The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

(Don’t) Keep It Down: Hot Shot Expands ‘Til Tuesday’s Debut (UPDATED 1/27)

with 6 comments

As promised, new U.K. reissue label Hot Shot Records is releasing an expanded edition of Voices Carry the 1985 debut album by pop group ‘Til Tuesday, and it’s now available to order.

The album was the culmination of three years of hard work from the Boston-based band, comprised of Aimee Mann (vocals/bass), Robert Holmes (vocals/guitar), Joey Pesce (keyboards) and Michael Hausman (drums). In 1983, six months after forming, the band earned local acclaim for their song “Love in a Vacuum,” which became a staple on WBCN-FM after the band won the station’s annual Rock ‘n’ Roll Rumble.

But even after signing with Epic Records and working with producer Mike Thorne (producer of works for Soft Cell, Bronski Beat and John Cale), label brass was not convinced that they had a hit on their hands with “Voices Carry,” a song written by Mann about her breakup with Hausman (though initially disguised as written about a woman!). While Cyndi Lauper reportedly wanted to cover the tune with the original lyrics, ‘Til Tuesday kept it for themselves and the rest was history.

Bolstered by a captivating video that won the band an MTV Video Music Award – who could forget Mann belting out her vocals in the middle of a crowded audience in Carnegie Hall? – “Voices Carry” leapt to No. 8 on the Billboard Hot 100 and the album peaked at No. 19. Subsequent singles “Looking Over My Shoulder” and “Love in a Vacuum” failed to catch on with a national audience, though, and ‘Til Tuesday would split up in 1990 after two more critically acclaimed but commercially disappointing. Burgeoning songwriter Mann, of course, became a major force in her own right, embarking on a well-received (and Oscar and Grammy-nominated) solo career and marrying another great singer-songwriter, Michael Penn. (Interestingly, Hausman manages both of them.)

Hot Shot’s reissue features new liner notes featuring interviews with Robert Holmes and Mike Thorne and the original single mixes of “Voices Carry,” “Looking Over My Shoulder” and “Love in a Vacuum.” (UPDATE: the disc will also include “Are You Serious?” – the B-side to “Voices Carry” that appeared on original CD copies as a bonus track.) The set will be available on February 27 but can be ordered now.

Hit the jump to peruse the track list!

‘Til Tuesday, Voices Carry: Expanded Edition (originally released as Epic FE 39458, 1985 – reissued as Hot Shot Records HSR002, 2012)

  1. Love in a Vacuum
  2. Looking Over My Shoulder
  3. I Could Get Used to This
  4. No More Crying
  5. Voices Carry
  6. Winning the War
  7. You Know the Rest
  8. Maybe Monday
  9. Don’t Watch Me Bleed
  10. Sleep
  11. Are You Serious? (Epic B-side 34-04795, 1985)
  12. Voices Carry (Single Mix) (Epic A-side 34-04795, 1985)
  13. Looking Over My Shoulder (Single Mix) (Epic A-side 34-04935, 1985)
  14. Love in a Vacuum (Single Mix) (Epic A-side 34-05673, 1985)

Written by Mike Duquette

January 25, 2012 at 13:53

Posted in 'Til Tuesday, News, Reissues

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So they are expanding it, but dropping the b-side “Are You Serious?” that’s on the regular CD version? Fail.

    Charles Sawyers

    January 25, 2012 at 22:11

  2. On Hot Shot’s Facebook page, they confirm that “Are You Serious?” IS included.

    Elbridge Gerry

    January 26, 2012 at 11:02

    • Sweet! Thanks for the update. Still on the fence on this one.

      Charles Sawyers

      January 26, 2012 at 20:11

  3. It’s nice to see it expanded, but I really don’t like the strange jewel cases they use.


    January 26, 2012 at 13:05

  4. Sadly a rather lame effort… nothing special or anything, okay, 3 single mixes but other than that? Would have loved a bonus dvd at least, ss there is pro-shot stuff out there (a gig in New York 1985) and of course the videos for the singles, that would have been a welcome addition – can’t really see myself buying this release although I enjoy the album & band a lot… a few early demos would have been nice as well – shame, another great chance to come up with something substantial rather wasted…


    January 26, 2012 at 16:10

  5. There are lots of demos for this album that would have fit nicely here.


    March 6, 2012 at 19:27

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: