The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Here They Go Again: The Hollies Reveal BBC “Radio Fun”

leave a comment »

2011 was a good year to be a Hollies fan, and it seems that 2012 might follow in its footsteps!  Last year, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees saw a plethora of releases on both CD and vinyl from labels like EMI, Sundazed and BGO, reissuing individual albums and offering comprehensive new compilations.  This May, a heretofore-unreleased area of the band’s history will be rediscovered when EMI issues Radio Fun, a 32-track compilation of some of the classic group’s best BBC radio performances.

The official Hollies website has released cover artwork as well as the track listing for this exciting new compilation.  Featuring liner notes by longtime drummer Bobby Elliott, Radio Fun draws on programs like Top of the Pops and Saturday Club for a cross-section of familiar hits and less well-known songs.  Like so many of their British Invasion counterparts, the lads were frequent visitors to the BBC’s studios, beaming their trademark harmonies over the airwaves on a wide variety of material both expected and unexpected.  So, though there’s no “Carrie Anne,” “King Midas in Reverse” or “On a Carousel,” you will get “Here I Go Again,” “Jennifer Eccles,” “I Can’t Let Go,” “I’m Alive,” and “Look Through Any Window.”  Though the Graham Nash era of the band (collected virtually in full on EMI’s 2011 box set) is heavily represented, you’ll also hear post-Nash tracks like the smash hit “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” as well as Tony Hicks’ “Too Young to Be Married.”  Elliott and Hicks keep the Hollies’ music alive with an active tour schedule; the current incarnation of the band is currently celebrating with a Hollies 50th anniversary tour of South Africa and Europe.

The Hollies’ Radio Fun is due in stores in the U.K. on May 7, and will arrive shortly thereafter on American shores.  Hit the jump for the full track listing of Radio Fun!  A pre-order link is not yet available but we’ll update once a link is live!

The Hollies, Radio Fun (EMI, 2012)

  1. Here I Go Again
  2. Jennifer Eccles
  3. Bus Stop
  4. I’ve Got A Way Of My Own
  5. Wings
  6. Step Inside
  7. Wish You A Wish
  8. Shake
  9. Put Yourself In My Place
  10. Ride Your Pony
  11. I Take What I Want
  12. Little Bitty Pretty One
  13. Away Away Away
  14. Charlie and Fred
  15. I Can’t Let Go
  16. Hard Hard Year
  17. If I Needed Someone
  18. That’s How Strong My Love Is
  19. To You My Love
  20. So Lonely
  21. Something’s Got A Hold On Me
  22. Nobody
  23. Set Me Free
  24. She Said Yeah
  25. You Must Believe Me
  26. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  27. Too Many People
  28. Look Through Any Window
  29. Too Young To Be Married
  30. I’m Alive
  31. Games We Play
  32. He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother

Written by Joe Marchese

March 6, 2012 at 15:32

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: