The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

“Nuggets” Goes Back to Basics for November Reissue

with 4 comments

If “Woodstock” is the first proper noun one thinks of when associating with psychedelia, “Nuggets” may be the second. One of the most watershed releases in Elektra Records’ discography, Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era, 1965-1968 got under the surface of America’s musical counterculture and created one of the most worthwhile multi-artist compilations of its time.

Forty years later, Rhino brings Nuggets back as a newly-remastered set on CD and vinyl. If you can believe it, this release marks the first time the original Nuggets compilation has been released as a standalone CD in America. (A 1998 edition included the original set and three more discs of tracks from the period; a standalone disc was issued in Europe in 2006.)

Elektra founder Jac Holzman, intrigued by the short, to-the-point nature of AM rock radio at the time, commissioned guitarist Lenny Kaye (who was soon to be a fixture of The Patti Smith Group) to curate a playlist of tunes from that brightly-burning period of rock and roll creativity in the mid-1960s. Consciously avoiding the biggest hits of the time (but not, contrary to popular belief, avoiding Top 40 hits altogether; 11 of the 27 tracks charted in that range, including Top 5 “Psychotic Reaction” by The Count Five and Top 20s “I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night)” by The Electric Prunes and The Standell’s “Dirty Water”), Kaye created an intriguing collage of sounds from the mid-’60s that had a considerable impact on the years to come. (Kaye’s original liner notes even predict one of the most significant genres of the ’70s: “punk rock.”)

Nuggets will arrive as a 180-gram double LP on November 13 and a remastered CD, newly struck from the original analog tapes, two weeks later. The package, recreating the original gatefold sleeve, also features new notes by Kaye.

Amazon has order links for the CD (U.S./U.K.) and LP (U.S./U.K.), and the track list is after the jump.

Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era, 1965-1968 (originally released as Elektra 7E-2006, 1972 – reissued Rhino, 2012)

  1. I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night) – The Electric Prunes
  2. Dirty Water – The Standells
  3. Night Time – The Strangeloves
  4. Lies – The Knickerbockers
  5. Respect – The Vagrants
  6. A Public Execution – Mouse
  7. No Time Like the Right Time – The Blues Project
  8. Oh Yeah – The Shadows of Knight
  9. Pushin’ Too Hard – The Seeds
  10. Moulty – The Barbarians
  11. Don’t Look Back – The Remains
  12. An Invitation to Cry – The Magicians
  13. Liar, Liar – The Castaways
  14. You’re Gonna Miss Me – The 13th Floor Elevators
  15. Psychotic Reaction – Count Five
  16. Hey Joe – The Leaves
  17. Romeo & Juliet – Michael & The Messengers
  18. Sugar and Spice – The Cryan Shames
  19. Baby Please Don’t Go – The Amboy Dukes
  20. Tobacco Road – Blues Magoos
  21. Let’s Talk About Girls – Chocolate Watch Band
  22. Sit Down, I Think I Love You – The Mojo Men
  23. Run, Run, Run – The Third Rail
  24. My World Fell Down – Sagittarius
  25. Open My Eyes – Nazz
  26. Farmer John – The Premiers
  27. It’s-A-Happening – The Magic Mushrooms

Written by Mike Duquette

October 17, 2012 at 11:41

Posted in Compilations, News, Reissues

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a legendary comp, but this seems obsolete if the box is still in print.

    zs (@Gonzeux)

    October 17, 2012 at 11:51

  2. Yep, for twice the price of this single-disc reissue one can own the entire four-disc box set. Anyone even considering the single-disc version should just spring for the full box. You won’t be disappointed.


    October 17, 2012 at 12:22

  3. I have the Sire Records reissue of the LP from the late 70s as well as the CD box set, so I probably don’t need these, except… I believe there are a few cuts on the 70s LP that are stereo, while the box is mostly mono. Is there any word on what sources will be used for this release beyond “original analog tapes”? If I can get some different mixes I may spring for these as well. There’s a lot of great music on Nuggets.

    Jason Michael

    October 17, 2012 at 15:08

  4. Just more Rhino re-hash. Someone at that label needs to get more creative and adventurous with their releases. Why not remaster the great Warner Music group album catalog? Whatever happened to the Rhino LP replicas on CD?


    November 28, 2012 at 20:07

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: