The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Megadeth Plan “Extinction”-Level Event

with 2 comments

Following last year’s heavy-duty 25th anniversary box set edition of Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?, EMI is slated to release another expanded anniversary edition from thrash-metal gods Megadeth, celebrating 20 years of their Countdown to Extinction album.

Countdown, the politically charged, hard-driving fifth album from the band, was released at one of the commercial zeniths of heavy metal, with Mustaine’s former band Metallica’s self-titled “Black Album” and Pantera’s A Vulgar Display of Power also earning high critical and commercial marks in 1991 and 1992. Countdown went double platinum – to this date, it’s the band’s highest-selling LP – and spun off Megadeth’s first chart hits. “Foreclosure of a Dream,” “Sweating Bullets” and “Symphony of Destruction” all peaked in the middle ranges of Billboard‘s Mainstream Rock Top 40, and the latter track even hit No. 71 on the Hot 100; to this day, it’s the only Megadeth track to have done so.

In traditional EMI deluxe fashion, the deluxe Countdown features the album, remastered and contained in a lidded box with collectible art cards. The package also features a bonus live show recorded at San Francisco’s Cow Palace in December 1992. Parts of this show have surfaced on various CD singles and compilations, as well as the Warchest box set and 2008 compilation Anthology: Set the World Afire, but this is the premiere release of the entire show, newly remixed from the original tapes.

The set is due out on November 6 and will be commemorated with a special tour that same month into December. Hit the jump for the track list and the pre-order link, currently an import-only title.

Countdown to Extinction: 20th Anniversary Edition (Capitol/EMI 50999 978484 2 4, 2012)

Disc 1: Remastered LP (originally released as Capitol CDP 7 98531 2, 1992)

  1. Skin O’ My Teeth
  2. Symphony of Destruction
  3. Architecture of Aggression
  4. Foreclosure of a Dream
  5. Sweating Bullets
  6. This Was My Life
  7. Countdown to Extinction
  8. High Speed Dirt
  9. Psychotron
  10. Captive Honour
  11. Ashes in Your Mouth

Disc 2: Live at the Cow Palace, San Francisco – 12/4/1992

  1. Intro
  2. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due
  3. Skin O’ My Teeth
  4. Wake Up Dead
  5. Hangar 18
  6. Countdown to Extinction
  7. Foreclosure of a Dream
  8. This Was My Life
  9. Lucretia
  10. Sweating Bullets
  11. In My Darkest Hour
  12. The Conjuring
  13. Tornado
  14. Ashes in Your Mouth
  15. Symphony of Destruction
  16. Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?
  17. Anarchy in the U.K.

Disc 2, Tracks 2, 10-11 and 15-17 from Limited Edition! Megadeth Live promotional EP (Capitol DPRO-79862, 1992)
Disc 2, Tracks 6 and 14 from “Sweating Bullets” CD single – Capitol C2 07777 15946 2 5, 1992
All other tracks previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

September 12, 2012 at 14:30

Posted in Megadeth, News, Reissues

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is some of my favorite work of Marty’s, right in the middle of the best period the band had. Very excited to hear well-produced live material of the era!

    Marc Reichman

    September 12, 2012 at 21:57

  2. Too many cool things are coming out this fall. I think I’m going broke!


    September 13, 2012 at 15:57

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: