The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Soundtrack Corner: Intrada Offers More “Galactica,” La-La Land’s “Friday the 13th” Available on Its Own

leave a comment »

This week and next see a trio of great film and television scores coming to CD from Intrada and La-La Land Records.

First up, it’s the long-anticipated third volume of Stu Phillips’ music to Battlestar Galactica from Intrada. While the previous two volumes were devoted to only three episodes of the series in total, subsequent installments of BSG largely eschewed new scores for previously-recorded cues tracked into the soundtrack. But Phillips was on hand to compose music for seven more BSG episodes, as well as one for the short-lived Galactica: 1980 spin-off series (essentially a scaled-down sequel to the original show, brought about when ABC received a then-unheard-of amount of letters protesting the series’ cancellation). Volume 3 of BSG is sourced from the original sources in the Universal Studios vaults (a combination of mono and stereo cues) and is available as a limited edition title now.

Intrada’s also got a premiere release out from underrated composer Jerome Moross. Moross was perhaps best known for his score to the 1958 Western The Big Country, for which he received an Oscar nomination, and the theme to the series Wagon Train used between the third and eighth seasons of that program. That theme was in fact adapted from the score Intrada’s putting out now: The Jayhawkers. Set in pre-Civil War Kansas, this 1959 Western, starring Jeff Chandler and a post-Davy Crockett, pre-Daniel Boone Fess Parker, had a score which combined the grandiosity of The Big Country with the psychological intensity of The Proud Rebel, Moross’ third Western score from this period. This release is presented almost entirely in stereo from the original three-track masters at Paramount and shines a deserved light on a hard-working, evocative creator of film themes.

Finally, La-La Land has one killer release for this coming Tuesday: a standalone issue of the score to Friday the 13th by Harry Manifredi. The composer’s scores to the first six tales of Jason Voorhees and his insatiable quest to kill camp counselors were given premiere CD releases by La-La Land as part of a limited edition box set at the beginning of the year, but now fans can enjoy the first in the series on its own, from the same master and featuring the relevant portions of the liner notes booklet. The composer will autograph the first 100 copies bought directly from the label, so if you’re interested, head to the LLL site on Tuesday at 1 p.m. Pacific time!

Order Intrada’s batch and reacquaint yourself with the Friday the 13th track list after the jump!

Stu Phillips, Battlestar Galactica: Volume 3 (Intrada Special Collection Volume 210, 2012 – original episodes aired 1978-1980)

Disc 1

  1. Exploration/Main Title
  2. Episode Titles
  3. Double Parked
  4. Stolen Viper
  5. Viper Stolen
  6. Starbuck in Prison
  7. Cassiopeia and Athena
  8. Deserted Town
  9. The Limping Man
  10. Grandpa Adama
  11. The Map
  12. Apollo “A” OK
  13. The Boxey Con
  14. Same Old Story
  15. The Hunt
  16. Time Running Out
  17. Bootes to Boot Hill
  18. Doubt
  19. Shoot Out
  20. No More Killing
  21. The Courting
  22. Here Come the Borays
  23. Trapped Again
  24. Time to Eat/Belloby Kidnapped
  25. The Boray Camp/Into the Cave
  26. Starbuck’s Plan
  27. Into the Swamp
  28. Attack by the Children
  29. Fanfare and Theme
  30. Launch the Raft
  31. The Attack Rhyme
  32. Starbuck and Miri/Well Done
  33. Warriors
  34. End Titles
  35. Source: Saloon
  36. Source: A Smoking Band
  37. Source: Three Sided Pyramid
  38. Source: Starbuck’s Luck
  39. Source: Hospitality Muzak

Disc 2

  1. Exploration/Main Title
  2. Episode Titles
  3. No Fighting
  4. Sudden Draw/The Victim/Cassiopeia Waits/Grim Starbuck
  5. Laser Test/A Match
  6. Starbuck Gets Help/Not Guilty
  7. Escape
  8. Starbuck’s Mistake/Change of Heart
  9. Questioning Baltar
  10. Night of the Cylons/Cella Reacts
  11. Apollo’s Plan/Stowaway
  12. Baltar – The Skeptic
  13. Cassiopeia – The Witness/The Villain
  14. Karibdis Overcome
  15. Friends
  16. Ceremonial Fanfares
  17. The Dome
  18. Strange Signal
  19. Boomer Embarrassed
  20. From the Past
  21. Cylon Base Ship Rising
  22. Tired of Running
  23. A Great Plan/An Agreement
  24. Some Deal/A Share of Loneliness/More Casi and Starbuck
  25. Good Luck
  26. They’re Gone
  27. Strays
  28. Man Your Vipers
  29. In the Lair of the Cylons
  30. Here They Come
  31. There She Is
  32. We Did It!
  33. Waggle
  34. The Dome II/The Eagle Has Landed
  35. Main Title – Galactica: 1980
  36. I Had a Dream
  37. Starbuck and Boomer
  38. Starbuck Lives
  39. Trek/Perhaps to Sleep
  40. Shelter/I’m Sorry
  41. In Search of Woman
  42. Taking Care of Angela/Starbuck’s Planet
  43. Spiritual Son
  44. Ship Building
  45. Three Humans
  46. Cy Leaves
  47. Goodbye Angela
  48. Friend Cy
  49. Sermon on the Mount/Zee, Son of Angela

Disc 1, Tracks 3-11 from “The Long Patrol”
Disc 1, Tracks 12-20 and 35 from “The Lost Warrior”
Disc 1, Tracks 21-26 and 36-39 from “The Magnificent Warriors”
Disc 1, Tracks 27-33 from “The Young Lords”
Disc 2, Tracks 3-15 from “Murder on the Rising Star”
Disc 2, Track 16 from “Take the Celestra”
Disc 2, Tracks 17-34 from “The Hand of God”
Disc 2, Tracks 35-50 from Galactica 1980 episode “The Return of Starbuck”

Jerome Moross, The Jayhawkers: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Intrada Special Collection Volume 211, 2012 – original film released 1959)

  1. Seal and Main Title
  2. Cam Recovers
  3. Jeanne Hides Cam
  4. Chopping Wood
  5. Jeanne’s House
  6. Cam’s Capture
  7. A Smashed Guitar and Cam Saves Jake
  8. Cam Shoots Evans and The Stronghold
  9. Attempted Assault
  10. Raid Montage
  11. Cam Riding and Lorden in Town
  12. Posse
  13. Brothers and A Raid
  14. Accusation
  15. Cam’s Return
  16. Cam Arrives in Abilene
  17. Darcy Arrives
  18. Premonitions
  19. Zero Hour
  20. The Last Act
  21. Darcy Shoots Lorden (Danger Trill)
  22. Prelude to Death
  23. Death
  24. Finale
  25. Premonitions (Alternate)
  26. New Guitar
  27. Hippy-Happy-Henny

Harry Manifredi, Friday the 13th: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (La-La Land LLLCD 1228, 2012 – original film released 1980)

  1. Overlay of Evil/Main Title
  2. Banjo Travelin’
  3. Alice Goes to the Lake (Parts 1 and 2)
  4. Back Up to Annie Alone
  5. Mrs. V Watches
  6. Ralph in the Pantry
  7. Don’t Smoke in Bed
  8. Not Tonight, I’ve Got a Headache
  9. Brenda in Lights
  10. The Bed Axe
  11. Alice Runs to Cabin
  12. Mrs. V Comes Clean
  13. Alice Runs to Light
  14. The Last Fight/The Chop to the End
  15. The Boat on the Water – Closing Theme 1/Jason in the Lake
  16. Closing Theme
  17. Sail Away Tiny Sparrow

This disc was previously released as part of La-La Land box set LLLCD 1183, 2012.

Written by Mike Duquette

September 7, 2012 at 12:08

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: