The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Cherry Pop Puts Its “Hands to Heaven” with Breathe Expansion

with 6 comments

All That Jazz 2CDAs we look ahead to 2013, Cherry Pop is about to get sophisticated with a reissue of All That Jazz, the debut album by U.K. group Breathe.

While their name sort of sits in the footnotes section of U.K. pop history, Breathe’s jazz/soul sound was rather enormously popular toward the end of the decade. Three singles, including “How Can I Fall?” (No. 3) and “Hands to Heaven” (No. 2) were U.S. Top 10 hits, with “Hands” also peaking at No. 4 in their native England. (“Hands to Heaven” was, in fact, Billboard‘s ninth biggest hit of 1988.) But for whatever reason, the album itself never passed gold status in America, and sophomore album Peace of Mind stiffed. The group disbanded shortly thereafter.

But Cherry Pop brings the album – and David Glasper’s gorgeous vocals on said album – back to CD in a two-disc set featuring 22 bonus tracks, including all the band’s major single mixes and B-sides of the period. The liner notes include insight from co-producer/mixer/engineer Chris Porter (who did a tremendous job mixing another British pop LP from the same year, George Michael’s Faith), as well as all of the original album’s cover variants. (It’s worth noting that friend of The Second Disc, compilation producer/remixer Vinny Vero, produced this package for Cherry Pop. As we approach the release date, look for an interview with Vinny on both this set and his work in the catalogue field!)

You can order the expanded Jazz, due out February 25, at Amazon U.K. – we expect an import link from Amazon in due time – and a full track breakdown is after the jump!

All That Jazz: Deluxe Edition (Cherry Pop CRPOPD113 (U.K.), 2013)

Disc 1: Original LP (Siren Records SRNLP 12 (U.K.)/A&M Records SP-5163 (U.S.), 1987) and single mixes

  1. Jonah
  2. All That Jazz
  3. Monday Morning Blues
  4. Hands to Heaven
  5. All This I Should Have Known
  6. Don’t Tell Me Lies
  7. Any Trick
  8. Liberties of Love
  9. Won’t You Come Back?
  10. For Love or Money
  11. How Can I Fall?
  12. Don’t Tell Me Lies (U.K. 7″ Version) (single A-side – Siren 11, 1986)
  13. In All Honesty (single A-side – Siren SRN 18, 1986)
  14. Jonah (First 7″ Version) (single A-side – Siren SRN 35, 1987)
  15. All That Jazz (Radio Mix) (single A-side – Siren SRN 65, 1987)
  16. Any Trick (Like a Monkey Radio Mix) (single A-side – Siren SRN 81, 1987)
  17. Jonah (Second 7″ Version) (single A-side – Siren SRN 95, 1988)
  18. How Can I Fall? (Single Version) (single A-side – Siren SRN 102, 1988)
  19. Don’t Tell Me Lies (U.S. 7″ Version)  (single A-side – Siren SRN 109, 1989)

Disc 2: B-sides and remixes

  1. Moments (B-side to “Don’t Tell Me Lies” – Siren SRN 11, 1986)
  2. Take a Little Time (B-side to “In All Honesty” – Siren SRN 18, 1986)
  3. Stay (B-side to “All That Jazz – Siren SRN 65, 1987)
  4. Life and Times (B-side to “Hands to Heaven” – Siren SRN 68, 1987)
  5. Make It Funky (B-side to “Any Trick” – Siren SRN 81, 1987)
  6. Don’t Tell Me Lies (Dance Mix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRN 11-12, 1986)
  7. In All Honesty (Chilled Out Mix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRN 18-12, 1986)
  8. Jonah (A Whale of a Mix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 35, 1987)
  9. All That Jazz (Remix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 65, 1987)
  10. Hands to Heaven (Extended Heaven) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 68, 1987)
  11. Any Trick (Like a Monkey Club Mix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 81, 1987)
  12. How Can I Fall? (Extended Remix) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 102, 1988)
  13. Don’t Tell Me Lies (Extended Version) (12″ A-side – Siren SRNT 109, 1989)
  14. In All Honesty (U.S. Remix) (CD single B-side – Siren SRNCD 102, 1988)

Written by Mike Duquette

December 20, 2012 at 11:36

Posted in Breathe, News, Reissues

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. David Glasper was a wonderful vocalist. I never understood why “All That Jazz” didn’t chart better. Every song was perfect 80’s pop.

    Gene Bennett

    December 20, 2012 at 13:44

  2. this is one of my favorite albums of the 80’s! I’m definitely on board for this reissue.

    rick grubbs

    December 20, 2012 at 16:23

  3. This reissue looks great. Glad to see a healthy dose of single mixes! I hope they don’t screw up and use the same version of “Don’t Tell Me Lies” twice on the bonus disc instead of the separate US/UK 12″ mixes…


    December 22, 2012 at 09:51

  4. A very good album with 3 great singles, but I prefer the follow up Peace of Mind even better. Every song on the record is gorgeous. I hope they expand that one two although I don’t think there is anywhere near the bonus material there is for All That Jazz.


    December 22, 2012 at 18:54

  5. Great! Hope that Cherry Pop release more PWL and SAW rarities in 2013.

    December 27, 2012 at 18:38

  6. I think that the fire never caught with them because they had the right voice and the right songs and the right sound at the absolutely wrong time, about 6 years too late. And had they been on that scene at the appropriate time they would have been labeled as riding on the coattails of Spandau Ballet’s album “True.”
    i liked this one at the time and nice to see it receive the deluxe treatment.


    January 5, 2013 at 07:25

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: