The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

In Case You Missed It: Five Times the Fun for Fats

with one comment

Ace Records has released its final volume of singles recorded by Fats Domino for the Imperial label.

The aptly-titled The Imperial Singles Volume 5: 1962-1964 features 26 tracks – including two rarer LP-only bonus tracks – taken from the end of Domino’s impressive run with Imperial label. While this era was nowhere near the commercial success of the late ’50s and early ’60s – only “Jambalaya (on the Bayou” and “You Win Again” were Top 40 hits – Fats’ work here clearly proves why he’s an elder statesman of New Orleans R&B.

This disc – described as “the least-reissued period” of his career by Ace, is presented entirely in mono but for two tracks: “Teenage Love” and “La La,” which made their debut on the 1963 stereo album Just Domino. It’s available now, and a full breakdown is ready to go after the jump.

Fats Domino, The Imperial Singles Volume 5: 1962-1964 (Ace CDCHD 1323 (U.K.), 2012)

  1. Jambalaya (on the Bayou)
  2. I Hear You Knocking
  3. Ida Jane
  4. You Win Again
  5. My Real Name
  6. My Heart is Bleeding
  7. Dance with Mr. Domino
  8. Nothing New (Same Old Thing)
  9. Stop the Clock
  10. Did You Ever See a Dream Walking
  11. Won’t You Come On Back
  12. Hands Across the Table
  13. Those Eyes
  14. Hum Diddy Doo
  15. Trouble Blues
  16. You Always Hurt the One You Love
  17. Isle of Capri
  18. True Confession
  19. One Night
  20. I Can’t Go On This Way
  21. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  22. Goin’ Home
  23. Your Cheatin’ Heart
  24. When I Was Young
  25. Teenage Love
  26. La La

Tracks 1-2 released as Imperial single 5796, 1962
Tracks 3-4 released as Imperial single 5816, 1962
Tracks 5-6 released as Imperial single 5833, 1962
Tracks 7-8 released as Imperial single 5863, 1962
Tracks 9-10 released as Imperial single 5875, 1962
Tracks 11-12 released as Imperial single 5895, 1962
Tracks 13-14 released as Imperial single 5909, 1963
Tracks 15-16 released as Imperial single 5937, 1963
Tracks 17-18 released as Imperial single 5959, 1963
Tracks 19-20 released as Imperial single 5980, 1963
Tracks 21-22 released as Imperial single 66005, 1963
Tracks 23-24 released as Imperial single 66016, 1964
Tracks 25-26 released on Just Domino (Imperial LP 9208, 1963)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 7, 2012 at 17:24

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can a generous person tell us if this set (or any of the other previous volumes) have any recordings that are NOT on the big Bear Family boxset?

    If there are any tracks not on Bear Family, can you comment on them? Many of them? Are they very similar alternate takes only? Are the Ace label reissues better sound than Bear Family, or very similar?



    March 8, 2012 at 09:27

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: