The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Smashing Pumpkins’ “Pisces Iscariot” to Be Expanded with Bonus Discs, Cassette

with 2 comments

Having treated fans last year to lavish expanded versions of the Smashing Pumpkins’ first two LPs, Gish and Siamese Dream, Billy Corgan is again working with EMI to release a deluxe edition of the band’s Pisces Iscariot compilation.

Released at the end of 1994, after the band’s wave of success off the Top 10, quadruple-platinum Siamese Dream through 1993 and 1994, Pisces Iscariot collated the best of the band’s many non-LP B-sides (most of which were only available on import singles) as well as three “new” tracks from the Siamese Dream sessions. Audiences were excited to have more of Corgan and company in their CD players, and, with the help of a hit rock single (a cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “Landslide” peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart), the set was a Top 5 hit – at that point, the band’s best placement on the U.S. charts.

Ever the fastidious archiver, Corgan is pulling out all the stops for this expansion of Pisces Iscariot, adding a bonus CD, a DVD and a cassette(!) to the package. The bonus disc includes more original non-LP B-sides and rare, period-appropriate compilation appearances, some of which are newly remixed for this edition, as well as eight newly-released outtakes, many from the band’s earliest sessions in their native Chicago in the late 1980s.

The band’s early Chicago period colors the rest of the bonus material, too: a live performance at Roselle Music in Roselle, IL in 1988, recorded by local access music show The Pulse, features on the DVD (no clarification yet on what the rest of the tracks listed on the DVD entail). Finally, a replica of a self-released cassette the band created in 1989 will round out the set.

Rest assured, more Pumpkins expansions and archival projects will be released after the deluxe Pisces Iscariot. Corgan – who took the Pumpkins back into the U.S. Top 5 with Oceania, an album culled from his 44-song Teargarden by Kaleidyscope project, last week –  has announced his intentions to expand and reissue the band’s entire output (having confirmed work on expansions of the highly acclaimed Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness and The Aeroplane Flies High box set), and in April created The Lucky 13, a specialized production team that will, with fan input, “review archival material, identify possible pricing models, and propose methods and formats of distribution for selected audio and video releases.”

The Pisces Iscariot reissue is out July 17 and can be ordered after the jump. The track listing is also there, too; a huge hand to SP fan site Crestfallen for breaking that story.

Smashing Pumpkins, Pisces Iscariot: Deluxe Edition (Virgin/EMI, 2012)

Disc 1: Original compilation (released as Virgin 72438 39834 2 1, 1994)

  1. Soothe
  2. Frail and Bedazzled
  3. Plume
  4. Whir
  5. Blew Away
  6. Pissant
  7. Hello Kitty Kat
  8. Obscured
  9. Landslide
  10. Starla
  11. Blue
  12. Girl Named Sandoz (John Peel Session – 8/9/1991)
  13. La Dolly Vita
  14. Spaced

Disc 2: Bonus content

  1. Bye June (2012 Mix)
  2. My Dahlia (2012 Mix)
  3. Jesus Loves His Babies (Gish sessions Rough Mix)
  4. Cinnamon Girl (Ignoffo Sessions – 2012 Mix)
  5. Glynis (2012 Mix)
  6. Crawl (Gish Outtake)
  7. Cinder Open (Eddy St. Demo – 2012 Mix)
  8. Blissed (Sadlands Demo – 2012 Mix)
  9. Slunk (Live on Japanese TV, 1992)
  10. Jackie Blue
  11. Venus in Furs (Live)
  12. Translucent (Sadlands Demo – 2012 Mix)
  13. French Movie Theme (Siamese Sessions outtake)
  14. Purr Snickety (Gish b-sides session outtake)
  15. There It Goes (Demo – 2012 Mix)
  16. Vanilla (Ignoffo Sessions)
  17. Why Am I So Tired?

DVD: Live at Roselle Music, IL – 11/19/1988

  1. Intro by Billy Corgan
  2. Pulse Cable Show Introduction by Lou Hinkhouse
  3. There It Goes (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  4. She (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  5. Under Your Spell (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  6. My Eternity (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  7. Bleed (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  8. Nothing and Everything (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  9. Jennifer Ever (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  10. Death of a Mind (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  11. Spiteface (Pulse Basement Jam – Chicago)
  12. Blue
  13. Offer Up
  14. The Joker
  15. Slunk
  16. Dancing in the Moonlight
  17. Snap
  18. Hello Kitty Kat

Cassette: The Smashing Pumpkins (self-released tape, 1989)

  1. Jennifer Ever
  2. East
  3. Nothing and Everything
  4. Sun (Remix)
  5. She (Live)
  6. Spiteface

Disc 1, Tracks 1, 5 and 9 were B-sides to “Disarm” CD singles – Hut Records HUTCD43/HUTDX43 (U.K.), 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 2, 4 and 14 were outtakes first released on this compilation
Disc 1, Tracks 3 and 10 were B-sides to “I Am One” CD single – Virgin/Hut Records HUT 2080 18-2, 1994
Disc 1, Track 6 and Disc 2, Track 13 were B-sides to “Cherub Rock” CD single – Hut Records HUTCD31 (U.K.), 1994
Disc 1, Tracks 7-8 were B-sides to “Today” CD single – Hut Records HUTCD37 (U.K.), 1993
Disc 1, Track 11 from Lull EP – Hut Records HUTCD10 (U.K.), 1991
Disc 1, Track 12 from Peel Sessions EP – Hut Records HUTCD17 (U.K.), 1992
Disc 1, Track 13 was the B-side to “Tristessa” – Sub Pop SP-90, 1990
Disc 2, Track 1 from Moon Demo cassette (self-released, 1989)
Disc 2, Track 2 from Light Into Dark compilation (Halo Records 001, 1989)
Disc 2, Tracks 3-4, 6-8, 11 and 15-16 previously unreleased
Disc 2, Track 5 from No Alternative compilation (Arista 07822 18737-2, 1993)
Disc 2, Tracks 9 and 17 from Earphoria – Virgin 72435 42706 2 8, 2002
Disc 2, Track 10 from 20 Explosive Dynamic Super Smash Hit Explosions! compilation – Pravda Records PR-6338, 1991
Disc 2, Track 14 was the B-side to “Cherub Rock” 7″ single – Hut Records HUT31 (U.K.), 19

Written by Mike Duquette

June 28, 2012 at 17:51

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I realize that Billy was probably thinking of the longtime, ardent fan when the bonuses for this were put together — it’s almost all previously unreleased or remixed versions of rarer tracks. But I was really hoping to find some of the b-sides originally left off _Pisces Iscariot_ like “Bullet Train to Osaka,” “Terrapin,” “Apathy’s Last Kiss,” and “Siamese Dream” (the song). Most have never appeared on CD, and it looks like they’ll remain that way. Oh well…


    July 3, 2012 at 22:54

    • At least “Purr Snickety”, previously a vinyl-only b-side, will finally appear on a CD. But, yeah, if Billy is willing to include that track, it sort of begs the question: why not the original vinyl b-side versions of the other songs you mentioned? Original 1994 vinyl copies of “Pisces” included a bonus 7″ single with “Not Worth Asking” and “Honeyspider II”. Still, I can’t complain too much–just yesterday, I played the bonus disc from last year’s “Siamese Drteam” reissue. Awesome stuff!


      July 4, 2012 at 11:33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: