The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Sister Act: Heart Gets Box Set Treatment This Summer

with one comment

The wait is over for the first-ever career-spanning box set from Heart. Legacy Recordings will release Strange Euphoria, a 3 CD/1 DVD package, in stores on June 5.

The set spans from the early phases of Ann and Nancy Wilson’s musical career as members of “The Daybreaks” in 1967 all the way to their latest album, the Top 10 hit Red Velvet Car (2010). Along the way, there are plenty of hits and unreleased material, including demos of killer cuts like “Magic Man” and “Crazy on You,” a live version of Barracuda, radio staples from the band’s mid-’80s comeback including “Alone,” “These Dreams” and “Never” (the latter presented as a live version with a guest appearance by Led Zeppelin’s John Paul Jones) and studio and live tracks by ’90s side project The Lovemongers. The set also features a 1976 live concert captured on DVD for the first time.

Those who purchase the set through Amazon are in for additional treats in the form of a bonus five-song EP of Led Zeppelin covers. “Heart Zeppish” features run-throughs of “Immigrant Song,” “The Battle of Evermore,” “Misty Mountain Hop” and more.

Hit the jump to order your copy and preview the track list of Strange Euphoria.

Heart, Strange Euphoria (Epic/Legacy 88691 93736-2, 2012)

Disc 1

  1. Through Eyes and Glass – Ann Wilson & The Daybreaks
  2. Magic Man (Demo)
  3. How Deep It Goes (Demo)
  4. Crazy on You (Demo)
  5. Dreamboat Annie (Fantasy Child)/Dreamboat Annie (Reprise)
  6. Love Alive
  7. Sylvan Song
  8. Dream of the Archer
  9. White Lightning and Wine (Live at the Aquarius)
  10. Barracuda (Live BBC Radio Concert)
  11. Little Queen
  12. Kick It Out
  13. Here Song (Demo)
  14. Heartless (Demo)
  15. Dog & Butterfly (Acoustic Demo)
  16. Straight On
  17. Nada One

Disc 2

  1. Bebe le Strange
  2. Silver Wheels
  3. Even It Up
  4. Sweet Darlin’
  5. City’s Burning
  6. Angels
  7. Love Mistake
  8. Lucky Day (Demo)
  9. Never (Live, with John Paul Jones)
  10. These Dreams
  11. Nobody Home
  12. Alone
  13. Wait for an Answer
  14. Unconditional Love (Demo)
  15. High Romance (Demo)
  16. Under the Sky (Demo)
  17. Desire Walks On (“Beach Demo” Version)

Disc 3

  1. Kiss – The Lovemongers
  2. Sand (Live) – The Lovemongers
  3. Everything (Live) – Nancy Wilson
  4. She Still Believes (Live)
  5. Any Woman’s Blues (Demo – with The Seattle Blues Revue Horns)
  6. Strange Euphoria
  7. Boppy’s Back (Demo)
  8. Friend Meets Friend (Live) – The Lovemongers
  9. Love or Madness (Live)
  10. Skin to Skin
  11. Fallen Ones
  12. Enough
  13. Lost Angel (Live)
  14. Little Problems, Little Lies – Ann Wilson
  15. Queen City
  16. Hey You
  17. Avalon (Reprise)

Disc 4: DVD – KWSU “The Second Ending – featuring Heart” program ca. February-March 1976

  1. Pre Show
  2. Heartless
  3. White Lightning & Wine
  4. Dreamboat Annie
  5. Silver Wheels
  6. Crazy on You
  7. Sing Child
  8. Soul of the Sea
  9. Devil Delight
  10. Magic Man

Bonus Disc ( Exclusive): Heart Zeppish

  1. Going to California
  2. The Battle of Evermore
  3. What is and What Should Never Be
  4. Immigrant Song
  5. Misty Mountain Hop

Disc 1, Track 1 was Topaz single A-side T-1312, 1967
Disc 1, Tracks 2-4 are previously unreleased. Original versions from Dreamboat Annie (Mushroom, 1976)
Disc 1, Track 5 from Dreamboat Annie
Disc 1, Tracks 6-8 and 11-12 from Little Queen (Mushroom, 1977)
Disc 1, Tracks 9-10 are previously unreleased live tracks.
Disc 1, Tracks 13-14 are previously unreleased. Original versions from Magazine (Mushroom, 1977/1978)
Disc 1, Track 15 is previously unreleased. Original version from Dog & Butterfly (Portrait, 1978)
Disc 1, Tracks 16-17 from Dog & Butterfly
Disc 2, Tracks 1-4 from Bebe le Strange (Portrait/Epic, 1980)
Disc 2, Tracks 5-6 from Private Audition (Epic, 1982)
Disc 2, Track 7 from Passionworks (Epic, 1983)
Disc 2, Tracks 8-9 are previously unreleased
Disc 2, Tracks 10-11 from Heart (Epic, 1985)
Disc 2, Tracks 12-13 from Bad Animals (Epic, 1987)
Disc 2, Tracks 14-15 is previously unreleased
Disc 2, Track 16 is previously unreleased. Original version from Brigade (Capitol, 1990)
Disc 2, Track 17 is previously unreleased. Original version from Desire Walks On (Capitol, 1993)
Disc 3, Track 1 from Whirlygig (Will, 1997)
Disc 3, Tracks 2-5 and 7-10 are previously unreleased
Disc 3, Track 6 from Greatest Hits Live (Epic, 1980)
Disc 3, Tracks 11-12 from Jupiters Darling (Sovereign, 2004)
Disc 3, Track 14 from Hope & Glory (Rounder, 2007)
Disc 3, Tracks 15-16 from Red Velvet Car (Legacy, 2010)
Disc 3, Track 17 from Desire Walks On

Written by Mike Duquette

April 30, 2012 at 11:40

Posted in Box Sets, DVD, Heart, News

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not really career spanning as it virtually ignores the Brigade album and one of their biggest hit singles “All I wanna Do Is Make Love To You’, not that it isn’t included on other hits packages, but career spanning this collection is not.


    November 27, 2012 at 00:08

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: