The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

More Ventures in Summer from Sundazed

leave a comment »

Following a successful reissue of five Ventures titles on LP and CD earlier this year, Sundazed has four more in the pipeline for June.

The guitar-rock pioneers recorded with a frequent intensity that earned them the moniker of “The Band That Launched a Thousand Bands.” These four albums, the live The Ventures on Stage, Wild Things!, Super Psychedelics and Hawaii Five-O, released between 1965 and 1969, feature a fantastic cluster of six-stringed covers of some of the best pop and rock songs of the time, including “Wild Thing,” “Strawberry Fields Forever,” “Happy Together,” “Theme from ‘A Summer Place,'” “The Letter,” “Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In” and, most famously, the theme to the hit television show Hawaii Five-O. The Ventures’ version of Morton Stevens’ classic tune was a Top 5 hit for the group, and stands with “Walk, Don’t Run” (which is captured in a spirited rendition on The Ventures on Stage) as the band’s signature tunes.

Sundazed is now taking orders for the reissues of these albums, presented from the original stereo masters and with the artwork from the original Dolton and Liberty sleeves restored, on both CD and colored vinyl (red for Stage, yellow for Wild Things!, blue for Super Psychedelics and green for Hawaii Five-O). They will ship to arrive on their in-store date of June 19.

Hit the jump to order your copies now!

The Ventures on Stage (Dolton BST-8035, 1965 – reissued Sundazed SC 6293/LP 5391, 2012)

  1. Wipe-Out
  2. Journey to the Stars
  3. Slaughter on Tenth Avenue
  4. Caravan
  5. Pedal Pusher
  6. Apache ’65
  7. Bumble Bee
  8. Driving Guitars
  9. Medley: Walk, Don’t Run/Perfidia/Lullaby of the Leaves
  10. Yellow Jacket

Wild Things! (Dolton BST-8047, 1966 – reissued Sundazed SC 6295/LP 5393, 2012)

  1. Wild Thing
  2. Fuzzy and Wild
  3. Sweet Pea
  4. Wild and Woody
  5. Wild Child
  6. Summer in the City
  7. The Pied Piper
  8. Wild Trip
  9. Hanky Panky
  10. Wildcat
  11. How Now Wild Cow
  12. The Work Song

Super Psychedelics (Liberty LST-8052, 1967 – reissued Sundazed SC 6296/LP 5394, 2012)

  1. Strawberry Fields Forever
  2. Psychedelic Venture
  3. Western Union
  4. Guitar Psychedelics
  5. Kandy Koncoction
  6. Reflections
  7. A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You
  8. Endless Dream
  9. Vibrations
  10. Psyched-Out
  11. 1999 A.D.
  12. Happy Together

Hawaii Five-O (Liberty LST-8061, 1969 – reissued Sundazed SC 6297/LP 5395, 2012)

  1. Hawaii Five-O
  2. Lovin’ Things
  3. Galveston
  4. The Letter
  5. Don’t Give in to Him
  6. Theme from “A Summer Place”
  7. Medley: Spooky/Traces/Stormy
  8. Medley: Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In
  9. Games People Play
  10. I Can Hear Music
  11. Dizzy

Written by Mike Duquette

May 11, 2012 at 11:32

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: