The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Right Profile: Early Rap Label Anthologized on New Double-Disc Set

with one comment

Legacy Recordings has got a fantastic new compilation coming out later this month chronicling the rise of a most underrated rap label: Profile Records.

Profile was the brainchild of two young aspiring music moguls living in New York City at the tail end of the disco boom. Steve Plotnicki was a songwriter whose cult disco tune, “Love Insurance,” was recorded by Cory Robbins in 1979, for release on Robbins’ own Panorama label, a small imprint with ties to MCA Music Publishing. The duo aspired to create a label for the danceable music they so treasured, and with a $34,000 loan from their parents, did just that.

While success was hard to come by at first, the duo discovered they had an ear for the burgeoning rap scene taking the five boroughs by storm. Artists like the Disco Four, Dana Dane and the Fresh 3 MCs were early, minor successes for Profile Records, but things really started to pick up when the label signed a trio from Hollis, Queens named Run-D.M.C., whose cover of Aerosmith’s “Walk This Way” was a smash crossover hit and precursor to an explosion of hip-hop in the mainstream. Profile never existed in the epicenter of the trend, but they did make several major contributions, including signing Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock, whose Lyn Collins-sampling “It Takes Two” was a stratospheric success.

With the label having long been sold to Arista, Legacy presents Giant Single: The Profile Records Rap Anthology, a double-disc set that collates 31 essential sides served as a time capsule of hip-hop, from its underground roots to its metamorphosis from mainstream to gangsta subgenres. Giant Single is out January 31 and can be previewed after the jump.

Various Artists, Giant Single: The Profile Records Rap Anthology (Profile/Legacy 88697 49751-2, 2012)

Disc 1

  1. Genius Rap – Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde (Profile 12″ PRO-7004, 1981)
  2. Whip Rap – Disco Four (Profile 12″ PRO-7010, 1982)
  3. Beat Bop – Rammelzee vs. K-Rob (Profile 12″ PRO-7030, 1983)
  4. Fresh – Fresh 3 MCs (Profile 12″ PRO-7037, 1983)
  5. Here Comes That Beat! – Pumpkin and The Profile All-Stars (Profile 12″ PRO-7047, 1984)
  6. King Kut – Word of Mouth featuring D.J. Cheese (Profile 12″ PRO-7076, 1985)
  7. Sucker M.C.s (Krush-Groove 1) – Run-D.M.C. (Profile 12″ PRO-7019, 1983; later released on Run-D.M.C. – Profile LP PRO-1202, 1984)
  8. A Fly Guy – Pebblee Poo  (Profile 12″ PRO-7083, 1985)
  9. Nightmares – Dana Dane (Profile 12″ PRO-7086, 1985; later released on Nightmares – Profile LP PRO-1233, 1987)
  10. Get Off My Tip! – The Masterdon Committee (Profile 12″ PRO-7097, 1986)
  11. Lies, Lies – Rap-O-Matic, Ltd. (Profile 12″ PRO-7098, 1986)
  12. I Can’t Wait (to Rock the Mike) – Spyder-D featuring D.J. Doc (Profile 12″ PRO-7103, 1986)
  13. Drag Rap – The Showboys (Profile 12″ PRO-7111, 1986)
  14. It’s My Beat – Sweet Tee and Jazzy Joyce (Profile 12″ PRO-7126, 1986; later released on It’s Tee Time – Profile LP PRO-1269, 1988)
  15. Ragamuffin Hip-Hop – Asher D & Daddy Freddy (Profile 12″ PRO-7177, 1987; later released on Ragamuffin Hip-Hop – Profile LP PRO-1277, 1989)

Disc 2

  1. Walk This Way – Run-D.M.C. featuring Steven Tyler & Joe Perry (Profile 12″ PRO-7112, 1986; later released on Raising Hell – Profile LP PRO-1217, 1986)
  2. Cinderfella Dana Dane – Dana Dane (Profile 12″ PRO-7151, 1987; later released on Nightmares – Profile LP PRO-1233, 1987)
  3. It Takes Two – Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock (Profile 12″ PRO-7186, 1988; later released on It Takes Two – Profile LP PRO-1267, 1988)
  4. Beats to the Rhyme – Run-D.M.C. (Profile 12″ PRO-7202, 1988; later released on Tougher Than Leather – Profile LP PRO-1265, 1988)
  5. Give Em a Sample – Too Kool Posse (Profile 12″ PRO-7231, 1988)
  6. I Got It Made – Special Ed (Profile 12″ PRO-7245, 1989; later released on Youngest in Charge – Profile LP PRO-1280, 1989)
  7. Do It to the Crowd – Twin Hype (Profile 12″ PRO-7255, 1989; later released on Twin Hype – Profile LP PRO-1281, 1989)
  8. Hey Love – King Sun (Zakia 12″ PRO-7139, 1987; later released on XL – Zakia LP PRO-1270, 1989)
  9. Ah, and We Do It Like This – Onyx (Profile 12″ PRO-7297, 1990)
  10. Rock Dis Funky Joint – Poor Righteous Teachers (Profile 12″ PRO-7302, 1990; later released on Holy Intellect – Profile LP PRO-1289, 1990)
  11. Born and Raised in Compton – DJ Quik (Profile 12″ PRO-7323, 1991; later released on Quik is the Name – Profile LP PRO-1402, 1991)
  12. Be True to Yourself – 2nd II None (Profile 12″ PRO-7343, 1991; later released on 2nd II None – Profile LP PRO-1416, 1991)
  13. Zulu War Chant – Time Zone (Profile 12″ PRO-7389, 1993; also released on Thy Will “B” Funk – Planet Rock Music PR-1, 1992)
  14. Whutcha Want? – Nine (Profile 12″ PRO-7426, 1994; later released on Nine Livez – Profile LP PRO-1460, 1995)
  15. Broken Language – Smoothe Da Hustler (Profile 12″ PRO-7440, 1995; later released on Once Upon a Time in America – Profile LP PRO-1467, 1996)
  16. Luchini AKA (This is It) – Camp Lo (Profile 12″ PRO-7458, 1996; later released on Uptown Saturday Night – Profile LP PRO-1470, 1997)

Written by Mike Duquette

January 13, 2012 at 12:17

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Def compilation! Is the Rammelzee cut be the full ten minute version? I have quite a few of these on 12″ but might be tempted to part with some cold cash to own this… Just a shame there is no vinyl version.

    Simon Franklin

    January 15, 2012 at 05:43

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: