The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Some Dreams Come True: Bangles’ “Everything” to Be Expanded by Cherry Pop

with 4 comments

Close your eyes, give us your hand and let’s talk about a new reissue of Everything, The Bangles’ final album for Columbia Records, from the Cherry Pop label.

Released in 1988, Everything was the latest effort from a band riding high for the past two years. Different Light, released in 1986 (and also expanded by Cherry Pop), had made them MTV superstars thanks to killer cuts like the Prince-penned “Manic Monday” and “Walk Like an Egyptian.” The following year, a hard-hitting cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “Hazy Shade of Winter” was the lead single off the Rick Rubin-produced soundtrack to Less Than Zero, the adaptation of Bret Easton Ellis’ acclaimed debut novel.

Featuring individual songwriting credits from all four members of the group, Everything was primarily anchored by two tunes from lead singer Susanna Hoffs and pop songwriting duo Billy Steinberg and Tom Kelly (“Like a Virgin,” “True Colors,” “So Emotional”). The first, rollicking single “In Your Room,” was a Top 5 hit, follow-up ballad “Eternal Flame” hit No. 1 in the U.S., U.K. and other parts of Europe, their second and final chart-topper after “Walk Like an Egyptian.”

Despite Everything‘s success, internal tensions led to the band’s breakup by the release of a 1990 greatest-hits compilation and single, “Everything I Wanted.” In the latter part of the decade, Hoffs reunited with guitarist Vicki Peterson, bassist Michael Steele and drummer Debbi Peterson and released a new album, Doll Revolution, in 2003. Steele departed the group two years later, and in 2011 the group released the album Sweetheart of the Sun with producer Matthew Sweet filling in for her.

Cherry Pop’s expanded Everything features three bonus cuts: a non-LP track, “What I Wanted to Say” (the flip-side of “Eternal Flame”) and two remixes of “In Your Room.” It’s out in the U.K. on September 24 and will hit the U.S. roughly a week later.

Hit the jump to place your order!

The Bangles, Everything: Expanded Edition (originally released as Columbia 44056, 1988 – reissued Cherry Pop CRPOP110 (U.K.), 2012)

  1. In Your Room
  2. Complicated Girl
  3. Bell Jar
  4. Something to Believe In
  5. Eternal Flame
  6. Be With You
  7. Glitter Years
  8. I’ll Set You Free
  9. Watching the Sky
  10. Some Dreams Come True
  11. Make a Play for Her Now
  12. Waiting for You
  13. Crash and Burn
  14. What I Wanted to Say (B-side to “Eternal Flame” – Columbia 38-68533, 1989)
  15. In Your Room (12″ Extended Version) (12″ A-side – Columbia 44-08170, 1988)
  16. In Your Room (7″ Remix) (single A-side – Columbia 38-08090, 1988)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 4, 2012 at 12:17

Posted in News, Reissues, The Bangles

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for posting. However, I am going to stick with my Wounded Bird reissue from a few years back. It has the 12″ version of “In Your Room” and sounds pretty good overall.


    September 4, 2012 at 13:09

    • It looks like track 15 is that same 12″ version of “In Your Room”.


      September 4, 2012 at 13:17

  2. Strange that the single remixes for “Be With You” and “I’ll Set You Free” aren’t included.


    September 5, 2012 at 02:15

  3. Looking forward to finally having the 7″ Remix of In Your Room… It’s very hard to find. Now I just hope it’s sourced from the actual master tape or at least a digital source. I was disappointed with the sound quality of some of the bonus tracks on Different Light.


    September 10, 2012 at 22:17

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: