The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Sweet As Sugar: Bob Mould’s Other Trio Gets Expanded Treatment

with 7 comments

While Bob Mould has gained rock immortality as one third of the criminally underrated alt-rock outfit Hüsker Dü, his work as frontman for alt-rockers Sugar in the 1990s deserves its own recognition. In May and June, the hard workers at Demon/Edsel will give Sugar its due in the form of expanded, remastered editions of their entire catalogue.

After the split of Hüsker Dü in 1988, Mould locked himself away in a Minnesota farmhouse, attempting to write new material and purge himself of the substance addictions he had developed over the years. He succeeded on both fronts, releasing two solo albums, the abnormally subdued Workbook (1989) and the familiar, loud Black Sheets of Rain (1990).

In 1992 he formed Sugar with former Mercyland bassist David Barbe and ex-Human Sexual Response drummer Malcolm Travis. Their familiar, Mould-esque style of post-punk and power-pop bought them commercial and critical acclaim in the U.K., with all three of their major releases cracking the Top 10 and debut album Copper Blue crowned NME‘s Album of the Year.

The band’s tenure was short-lived: Barbe sought to spend more time with his family and working on his own material, so the band parted in 1996. Mould continues to record and perform today, and will embark on a European tour commemorating Copper Blue this summer.

To commemorate this, Edsel will reissue Copper Blue, the 1993 EP Beaster and 1995’s File Under: Easy Listening as expansive CD/DVD sets. Both studio albums are augmented with extra material including B-sides, remixes and BBC sessions as well as bonus live concerts on a second CD. (The Copper Blue-era concert, recorded at Chicago’s Cabaret Metro, was partially utilized for CD single B-side material, while the 1995 First Avenue show in Minneapolis was released as The Joke is Always on Us, Sometimes, a bonus disc included with limited pressings of the band’s Besides rarities compilation. All sets will include bonus DVDs featuring music videos, live footage and television appearances on both sides of the Atlantic, including several bits from MTV’s popular alternative show 120 Minutes.

Edsel will also release the band’s most popular single, “If I Can’t Change Your Mind,” with the B-side “Clownmaster” on a special limited 7″ single for Record Store Day in England. Only 750 copies will be made.

The reissues will be released one week at a time starting May 28. Hit the jump for Amazon U.K. links and full track lists.

Sugar, Copper Blue: Deluxe Edition (Edsel (U.K.), 2012)

Disc 1: Expanded LP

  1. The Act We Act
  2. A Good Idea
  3. Changes
  4. Helpless
  5. Hoover Dam
  6. The Slim
  7. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  8. Fortune Teller
  9. Slick
  10. Man on the Moon
  11. Needle Hits E
  12. If I Can’t Change Your Mind (Solo Mix)
  13. Try Again
  14. Clownmaster
  15. If I Can’t Change Your Mind (BBC Session)
  16. Hoover Dam (BBC Session)
  17. The Slim (BBC Session)
  18. Where Diamonds Are Halos (BBC Session)

Disc 2: Live at the Cabaret Metro, Chicago – 7/22/1992

  1. The Act We Act
  2. A Good Idea
  3. Changes
  4. Running Out of Time
  5. Helpless
  6. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  7. Where Diamonds Are Halos
  8. Hoover Dam
  9. Beer Commercial
  10. Slick
  11. Anyone
  12. Clownmaster
  13. Tilted
  14. Armenia City in the Sky
  15. JC Auto
  16. The Slim
  17. Dum Dum Boys
  18. Man on the Moon

Disc 3: DVD

  1. Helpless (promo video)
  2. Changes (promo video)
  3. If I Can’t Change Your Mind (promo video)
  4. Helpless (Live on The Late Show U.K.)
  5. Interview (MTV U.K.)
  6. Interview (MTV 120 Minutes)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 released as Rykodisc RCD 10239, 1992
Disc 1, Tracks 11-13 released on “Helpless” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1024, 1992
Disc 1, Track 14 and Disc 2, Tracks 8 and 11 released on “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1031, 1993
Disc 1, Tracks 15 and 17-18 released on “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1032, 1993
Disc 2, Tracks 5, 7, 10 and 14 released on “A Good Idea” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1030, 1992
All other tracks previously unreleased

Sugar, Beaster: Deluxe Edition (Edsel (U.K.), 2012)

Disc 1: Original EP (released as Rykodisc RCD 50260, 1993)

  1. Come Around
  2. Tilted
  3. Judas Cradle
  4. JC Auto
  5. Feeling Better
  6. Walking Away

Disc 2: DVD

  1. Tilted (promo video)
  2. The Act We Act (Live at Finsbury Park, London – 6/13/1993)
  3. A Good Idea (Live at Finsbury Park, London – 6/13/1993)
  4. Changes (Live at Finsbury Park, London – 6/13/1993)
  5. Beer Commercial (Live at Finsbury Park, London – 6/13/1993)

Sugar, File Under: Easy Listening – Deluxe Edition (Edsel, 2012)

Disc 1: Expanded LP

  1. Gift
  2. Company Book
  3. Your Favorite Thing
  4. What You Want It to Be
  5. Gee Angel
  6. Panama City Motel
  7. Can’t Help You Anymore
  8. Granny Cool
  9. Believe What You’re Saying
  10. Explode and Make Up
  11. Mind is an Island
  12. Frustration
  13. Going Home
  14. In the Eyes of My Friends
  15. And You Tell Me
  16. Believe What You’re Saying (Campfire Mix)

Disc 2: The Joke is Always on Us, Sometimes: Live at First Avenue, Minneapolis – 11/2/1994 (originally released as bonus disc with limited edition of Besides – Rykodisc RCD 10321-1, 1995)

  1. Gift
  2. Company Book
  3. Hoover Dam
  4. After All the Roads Have Led to Nowhere
  5. Where Diamonds Are Halos
  6. Slick
  7. Going Home
  8. Running Out of Time
  9. Frustration
  10. Changes
  11. Can’t Help You Any More
  12. Helpless
  13. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  14. In the Eyes of My Friends
  15. Clownmaster
  16. Gee Angel
  17. Explode and Make Up
  18. The Slim

Disc 3: DVD

  1. Your Favourite Thing (promo video)
  2. Believe What You’re Saying (promo video)
  3. Gee Angel (promo video)
  4. Sugar Feature (MTV)
  5. Believe What You’re Saying – Bob Mould & Lou Barlow (Live on MTV’s 120 Minutes)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 released as Rykodisc LP RCD 10300, 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 11-12 released on “Your Favorite Thing” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1038, 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 13-15 released on “Believe What You’re Saying” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1039, 1994
Disc 1, Track 16 released on Besides (Rykodisc RCD 10321, 1995)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 27, 2012 at 11:14

Posted in Bob Mould, News, Reissues, Sugar

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome, glad to see The Joke is On Us… disc reissued. Anyone know if any stray B-side or rarity is missing from these reissues?


    March 27, 2012 at 20:23

    • Don’t know if that counts, but in the same session with Lou Barlow on 120 Minutes, they played Magnet’s Coil together.


      March 27, 2012 at 21:56

    • “Running Out Of Time” (the non-live version) from the “Born To Choose” various artists compilation isn’t listed here…


      June 16, 2012 at 05:28

      • Sorry, I just checked, and that should read, “the OTHER live version.”


        June 16, 2012 at 05:31

  2. Cannot wait for these.

    Robert Lett

    April 25, 2012 at 00:32

  3. Born to Choose version of Running out of Time is from the Metro, Chicago show on the Copper Blue Deluxe Reissue

    Huw W

    August 30, 2012 at 07:31

  4. Nothing like a good Bob Mould disc… any idea if they’ll make a Black Sheets of Rain special edition?


    September 1, 2012 at 11:29

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: