The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Come Rain or Shine: Legendary Diana Ross Concert Debuts on DVD

with 5 comments

Time and taste have been kind to Diana Ross, recent recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award. From the moment The Supremes broke into the national consciousness, it was clear there was something special about that pretty lead singer with the unmistakable voice.

And believe it or not, nothing can stop her – not even the elements, as a classic 1983 live event, bowing on DVD this spring from Shout! Factory, is quick to prove.

On July 21, 1983, Miss Ross – at the time, two years into a recording contract with RCA, after decades with Motown – came to New York City to perform a show in Central Park to raise money for a new playground. The show, recorded under the title Diana Ross: For One and For All for the Showtime cable network, was going to be like any other, featuring plenty of classic cuts from her years with The Supremes and as a solo artist on Motown alongside current hits like “Muscles” and “Mirror, Mirror.” But high winds and rain soon posed a major problem for Ross and the concertgoers. Diana became a stunning embodiment of “the show must go on” that night, refusing to vacate the stage until absolutely necessary and making good on a spontaneous promise to perform the next day. That sunny set was punctuated by covers of hits by Stevie Wonder (“Ribbon in the Sky”) and “Muscles” writer Michael Jackson (“Beat It”) in addition to performances of “Upside Down,” “Endless Love” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.”

The first official DVD edition of this concert – which will be commemorated on public television stations starting this month with encore broadcasts of the original Showtime special – features the complete footage from both concerts as well as a new commentary by Steve Binder, who directed the special as well as countless other legendary music programs for film and television (The T.A.M.I. Show, Elvis Presley’s ’68 Comeback Special). Regardless of the weather outside, any fan of Ross will want to pick this disc up when it’s released on May 15. Hit the jump to check out both setlists and keep your eyes peeled for an order link when one’s available.

Diana Ross, Live in Central Park (Shout! Factory, 2012)

Night 2: July 22, 1983

  1. I’m Coming Out
  2. Home
  3. Family
  4. It’s My House
  5. Let’s Go Up
  6. Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)
  7. Supremes Medley: Reflections/Baby Love/Stop! In the Name of Love/Love is Like an Itching in My Heart
  8. God Bless the Child
  9. Mirror, Mirror
  10. Maniac
  11. You Can’t Hurry Love
  12. Upside Down
  13. So Close
  14. Why Do Fools Fall in Love
  15. Ribbon in the Sky
  16. Beat It
  17. Muscles
  18. Endless Love
  19. Theme from Mahogany (Do You Know Where You’re Going To)
  20. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
  21. All for One

Night 1: July 21, 1983 (ended midway due to weather)

  1. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
  2. Home
  3. Family
  4. It’s My House
  5. Let’s Go Up
  6. Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)
  7. Supremes Medley: Baby Love/Stop! In the Name of Love/Love is Like an Itching in My Heart
  8. Endless Love
  9. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

Written by Mike Duquette

March 1, 2012 at 14:39

Posted in Diana Ross, DVD, News

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve waited all my life for this to be released commercially. I’m in awe and It’s a blessing. I made a donating to the PBS station. I’m waiting for my advanced copy now. I’m in heaven.

    Timothy Kiah

    March 1, 2012 at 16:39

  2. We didn’t have Showtime when I was a kid, but I do remember seeing this concert on local TV in NYC around 1983-84. I’m thinking on WPIX-TV, Ch. 11.


    March 2, 2012 at 09:04

  3. i was there both nights and have waited a long time for this release. i set my tape machine on while i was there and only have it on BETA tape, but i have kept both my machines for that reason only!


    March 3, 2012 at 09:26

  4. Please advise when (and from where) I can
    obtain this 2 set DVD when it’s issued. Been waiting for it a long time!

    Wendon Barnard

    March 30, 2012 at 00:03

  5. No “Pieces Of Ice”???? 😦


    January 13, 2014 at 15:46

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: