The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Gems from the Diamond Mine: Blue Rodeo Collect Early Albums, Unreleased Demos on New Box

with one comment

Fans of Canadian country-rockers Blue Rodeo have something to get excited about, with the recent release of a box set collecting their first five albums with another three discs of unreleased material.

Blue Rodeo 1987-1993 celebrates the Northern rockers, who have won 11 Juno Awards in their native Canada and placed 10 singles in the Top 10 of the Canadian charts, including “Try,” “Til I Am Myself Again,” “Lost Together” and “5 Days in May.” Anchored by singer/songwriter/guitarists Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor, Blue Rodeo have been one of the country’s preeminent bands for some time. (They’re also partially responsible for giving an early push to a young singer-songwriter and fellow countrywoman, Sarah McLachlan, who guested on tracks on Five Days in July, released the same year as her landmark Fumbling Towards Ecstasy.

The band’s new box, put together by the band in conjunction with Warner Music Canada, features remastered editions of Outskirts (1987), Diamond Mind (1989), Casino (1990), Lost Together (1992) and Five Days in July (1993), along with a new remix of outskirts produced and overseen by Keelor and two discs of demos – one focusing on the Casino era and another entitled Odds and Ends. In total, 30 rare and unreleased tracks appear on those demo discs. The set also includes a 44-page book of liner notes by Jason Schneider of Exclaim! magazine.

Blue Rodeo 1987-1993 is available now from Amazon U.S., a full track breakdown is after the jump.

Blue Rodeo 1987-1993 (Warner Music Canada, 2012)

Disc 1: Outskirts (originally released as Risqué Disque/WEA 54718, 1987)

  1. Heart Like Mine
  2. Rose-Coloured Glasses
  3. Rebel
  4. Joker’s Wild
  5. Piranha Pool
  6. Outskirts
  7. Underground
  8. 5 Will Get You Six
  9. Try
  10. Floating

Disc 2: Outskirts Remixed (track list identical to Disc 1 – previously unreleased)

Disc 3: Diamond Mine (originally released as Risqué Disque/WEA 56268, 1989)

  1. Swells
  2. God and Country
  3. How Long
  4. Blues Piano
  5. Love and Understanding
  6. Girl of Mine
  7. Diamond Mine
  8. Now and Forever
  9. Percussive Piano
  10. House of Dreams
  11. Nice Try
  12. Fall in Line
  13. One Day
  14. Florida
  15. Fuse
  16. The Ballad of the Dime Store Greaser and the Blonde Mona Lisa

Disc 4: Casino (originally released as Risqué Disque/WEA 72770, 1990)

  1. Til I Am Myself Again
  2. What Am I Doing Here
  3. 5 A.M. (A Love Song)
  4. Montreal
  5. Last Laugh
  6. Trust Yourself
  7. Two Tongues
  8. Time
  9. After the Rain
  10. You’re Everywhere

Disc 5: Casino Demos (previously unreleased)

  1. If I Had a Heart (Demo)
  2. Always Have a Place for You (Demo)
  3. Til I Am Myself Again (Demo)
  4. What Am I Doing Here (Demo)
  5. 5 a.m. (A Love Song) (Demo)
  6. Montreal (Demo)
  7. Last Laugh (Demo)
  8. Trust Yourself (Demo)
  9. Two Tongues (Demo)
  10. Time (Demo)
  11. After the Rain (Demo)
  12. Photograph (Demo)
  13. Is It You (Demo)

Disc 6: Lost Together (originally released as WEA 77633, 1992)

  1. Fools Like You
  2. Rain Down on Me
  3. Restless
  4. Western Skies
  5. The Big Push
  6. Willin’ Fool
  7. Already Gone
  8. Flying
  9. Lost Together
  10. Where Are You Now
  11. Last to Know
  12. Is It You
  13. Angels

Disc 7: Five Days in July (originally released as WEA 93846, 1993)

  1. 5 Days in May
  2. Hasn’t Hit Me Yet
  3. Bad Timing
  4. Cynthia
  5. Photograph
  6. What is This Love
  7. English Bay
  8. Head Over Heels
  9. ‘Til I Gain Control Again
  10. Dark Angel
  11. Know Where You Go/Tell Me Your Dream

Disc 8: Odds and Ends (previously unreleased except where noted)

  1. Room for Rent (Demo)
  2. No Miracle, No Dazzle (Demo)
  3. Moon & Tree (Demo)
  4. Bad Timing (Demo)
  5. Dark Angel (Demo)
  6. Head Over Heels (Demo)
  7. What is This Love (Demo)
  8. Til I Gain Control Again (Demo)
  9. Shine On (Demo)
  10. We Walk Together (Demo)
  11. Tell Me Your Dream (Demo)
  12. Tell Me Your Dream (Outro Demo)
  13. Willin’ Fool (Demo)
  14. 5 Day Disaster Week (Demo)
  15. God and Country (Demo) (from Diamonds in the Rough – Atlantic EP PR-2710 (U.S.), 1988)
  16. The Ballad of the Dime Store Greaser and the Blonde Mona Lisa (Demo)
  17. Not My Time (Question of Love) (with The Drongos)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 29, 2012 at 11:52

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Buy it directly from the Blur Rodeo shop; it’s more than $100 less, and the the band gets the money, not amazon!


    October 29, 2012 at 12:42

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: