The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Viva Morrissey! U.K. Singer’s First Album and Single Gets Reissued

with 6 comments

Inifintely brilliant, often fickle rock icon Morrissey is reissuing one of his most beloved albums this spring – but it’s another one of those situations where fans are going to want to hold on to their old copies, too.

Semi-official fansite True to You posted a news release today for a reissue of Viva Hate, Morrissey’s debut solo album from 1988. Released just six months after the breakup of The Smiths and featuring longtime Smiths engineer/producer Stephen Street, Viva Hate was a always-verbose, often-cutting burst of creativity from the singer, featuring two of his greatest solo singles, the U.K. Top 10 hits “Suedehead” and “Everyday is Like Sunday.”

The new release, to be available on CD and vinyl and remastered personally by Street, will feature only one bonus track, an outtake from the Viva Hate sessions called “Treat Me Like a Human Being” which is actually replacing “The Ordinary Boys” on the standard track list. It was first released last year as a B-side to 1991 single “Glamorous Glue,” itself reissued to promote a new compilation of Moz’s. (This is not the first time Viva Hate has been reissued; in 1997, EMI issued an expanded edition with new artwork for the label’s centennial.)

In addition, EMI will release a 10″ vinyl EP for Record Store Day, featuring a remix of “Suedehead” by Ron and Russell Mael, better known as Sparks (Slicing Up Eyeballs suggests this may be an edit of a previously-released remix), as well as two unreleased live tracks from 1995.

The new Viva Hate, which also features new liner notes by Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders, will be released March 26. Hit the jump for full details.

Morrissey, Viva Hate (originally released as HMV CSD-3787 (U.K.), 1988 – reissued Liberty/EMI (U.K.), 2012)

  1. Alsatian Cousin
  2. Little Man, What Now?
  3. Everyday is Like Sunday
  4. Bengali in Platforms
  5. Angel, Angel, Down We Go Together
  6. Late Night, Maudlin Street
  7. Suedehead
  8. Break Up the Family
  9. Treat Me Like a Human Being (previously released as the B-side to “Glamorous Glue” reissue single – Major Minor MMPD722, 2011)
  10. I Don’t Mind If You Forget Me
  11. Dial-a-Cliché
  12. Margaret on the Guillotine

Morrissey, Suedehead 10″ (Liberty/EMI (U.K.), 2012)

  1. Suedehead (Mael Mix)
  2. We’ll Let You Know (Live @ The Drury Lane Theatre Royal, London – 2/26/1995)
  3. Now My Heart is Full (Live @ The Drury Lane Theatre Royal, London – 2/26/1995)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 15, 2012 at 11:03

Posted in Morrissey, News, Reissues, Vinyl

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s changing the tracklisting?!? For pity’s sake just leave stuff alone Mozzer – just for that I’m going for a burger.

    Anthony James

    February 15, 2012 at 15:27

  2. Morrissey is maddening. I can see ADDING a track, but deleting one track for another? Why on earth would he do that? So if I want this ONE new-ish track, I have to shell out for the new, improved VIVA HATE? This isn’t the first time Morrissey has re-issued and turned an outstanding work (see BONA DRAG) into a piece of crap rip-off. Sorry, I’m out…


    February 17, 2012 at 12:14

  3. One great album. Would hope the CD has the b-sides too. “Disappointed” is one of my fav songs of Morrissey’s catalog!

    -DJ Danny


    February 17, 2012 at 15:50

  4. Just read an interview with Stephen Street, Morrissey’s collaborator on VIVA HATE, who did the remaster. He stated he believed deleting “The Ordinary Boys” for “Treat Me Like a Human Being,” which is basically a demo, not even a finished track, is a mistake. He also says part of “Late Night, Maudlin Street” has been “removed” but does not say why. He says he argued against these changes but Morrissey insisted. Again, Morrissey is maddening–insisting on “fixing” or “improving” something that should be left alone! Add bonus material, but leave the original disc as is! Just my two cents…


    February 24, 2012 at 09:20

  5. I am in agreement with the other comments. Reissuing an album with strange modifications and barely any bonus material is a real “Why bother?” innit…


    April 7, 2012 at 00:12

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: