The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

World Party Dig Deep on New Box Set

with 2 comments

Acclaimed British alt-rocker Karl Wallinger will release the first-ever box set for his long-running project, World Party, next month.

Arkeology collates 70 unreleased tracks, featuring B-sides, live cuts, demos, outtakes and other ephemera across five discs. The set will be uniquely packaged with a 142–page “Any Year Diary,” featuring liner notes, rare photos and memorabilia from Wallinger’s archives as well as a day calendar for fans to use however they please. “The reason it’s all inside an any-year diary is because I just got so sick of the CD packaging,” Wallinger said in a statement. “I’m glad the whole CD format is dying, but I really didn’t want to put something out that was only digital.”

In two years with Mike Scott’s band The Waterboys, Wallinger made a name for himself as a unique guitarist and arranger. After leaving The Waterboys, Wallinger’s World Party cut their first record, 1986’s Private Revolution in his home. While Wallinger is the only official member of the group, those early albums saw him collaborate with other members of The Waterboys (minus Scott) as well as a then-unknown Irish vocalist named Sinead O’Connor. World Party have enjoyed moderate but sustained chart success in the U.S., including the Top 40 hit “Ship of Fools” and the modern rock hits “Put the Message in the Box” and “Way Down Now.” Wallinger’s 1997 song “She’s the One” was later covered by British pop icon Robbie Williams, whose version hit No. 1 in the U.K. and won several major British music awards.

The box will be released April 10 (Super Deluxe Edition reports the box is likely to be delayed in the U.K.) and can be ordered now. The as-yet un-annotated track list follows below.

World Party, Arkeology (Seaview, 2012)

Disc 1

  1. Waiting Such a Long Time
  2. Nothing Lasts Forever
  3. Everybody’s Falling in Love
  4. Where Are You Going When You Go
  5. Photograph
  6. Everybody Dance Now
  7. Closer Still
  8. I Want to Be Free
  9. I’m Only Dozing
  10. No More Crying
  11. Interview/Sweet Soul Dream (Live Radio)

Disc 2

  1. Lucille
  2. The Good Old Human Race
  3. Put the Message in the Box (Live)
  4. Trouble Down Here
  5. Basically
  6. Silly Song
  7. Man We Was Lonely
  8. She’s the One (Live)
  9. Ship of Fools
  10. Mystery Girl
  11. This is Your World Speaking
  12. All the Love That’s Wasted
  13. Lost in Infinity
  14. New Light

Disc 3

  1. Words
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Call Me Up (Live Radio)
  4. Like a Rolling Stone
  5. Sooner or Later
  6. Love Street
  7. Time on My Hands
  8. Who Are You
  9. Sweetheart Like You
  10. Another World
  11. You’re Beautiful, But Get Out of My Life
  12. Living Like the Animals
  13. Stand (Live)
  14. Thank You World (Original Jam)

Disc 4

  1. Break Me Again
  2. Baby (Demo)
  3. Ship of Fools
  4. Put the Message in the Box
  5. When Did You Leave Heaven
  6. Nature Girl
  7. It’s a Pity You Don’t Let Go
  8. My Pretty One
  9. De Ho De Hay
  10. We Are the Ones
  11. World Groove/Mind Guerilla
  12. Happiness is a Warm Gun
  13. Kuwait City
  14. Do What I Want
  15. All We Need is Everything
  16. Outro

Disc 5

  1. Mystery Girl (Early Version)
  2. What is Love All About (Outtake)
  3. I Hope It All Works Out for You
  4. And God Said (Live)
  5. It Ain’t Gonna Work
  6. Another One
  7. I Am Me
  8. It’s Gonna Be Alright
  9. In Another World
  10. Thank You World
  11. Cry Baby Cry
  12. Temple of Love
  13. Fixing a Hole
  14. Way Down Now (Live)
  15. Change the World

Written by Mike Duquette

March 5, 2012 at 15:13

Posted in Box Sets, News, World Party

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can’t wait for this – while I liked Best in Show as a nice compilation, I was hoping for either a new record or an unearthing of the archives such as this as Wallinger recovered his health. The man is a rare talent, laying out an expert song and production craft that has a message but doesn’t preach to the listener. This will ease the pain of missing out on the Beach Boys reunion tour.


    March 5, 2012 at 20:34

  2. I couldn’t agree more. I love this guy, and wish he would tour near me and soon.


    April 5, 2012 at 08:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: