The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Pantera’s Second Album Gets More “Vulgar” in May

leave a comment »

As previously reported, Pantera’s blistering Vulgar Display of Power is getting the deluxe treatment from Rhino for its 20th anniversary.

From the iconic album cover image of a face in mid-punch, it was clear that Pantera’s second album for ATCO Records was going to be something different. With tracks like “Mouth for War,” “Walk” and “F—ing Hostile,” the last of which was famously used as theme and background music on MTV’s Headbangers BallVulgar Display is rightfully known as a classic of heavy metal – an cathartic juggernaut of power and volume unlike few others before or since.

Slated for reissue May 15, the remastered and expanded album includes one bonus track, a long-lost outtake called “Piss” that was recently discovered by drummer Vinnie Paul. In addition, the set comes with a DVD that includes the band’s performance at the 1992 Monsters of Rock Festival in Italy and three music videos.

Hit the jump for the full scoop and keep your eyes peeled here for a pre-order link.

Pantera, Vulgar Display of Power: Deluxe Edition (Rhino, 2012)

Disc 1: Original LP plus bonus track (originally released as ATCO 7 91758-2, 1992)

  1. Mouth for War
  2. A New Level
  3. Walk
  4. Fucking Hostile
  5. This Love
  6. Rise
  7. No Good (Attack the Radical)
  8. Live in a Hole
  9. Regular People (Conceit)
  10. By Demons Be Driven
  11. Hollow
  12. Piss *

Disc 2: DVD – Live at the Monsters of Rock Festival, Reggio Emilia, Italy – 9/12/1992 and bonus material

  1. Mouth for War
  2. Domination/Hollow
  3. Rise
  4. This Love
  5. Cowboys from Hell
  6. Mouth for War (promo video)
  7. This Love (promo video)
  8. Walk (promo video)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 28, 2012 at 12:37

Posted in News, Pantera, Reissues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: