The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Mould vs. Mould: Sugar Catalogue to Be Expanded in U.S., Too

with 2 comments

First it was The English Beat – now, Bob Mould’s power-pop outfit Sugar, whose discography is getting the expanded treatment starting next week, is seeing a dueling reissue campaign in both England and the United States.

While Copper BlueBeaster and File Under: Easy Listening are getting expanded CD/DVD issues from Edsel, Merge Records – for whom Mould will release a new album in the fall – will handle expansions of the albums a bit differently. All the DVD content on the U.S. reissues has been dropped, along with the BBC session tracks that featured on Copper Blue. All the other audio content will be retained, however, and over two packages; Copper Blue and the Beaster EP will be released in one three-disc package, and FU:EL in another on two discs.

For audiophiles, vinyl reissues of the original albums, featuring the extra audio content as additional downloads, will also be available. All these titles are due out July 24. Hit the jump to order your copies and check out the modified track lists.

Copper Blue/Beaster: Deluxe Edition (Merge, 2012)

Disc 1: Expanded LP

  1. The Act We Act
  2. A Good Idea
  3. Changes
  4. Helpless
  5. Hoover Dam
  6. The Slim
  7. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  8. Fortune Teller
  9. Slick
  10. Man on the Moon
  11. Needle Hits E
  12. If I Can’t Change Your Mind (Solo Mix)
  13. Try Again
  14. Clownmaster

Disc 2: Beaster (released as Rykodisc RCD 50260, 1993)

  1. Come Around
  2. Tilted
  3. Judas Cradle
  4. JC Auto
  5. Feeling Better
  6. Walking Away

Disc 3: Live at the Cabaret Metro, Chicago – 7/22/1992

  1. The Act We Act
  2. A Good Idea
  3. Changes
  4. Running Out of Time
  5. Helpless
  6. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  7. Where Diamonds Are Halos
  8. Hoover Dam
  9. Beer Commercial
  10. Slick
  11. Anyone
  12. Clownmaster
  13. Tilted
  14. Armenia City in the Sky
  15. JC Auto
  16. The Slim
  17. Dum Dum Boys
  18. Man on the Moon

Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 released as Rykodisc RCD 10239, 1992
Disc 1, Tracks 11-13 released on “Helpless” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1024, 1992
Disc 1, Track 14 and Disc 3, Tracks 8 and 11 released on “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1031, 1993
Disc 3, Tracks Tracks 5, 7, 10 and 14 released on “A Good Idea” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1030, 1992
All other tracks previously unreleased

File Under: Easy Listening – Deluxe Edition (Merge, 2012)

Disc 1: Expanded LP

  1. Gift
  2. Company Book
  3. Your Favorite Thing
  4. What You Want It to Be
  5. Gee Angel
  6. Panama City Motel
  7. Can’t Help You Anymore
  8. Granny Cool
  9. Believe What You’re Saying
  10. Explode and Make Up
  11. Mind is an Island
  12. Frustration
  13. Going Home
  14. In the Eyes of My Friends
  15. And You Tell Me
  16. Believe What You’re Saying (Campfire Mix)

Disc 2: The Joke is Always on Us, Sometimes: Live at First Avenue, Minneapolis – 11/2/1994 (originally released as bonus disc with limited edition of Besides – Rykodisc RCD 10321-1, 1995)

  1. Gift
  2. Company Book
  3. Hoover Dam
  4. After All the Roads Have Led to Nowhere
  5. Where Diamonds Are Halos
  6. Slick
  7. Going Home
  8. Running Out of Time
  9. Frustration
  10. Changes
  11. Can’t Help You Any More
  12. Helpless
  13. If I Can’t Change Your Mind
  14. In the Eyes of My Friends
  15. Clownmaster
  16. Gee Angel
  17. Explode and Make Up
  18. The Slim

Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 released as Rykodisc LP RCD 10300, 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 11-12 released on “Your Favorite Thing” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1038, 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 13-15 released on “Believe What You’re Saying” CD single – Rykodisc RCD5 1039, 1994
Disc 1, Track 16 released on Besides (Rykodisc RCD 10321, 1995)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 22, 2012 at 11:10

Posted in News, Reissues, Sugar

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m fine with dropping the DVDs, but what’s the point of leaving out the BBC tracks?


    May 22, 2012 at 14:47

    • Probably licensing issues?


      May 22, 2012 at 19:57

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: