The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

To Japan and Back: New David Sylvian Compilation Available in the U.K.

leave a comment »

If all you know of David Sylvian is his excellent work in the New Wave band Japan, some would say you have a lot to learn. Fortunately, a new compilation from EMI U.K. is here to help.

A Victim of Stars 1982-2012 collates the best works of the erstwhile Japan frontman, from their biggest hit single “Ghosts” to the present day, with a new single, “Where’s Your Gravity?” Along the way, there are a host of intriguing collaborations with some of the best avant-garde rockers in the business, from keyboardist Ryuchi Sakamoto to guitarist Robert Fripp.

While Sylvian’s last major compilation, 2000’s Everything and Nothing, featured a bevy of outtakes from his then-most recent album, Dead Bees on a Cake (1999), the few rarities here come from non-LP singles and other ephemera throughout the early portion of Sylvian’s solo career. However, in addition to his material recorded for Virgin, EMI has licensed several tracks from Sylvian’s recent albums on his independent labe, Samadhisound.

The double-disc set, released this Monday, is available to buy now and can be previewed after the jump.

David Sylvain, A Victim of Stars 1982-2012 (Virgin/EMI CDVD 3097 (U.K.), 2012)

Disc 1

  1. Ghosts (Remix)
  2. Bamboo Houses – Riyuchi Sakamoto and David Sylvian
  3. Bamboo Music – Riyuchi Sakamoto and David Sylvian
  4. Forbidden Colours – Riyuchi Sakamoto and David Sylvian
  5. Red Guitar
  6. The Ink in the Well
  7. Pulling Punches
  8. Taking the Veil
  9. Silver Moon
  10. Let the Happiness In
  11. Orpheus
  12. Waterfront
  13. Pop Song
  14. Blackwater – Rain Tree Crow
  15. Every Colour You Are (Live) – David Sylvian and Robert Fripp
  16. Heartbeat (Tainai Kaiki II) (Remix) – Ryuchi Sakamoto and David Sylvian

Disc 2

  1. Jean the Birdman – David Sylvian and Robert Fripp
  2. Alphabet Angel
  3. I Surrender
  4. Darkest Dreaming
  5. A Fire in the Forest
  6. The Only Daughter
  7. Late Night Shopping
  8. Wonderful World – Nine Horses
  9. The Banality of Evil – Nine Horses
  10. Darkest Birds – Nine Horses
  11. Snow White in Appalachia
  12. Small Metal Gods
  13. I Should Not Dare
  14. Manafon
  15. Where’s Your Gravity?

Disc 1, Track 1 from Everything and Nothing (Virgin, 2000). Original version from Tin Drum (Virgin, 1981)
Disc 1, Tracks 2-3 from non-LP single (Virgin, 1982)
Disc 1, Track 4 from Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Virgin, 1983)
Disc 1, Tracks 5-7 from Brilliant Trees (Virgin, 1984)
Disc 1, Tracks 8-9 from Gone to Earth (Virgin, 1986)
Disc 1, Tracks 10-12 from Secrets of the Beehive (Virgin, 1987)
Disc 1, Track 13 from non-LP single (Virgin, 1989)
Disc 1, Track 14 from Rain Tree Crow (Virgin, 1991)
Disc 1, Track 15 from Damage: Live (Virgin, 1994)
Disc 1, Track 16 from Heartbeat (Virgin, 1992)
Disc 2, Track 1 from The First Day (Virgin, 1993)
Disc 2, Tracks 2-4 from Dead Bees on a Cake (Virgin, 1999)
Disc 2, Tracks 5-7 from Blemish (Samadhisound, 2003)
Disc 2, Tracks 8-10 from Snow Borne Sorrow (Samadhisound, 2005)
Disc 2, Tracks 11-12 and 14 from Manafon (Samadhisound, 2009)
Disc 2, Track 13 from Died in the Wool: Manafon Variations (Samadhisound, 2011)
Disc 2, Track 14 is a new track

Written by Mike Duquette

February 28, 2012 at 16:17

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: