The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

It’s a Beauty: Iconoclassic Continues Reissue Series for The Guess Who, The Tubes (UPDATED WITH LINKS AND TRACK LISTS)

with 3 comments

In a surprise announcement, Iconoclassic Records is continuing their successful reissue campaigns for The Guess Who and The Tubes this summer.

Two Guess Who’s #10 (1973) and Road Food (1974) – the sixth and seventh in the label’s long line of Guess Who remasters – and The Tubes’ Outside Inside (1983) will be remastered and expanded, according to Iconoclassic’s Facebook page.

When Outside Inside‘s lead single “She’s a Beauty” cracked the Top 10 in 1983, The Tubes became one of the unlikeliest pop darlings in recent memory. Though they’d achieved some commercial success with the previous year’s The Completion Backward Principle (also expanded by Iconoclassic) and single “Talk to Ya Later” (which, like all the material on both albums, was produced by pop whiz David Foster), it was a surprise to see a hit by a band known in the ’70s for their flashy live shows satirizing the excesses of the industry.

But that smooth production by Foster was hard to ignore at the time, and with killer guest appearances by some of the best pop/rockers at the time, including horn arrangements by Jerry Hey, guest vocals by Martha Davis of The Motels and Bill Champlin of Chicago and pretty much the entire lineup of Toto (including Steve Lukather and Bobby Kimball, whose work is particularly prominent on “She’s a Beauty”), it’s not hard to understand why pop geeks are still down with The Tubes.

While Iconoclassic hasn’t locked down the full list of bonus tracks, it is known that there will be “single B-sides, single versions and the ultra rare Tubes version of ‘Satellite.'” (That track, an outtake from the Outside Inside sessions, was released on the Sedated in the ’80s No. 5 compilation released by The Right Stuff Records in 1985.)

What awaits Guess Who fans? Hit the jump to find out!

#10 was in fact the Canadian band’s 12th album, but was indeed the 10th featuring lead vocalist Burton Cummings. It’s his songwriting and voice that anchor the album, and his ballad “Glamour Boy” was the biggest hit in the group’s native Canada, peaking at No. 14. (An alternate mix of the track, stripping down much of the orchestral overdubs, will be included as a bonus.)

While the band underwent some tumultuous activity during and after the making of 1974’s Road Food – guitarists Kurt Winter and Donnie McDougall would leave the band, replaced by Domenic Troiano not long after the album was released – it provided the band with not one but two hits in both Canada and the U.S.: “Star Baby,” a No. 9 hit north of the border, and “Clap for the Wolfman,” a tribute to iconic DJ Wolfman Jack (who appeared on the recording) that became the band’s last U.S. Top 10 hit (and first since “American Woman”). Both Guess Who discs will come with new liner notes by author Ralph Chapman featuring new interviews with the band’s surviving members.

Check out the full specs for each title below. (Links for The Guess Who have yet to show up, while the Outside Inside listing indicates a May 15 release.)

The Tubes, Outside Inside: Expanded Edition (originally released as Capitol ST-12260, 1983 – reissued Iconoclassic, 2012)

  1. She’s a Beauty
  2. No Not Again
  3. Out of the Business
  4. The Monkey Time
  5. Glass House
  6. Wild Women of Wongo
  7. Tip of My Tongue
  8. Fantastic Delusion
  9. Drums
  10. Theme Park
  11. Outside Lookin’ Inside
  12. When You’re Ready to Come (B-side to “She’s a Beauty” – Captiol B-5217, 1983)
  13. Keyboard Kids (B-side to “Tip of My Tongue” – Capitol B-5258, 1983)
  14. Satellite (from Sedated in the Eighties No. 4 compilation – The Right Stuff 72438 34661 2 2, 1995)
  15. The Monkey Time (Single Version) (promo single A-side – Capitol PB-5254, 1983)

The Guess Who, #10: Expanded Edition (originally released as RCA Victor APL1-0130, 1973 – reissued Iconoclassic, 2012)

  1. Take It Off My Shoulders
  2. Musicione
  3. Miss Frizzy
  4. Glamour Boy
  5. Self Pity
  6. Lie Down
  7. Cardboard Empire
  8. Just Let Me Sing
  9. Glamour Boy (Previously Unreleased Alternate Mix)

The Guess Who, Road Food: Expanded Edition (originally released as RCA Victor APL1-0405, 1974 – reissued Iconoclassic, 2012)

  1. Star Baby
  2. Attila’s Blues
  3. Straighten Out
  4. Don’t You Want Me
  5. One Way Road to Hell
  6. Clap for The Wolfman
  7. Pleasin’ for Reason
  8. Road Food
  9. Ballad of the Last Five Years
  10. Sona Sona (Alternate Mix) (alternate version with overdubs released on Track Record: The Guess Who Collection – RCA BG2-61077, 1988)
  11. One Way Road to Hell (Run-Through – Previously Unreleased)

Written by Mike Duquette

April 17, 2012 at 11:59

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wonder if they’ll include both versions of “The Monkey Time” (the original with Martha Davis and the one with the other singer that Capitol included on the CD reissue) on this Outside Inside reissue. I’m partial to the Martha Davis version, which might be one of my all-time favorite cover songs.

    • Both versions are on the CD.

      Frank Ursoleo

      March 22, 2012 at 16:03

      • Thanks for confirming that. I never got Outside/Inside on CD specifically because it didn’t have the original version of “The Monkey Time.” I’ve been content with the LP for all these years, but I may have to get this new reissue.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: