The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

This Surely is a Dream: Marcy Playground Prep Rarities for New Compilation

with 9 comments

While many music fans’ knowledge of alt-rock band Marcy Playground begins and ends with their 1998 Top 10 hit “Sex and Candy,” those who do follow the band will be excited to know the group’s putting out a collection of rarities and outtakes this month.

Lunch, Recess & Detention – named for singer/songwriter John Wozniak’s “three things I was never late for” – is a 19-track compilation combining outtakes (including alternate takes of songs that appeared on the band’s Shapeshifter (1999) and MP3 (2004) albums), four previously released B-sides and seven new recordings, including a new version of “Sex and Candy” and covers of Neil Young (“The Needle and the Damage Done”), Leonard Cohen (“Hallelujah”) and Procol Harum (“A Whiter Shade of Pale”).

Lunch, Recess & Detention will be out digitally next Tuesday and on CD July 17. Both will feature track-by-track annotations from the band. The band will tour this summer with several of their contemporaries, including Everclear, Sugar Ray, Lit and Gin Blossoms. Hit the jump to check out the track list and place your orders.

Marcy Playground, Lunch, Recess & Detention (Capitol/EMI 50999 705787 2 0, 2012) (CD, digital)

  1. Shapeshifter
  2. Black Eyed Sue
  3. A Whiter Shade of Pale *
  4. Brand New Day (feat. Jesse Dryfhout) (Alternate)
  5. Bang Bang Bang *
  6. Comin’ Up from Behind (Alternate)
  7. Hallelujah *
  8. Mr. Fisher *
  9. Sex and Candy (New Re-Recording) *
  10. Bye Bye (Alternate)
  11.  Crazy Katy Nicotine and Her Red Jet Air Balloon
  12. Up and Down
  13. The Plant Song
  14. Special
  15. Rosey Risin’
  16. Ballad of Aslan
  17. The Needle and the Damage Done *
  18. The Angel of the Forever Sleep
  19. Sex and Candy (Disco Superfly Remix) *

All tracks previously unreleased except:

  • Track 11 from Japanese pressings of Shapeshifter (Capitol, 1999)
  • Track 14 from Canadian pressings of Leaving Wonderland…in a fit of rage (EMI Canada, 2009)
  • Track 15 was a bonus track on certain versions of Leaving Wonderland
  • Track 18 was a B-side of “Sex and Candy” CD single (Capitol 72438 58695 2 5, 1998)

* denotes new recordings

Written by Mike Duquette

June 19, 2012 at 18:03

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Lord. This has got to be the biggest waste of plastic ever.


    June 19, 2012 at 18:06

    • Maybe this is a sign we’ll get Prince remasters; if this one can happen…

      Mike Duquette

      June 19, 2012 at 18:15

    • umm, what? are you kidding me? well, obviously you’re not. and that’s too bad.


      June 28, 2012 at 00:57

  2. FUCK. YES!


    June 19, 2012 at 22:52

  3. I’ve never listened to them, but love the title!


    June 20, 2012 at 05:29

  4. They’re actually a pretty good band. Their catalog has a lot more to offer than “Sex and Candy.” I’m pleasantly surprised to see it’s not a digital-only release, but Woz seems loyal to physical consumers, given the CD release of some fan-made remixes of the Leaving Wonderland… album.


    June 20, 2012 at 15:02

    • Even though most of these tracks have been circulating on the net for a while I’ll be buying this. Great band that need your support. As the poster above states there is a lot more to them than Sex and Candy. About time they played the UK though.


      June 27, 2012 at 05:00

  5. “Comin’ Up From Behind” is also a cover of a song written by Sherry Fraser of Two Ton Boa


    June 27, 2012 at 15:48

  6. Cant wait for this to be released!! Marcy Playground is an AMAZING band and deserve much more recognition than they receive. @ Blerd I believe you will be mistaken!!


    June 28, 2012 at 00:50

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: