The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Before You Know It You’ll Be on Your Knees: Edsel Releases Philip Bailey Two-Fer

with 3 comments

It’s always a treat at The Second Disc when a title or project we imagined in a Reissue Theory post comes to fruition in some way. Today, we have one from U.K. label Edsel that almost – almost – captures the essence of a set we envisioned: a two-for-one reissue of two albums by R&B singer Philip Bailey.

Known as the sweet-toned vocalist for Earth, Wind & Fire – who could forget those high notes in “September“? – Bailey didn’t strike out on his own until 1983’s Continuation (reissued a few years ago by Funky Town Grooves). But it was the following year’s Chinese Wall that really made a splash, thanks to the killer jam and U.K. No. 1 hit “Easy Lover,” featuring vocals, drumming and production from Bailey’s friend Phil Collins. (Collins would enlist EWF’s Phoenix Horns for nearly all of his solo work in the ’80s, as well as several songs for Genesis in the early ’80s.)

While our Reissue Theory look at Chinese Wall had bonus tracks, Edsel’s has none. What they do have, however, is Bailey’s third pop album for Columbia Records, 1986’s Inside Out. (Bailey would record two gospel albums for Word Records, as well as one album for Earth, Wind & Fire in the interim.) While Inside Out failed to reach the commercial highs of Chinese Wall, it enjoyed a great roster of guest collaborators, including production work from Phil Collins and CHIC’s Nile Rodgers as well as jazz producer George Duke, guitar work from Jeff Beck and Ray Parker, Jr. and typically tight rhythm work from session legends Paulinho da Costa, Nathan East and others. Best of all, Inside Out comes with one bonus track: a five-minute dub mix of the single “State of the Heart.”

The set includes all original lyrics and album credits, as well as new liner notes by R&B historian Tony Rounce. As with several other recent soulful Edsel two-fers, this set will be available in the U.K. March 26 and in the U.S. one week later. Hit the jump to check it all out!

Philip Bailey, Chinese Wall / Inside Out (Edsel EDSD 2119 (U.K.), 2012)

Disc 1: Chinese Wall (originally released as Columbia FC 39542, 1984)

  1. Photogenic Memory
  2. I Go Crazy
  3. Walking on the Chinese Wall
  4. For Every Heart That’s Been Broken
  5. Go
  6. Easy Lover (Duet with Phil Collins)
  7. Show You the Way to Love
  8. Time is a Woman
  9. Woman
  10. Children of the Ghetto

Disc 2: Inside Out (originally released as Columbia FC 40209, 1986) and bonus track

  1. Welcome to the Club
  2. State of the Heart
  3. Long Distance Love
  4. Echo My Heart
  5. Don’t Leave Me Baby
  6. Special Effect
  7. Because of You
  8. Back It Up
  9. Take It with You
  10. This Day Will Come
  11. State of the Heart (Dub Mix) (12″ B-side – Columbia 44-05372, 1986)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 19, 2012 at 17:52

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meh. Your “Reissue Theory” version looked much more worthy of my credit card…


    March 19, 2012 at 17:55

  2. Exactly – why even bother with this version?!?

    Bill Janowski

    March 19, 2012 at 22:06

  3. How are they going to include a bonus dub mix on disc 2, but no 12″ Version for “Easy Lover” on disc 1? Seriously?

    Eric Martin

    August 5, 2012 at 11:41

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: