The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Pop Quiz, Hot Shot! La-La Land Celebrates 200th Release in Latest Batch

leave a comment »

While there’s a month to go before La-La Land releases the expanded soundtrack to Hook, they’ve got three great releases available to buy today – including their 200th title!

First up is a reissue of Jerry Fielding’s score to the cult classic The Mechanic, with Charles Bronson as the efficient hitman who takes the son of a recent contracted kill under his wing. Save a few audio tweaks, title changes and changes in sequence, this disc features the same material from Intrada’s long out-of-print 2007 release of the score, and the 1,200-unit pressing is intended to connect more fans who missed out the first time with the soundtrack.

Next, it’s Jennifer 8, a 1992 thriller starring Andy Garcia as an L.A. cop investigating a string of brutal murders in a small California town. Christopher Young, who wrote scores for the Nightmare on Elm StreetHellraiser and Spider-Man series, expands his score – one that put him in the upper tier of film composers – for this set, but the real treat is a bonus disc featuring an unreleased original score from composer Maurice Jarre, who composed a good portion of music for the film before being replaced by Young. The double-disc set is limited to 2,000 units.

The 200th release is hurdling your way after the jump!

La-La Land’s 200th set is an expanded edition of the score to the hit action film Speed by Mark Mancina. Jan de Bont’s smash directorial debut is a Die Hard-esque romp through the streets of L.A., with Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock attempting to keep passengers safe on a city bus that’s been rigged by a madman (Dennis Hopper) with a bomb that will detonate should the bus drop below 50 miles per hour. Mancina’s high-octane score set the tone for action film music throughout the 1990s, and it marked the first of several excellent collaborations with de Bont, including 1996’s Twister and 1997’s Speed 2: Cruise Control. As an added bonus, this 3,000-unit set includes the end title song “Speed,” performed by Billy Idol.

All three are available to order now, with special sales going on in honor of Speed that you can check out here.

Jerry Fielding, The Mechanic: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (La-La Land Records LLCD 1191, 2012 – original film released 1972)

  1. Main Title
  2. The Mark Comes Home/The Big Wait
  3. The Meeting
  4. Special Delivery/How’s My Pulse/Strange Feelings
  5. Death of McKenna
  6. The Letter
  7. Suicide
  8. Strange Madness/Hello Steve
  9. The Mechanic
  10. The Pick Up/No Way In
  11. Never Ride a Motorbike/The Man
  12. Revelation/Italian Job
  13. Watching-Waiting
  14. The Set Up
  15. Speed Boats
  16. The Big Chase/The Big Drop
  17. Steve Takes Over/End Titles-Version 2 (Bang, You’re Dead)
  18. End Titles-Version 1
  19. End Titles-Version 3
  20. Let’s Get Together Again (Big Band Source)
  21. Baja Band (Mexico Jazz) (Big Band Source)
  22. The Party (Big Band Source)
  23. Beach House Jump (Big Band Source)
  24. Smoked Salmon (Big Band Source)
  25. Romping (Big Band Source)
  26. Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 18, No. 6 (Classical Source)
  27. Beethoven: Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 (Classical Source)
  28. O Sole Mio (Classical Source)

This material previously released as Intrada Special Collection Vol. 55, 2007

Christopher Young and Maurice Jarre, Jennifer 8: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (La-La Land Records LLLCD 1198, 2012 – original film released 1992)

Disc 1: Original score by Christopher Young

  1. Jennifer 8
  2. What You See
  3. Eight to Nine
  4. Still Life
  5. Black Winter
  6. Eyes of a Child
  7. Cello for Helena
  8. See No Evil
  9. Retrograde
  10. Blind Faith
  11. Talking Elevator
  12. Outfoxed
  13. Malice Aforethought
  14. Brain Vanish
  15. See How They Run
  16. I Remember Red
  17. Up on a Star

Disc 2: Unused score by Maurice Jarre

  1. Main Title
  2. To the Dump/One Hand
  3. Frozen Hand/Dig Jennifer
  4. Braille Reader/Tea Time/Elevator Man/Hello Helena
  5. .22 Bullet
  6. On Your Own/Cello Solo/Breathless/Cafe Chat
  7. VW Van/Van Search/Picking Lock
  8. No Braille
  9. Xmas Threat/Not Wrong/Up the Ladder/Flashlight (Pt. 1)
  10. Flashlight (Pt. 2)
  11. Flashlight (Pt. 3)/Ross Shot/Deviate Calls
  12. First Degree/Taxi Ride/Needed Friend
  13. No Lies/Ashtray
  14. Main Title (Alternate)
  15. Hello Helena (Pad Stem)
  16. Van Search (Alternate)
  17. Ross Shot/Deviate Calls (Alternate Mix)
  18. Taxi Ride (Alternate)

Portions of Disc 1 previously released on RCA/Milan 66120-2, 1992. All tracks on Disc 2 previously unreleased.

Mark Mancina, Speed: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (La-La Land Records LLLCD 1200, 2012 – original film released 1994)

  1. Main Title **
  2. Elevator Stall
  3. Elevator Peril
  4. Move!
  5. Pop Quiz *
  6. Dangling Feet
  7. Freight Elevator
  8. Payne Explodes *
  9. Payne Watches Awards/Payne Calls Jack *
  10. Jack Driving Jeep/Bus Enters Freeway *
  11. Rush Hour
  12. Jack Jumps Onto Bus *
  13. Choppers
  14. Bomb Reveal/Payne Watching Football *
  15. City Streets **
  16. We Have Trust **
  17. Helen Dies
  18. The Gap
  19. Entering Airport
  20. Payne Excited
  21. Jack Leaves Bus/Jack on Dolly/Payne’s Picture *
  22. The Dolly
  23. Jack Under Bus/Harry Searches House/Harry Didn’t Make It *
  24. Wildcat
  25. Payne Twisted
  26. The Rescue
  27. Pershing Square
  28. Annie’s Loaded/Getting on Train *
  29. Fight on Train
  30. Runaway Train *
  31. End Title
  32. Speed – Billy Idol

Portions of this disc previously released as Fox/Arista 07822 11020-2, 1993. Track 32 previously released on Fox/Arista 07822 11018-2, 1993.
* denotes previously unreleased track. ** denotes track with previously unreleased material.

Written by Mike Duquette

February 28, 2012 at 17:27

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: