Jackson Browne on a selection of John Lennon songs. This set features a similarly eclectic roster of musicians and a comparably broad scope. Many favorites here at Second Disc HQ have made a contribution to Chimes of Freedom: the late Johnny Cash, plus the very-much-alive Patti Smith, Pete Townshend, Sting, Elvis Costello and Carly Simon, to name a few. Miley Cyrus is the youngest performer on the collection at 19, and the Hannah Montana star offers “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go.” The oldest act on the line-up is none other than Pete Seeger, who could be describing himself at the age of 92 with Dylan’s “Forever Young.” It’s difficult to single out notable artists on a compilartion featuring so many. Kris Kristofferson offers “The Mighty Quinn,” Diana Krall brings her sensual touch to “Simple Twist of Fate” and Eric Burdon of the Animals tackles “Gotta Serve Somebody.” The white-hot Adele is represented by a radio performance of “Make You Feel My Love.” Ke$ha gets into the act with “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” and the frequent Philip Glass collaborators The Kronos Quartet performs the same song. Glee heartthrob Darren Criss does the honors for “New Morning.” Seal and Jeff Beck are an unlikely pair on “Like a Rolling Stone,” and bluesman Taj Mahal plays “Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream.” Even Dylan’s old flame Joan Baez is here, with a live performance of “Seven Curses.”

Hit the jump for more, including the complete track listing!

The album, of course, supports Amnesty International, entering its 50th year. In 1962, Amnesty International “evolved from a one-year campaign to free political prisoners into a worldwide movement fighting for justice, freedom and human dignity; today the organization has more than three million supporters in 150 countries,” according to the press release. The songs of Dylan were selected, in part, for the celebration because Dylan started his own recording career in the same year.

All of the artists, musicians, arrangers, engineers, producers and studios worked pro bono for Amnesty International in the release of this collection. Bob Clearmountain and Gateway Mastering’s Bob Ludwig and Adam Ayan are among the mixing and mastering engineers who contributed.

Though Chimes of Freedom will be distributed by Fontana to general retail, it is also available (with sound samples) at Amnesty’s website for $24.99 or $19.99 for a digital download containing three additional tracks performed by Silverstein, Outernational and Daniel Bedingfield. The 4-CD set arrives on January 24 in the United States and on January 30 internationally. You’ll find a pre-order link below!

Various Artists, Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan (Amnesty International, 2012)

Disc 1

  1. Johnny Cash Featuring The Avett Brothers – One Too Many Mornings
  2. Raphael Saadiq – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  3. Patti Smith – Drifter’s Escape
  4. Rise Against – The Ballad of Hollis Brown
  5. Tom Morello (The Nightwatchman) – Blind Willie McTell
  6. Pete Townshend –  Corrina, Corrina
  7. Bettye LaVette – Most of the Time
  8. Charlie Winston  – This Wheel’s On Fire
  9. Diana Krall –  Simple Twist of Fate
  10. Brett Dennen – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
  11. Mariachi El Bronx – Love Sick
  12. Ziggy Marley – Blowin’ in the Wind
  13. The Gaslight Anthem – Changing of the Guards
  14. Silversun Pickups – Not Dark Yet
  15. My Morning Jacket – You’re A Big Girl Now
  16. The Airborne Toxic Event – Boots of Spanish Leather
  17. Sting – Girl from the North Country
  18. Mark Knopfler – Restless Farewell

Disc 2

  1. Queens Of The Stone Age –  Outlaw Blues
  2. Lenny Kravitz – Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
  3. Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli – One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)
  4. Blake Mills – Heart Of Mine
  5. Miley Cyrus – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
  6. Billy Bragg – Lay Down Your Weary Tune
  7. Elvis Costello – License to Kill
  8. Angelique Kidjo – Lay, Lady, Lay
  9. Natasha Bedingfield –  Ring Them Bells
  10. Jackson Browne – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  11. Joan Baez – Seven Curses (Live)
  12. The Belle Brigade – No Time To Think
  13. Sugarland – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Live)
  14. Jack’s Mannequin – Mr. Tambourine Man
  15. Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around
  16. Sussan Deyhim – All I Really Want To Do
  17. Adele – Make You Feel My Love (Recorded Live at WXPN)

Disc 3

  1. K’NAAN – With God On Our Side
  2. Ximena Sariñana –  I Want You
  3. Neil Finn with Pajama Club – She Belongs to Me
  4. Bryan Ferry – Bob Dylan’s Dream
  5. Zee Avi – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  6. Carly Simon – Just Like a Woman
  7. Flogging Molly – The Times They Are A-Changin’
  8. Fistful Of Mercy – Buckets Of Rain
  9. Joe Perry – Man Of Peace
  10. Bad Religion – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
  11. My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row (Live)
  12. RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
  13. Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren – Abandoned Love
  14. Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales – New Morning
  15. Cage the Elephant – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
  16. Band of Skulls – It Ain’t Me, Babe
  17. Sinéad O’Connor – Property of Jesus
  18. Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project – Shelter From The Storm
  19. Ke$ha – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  20. Kronos Quartet – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

Disc 4

  1. Maroon 5 – I Shall Be Released
  2. Carolina Chocolate Drops – Political World
  3. Seal and Jeff Beck – Like A Rolling Stone
  4. Taj Mahal – Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
  5. Dierks Bentley – Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Live)
  6. Mick Hucknall – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
  7. Thea Gilmore – I’ll Remember You
  8. State Radio – John Brown
  9. Dave Matthews Band – All Along the Watchtower (Live)
  10. Michael Franti – Subterranean Homesick Blues
  11. We Are Augustines – Mama, You Been On My Mind
  12. Lucinda Williams – Tryin’ To Get To Heaven
  13. Kris Kristofferson – Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
  14. Eric Burdon – Gotta Serve Somebody
  15. Evan Rachel Wood – I’d Have You Anytime
  16. Marianne Faithfull – Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Live)
  17. Pete Seeger – Forever Young
  18. Bob Dylan – Chimes Of Freedom

Digital-Only Bonus Tracks

  1. Outernational – When The Ship Comes In
  2. Silverstein – Song To Woody
  3. Daniel Bedingfield – Man In The Long Black Coat

Written by Joe Marchese

December 16, 2011 at 10:16

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wonder why the song “Things Have Changed” was not included?

    Hint: see the lyrics


    December 16, 2011 at 13:11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: