The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Swing Out Sister’s “Travel” Expansion Breaks Out with New Track List

with 3 comments

Well, this certainly doesn’t happen often: a previously-reported expanded edition of U.K. pop group Swing Out Sister’s debut LP is undergoing some 11th-hour changes, actually picking up a few bonus tracks for good measure.

When it was initially announced, the 25th anniversary edition of It’s Better to Travel from Universal’s U.K. arm featured the original nine-track LP and 11 bonus tracks over two discs. While there were plenty of B-sides and remixes to go around, many of them were previously available on compilations or other import editions of the album. (In particular, our brethren at Super Deluxe Edition were critical of the package, actually prompting a response on Twitter from S.O.S. keyboardist Andy Connell.)

Now, though, the package has been changed ever so slightly, and fans should have more than ever to look forward to on this set. What’s been added? Hit the jump and take a look.

The first disc of the new expansion of It’s Better to Travel has first and foremost been reorganized to closer replicate the original running order on initial CD pressings. (Those discs included remixes of singles “Breakout,” “Surrender,” “Blue Mood” and album cut “Twilight World,” as well as an instrumental of “Communion” present on the second disc.)

The dozen tracks on Disc 2 still include all the extra content from the initially-announced track list, including five non-LP B-sides, but now adds four extra remixes. The “New Rockin’ Version” and “Horny Version” of “Breakout” from a limited edition 12″ single are now included, along with the “Roadrunner Mix” of “Surrender” from another limited 12″ and the “Growler Mix” of “Blue Mood” from the original 12″ single.

The new package is available two weeks later than the original version was intended to be, with a new release date of July 16. You can order it below.

It’s Better to Travel: 25th Anniversary Expanded Edition (Mercury 5338878 (U.K.), 2012)

Disc 1: Original LP and bonus tracks

  1. Breakout
  2. Twilight World (Superb Superb Mix)
  3. After Hours
  4. Blue Mood
  5. Surrender
  6. Fooled by a Smile
  7. Communion
  8. It’s Not Enough
  9. Theme (from “It’s Better to Travel”)
  10. Breakout (N.A.D. Mix)
  11. Surrender (Stuff Gun Mix)
  12. Twilight World (Gas Distress Mix)
  13. Blue Mood (12″ Version)

Disc 2: More bonus material

  1. Breakout (A New Rockin’ Version) *
  2. Surrender (Roadrunner Mix) *
  3. Fooled by a Smile (12″ Mix)
  4. Blue Mood (Dubbed Up Mix) *
  5. Communion (Instrumental)
  6. Dirty Money
  7. Fever
  8. Who’s to Blame?
  9. Wake Me When It’s Over
  10. Another Lost Weekend (Long Version)
  11. Blue Mood (Growler Mix) *
  12. Breakout (Horny Version) *

* indicates newly-included track

Disc 1, Tracks 1-9 released as Mercury LP OUTLP1, 1987
Disc 1, Track 10 and Disc 2, Track 6 from Mercury 12″ single SWING 212, 1986
Disc 1, Track 11 and Disc 2, Track 8 from Mercury 12″ single SWING 312, 1986
Disc 1, Track 12 from original CD pressings – Mercury 832 213-2, 1986
Disc 1, Track 13 and Disc 2, Track 4 from Mercury 12″ single MERXR207, 1985
Disc 2, Tracks 1 and 12 from Mercury 12″ single SWING 2212, 1986
Disc 2, Track 2 from Mercury 12″ single SWING 3312, 1986
Disc 2, Tracks 3 and 7 from Mercury 12″ single SWING 512, 1987
Disc 2, Track 5 from Mercury 12″ single 870 242-1, 1987
Disc 2, Tracks 9 and 11 from Mercury 12″ single MERX207, 1985
Disc 2, Track 10 from Another Non-Stop Sister (Mercury PPD-1031 (JP), 1986)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 27, 2012 at 11:40

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad they listened. I was very disappointed with the first version and contemplated not purchasing it, despite being a diehard SOS fan. Hopefully the mastering will also be good.


    June 27, 2012 at 12:59

  2. I loved this album when it came out, but it’s been a number of years since I listened to any SOS album. I might consider this deluxe edition if I can find it for the right price. When it comes to deluxe editions, record companies should really load up the discs with as much material as possible, considering most buyers will be die-hards who want everything. Not sure if this updated version of “It’s Better To Travel” includes everything from that era, but I imagine it’s close.

  3. For causing a rare and positive change to the tracklists: “Well Done, SUPERDELUXEEDITION!”


    June 28, 2012 at 23:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: