The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Say Their Name: “Love Songs” Arrives from Destiny’s Child, Includes New Song

leave a comment »

Destiny's Child - Love SongsThe upbeat dance-pop/R&B of Destiny’s Child successfully updated the girl group sound for the late 1990s and early 2000s, and launched the careers of Kelly Rowland, Michelle Williams and Beyoncé Knowles.  In late 2012, Legacy Recordings marked the fifteenth anniversary of the group’s No. 1 debut single with the release of Playlist: The Very Best of Destiny’s Child.  That disc soon became the most successful entry in the Playlist series.  So it might come as no surprise that the label will soon release another retrospective compilation.  On January 29, Love Songs is slated to arrive, and the 14-track album will premiere the group’s first new recording since 2004.

Whereas Playlist focused on the group’s hits (including all five No. 1 Pop and No. 1 R&B hits), Love Songs takes a different approach.  All four of Destiny’s Child’s non-holiday studio albums are represented via lesser-known gems with a romantic flavor.  The group’s first two such albums, Destiny’s Child (1998) and The Writing’s on the Wall (1999), featured a different line-up of Knowles, Rowland, LeToya Luckett and LaTavia Roberson.  Two tracks come from that eponymous debut, and three from the breakthrough sophomore effort (which reached No. 5 on the U.S. Billboard 200).    Two more tracks are drawn from 2001’s No. 1 record Survivor, which introduced Michelle Williams as a full-fledged member and included the group’s cover of the Bee Gees-penned “Emotion”.  It’s one of the tracks reprised on Love Songs.  After a hiatus, Destiny’s Child returned with 2004’s Destiny Fulfilled.  Four cuts on Love Songs originated on Fulfilled.  Kelly Rowland’s 2002 solo recording “Heaven” also makes an appearance, as well as Timbaland’s 2002 remix of “Say My Name,” the ubiquitous chart-topper from The Writing’s on the Wall.

Love Songs concludes with the reunion recording of “Nuclear.”  Written by The Neptunes’ Pharrell Williams, Michelle Williams, James Fauntleroy and Lonny Bereal, “Nuclear” was produced by Pharrell Williams.  Vocal production on the song was handled by Beyoncé Knowles and Bereal.

Hit the jump for the full track listing with discographical annotation, a pre-order link and more!

Destiny’s Child’s Love Songs is set for release on January 29 from Columbia Records, Music World Entertainment and Legacy Recordings.  You can pre-order below

Destiny’s Child, Love Songs (Music World/Columbia/Legacy, 2013)

  1. Cater 2 U
  2. Killing Time
  3. Second Nature
  4. Heaven – Kelly Rowland
  5. Now That She’s Gone
  6. Brown Eyes
  7. If
  8. Emotion
  9. If You Leave (featuring Next)
  10. T­-Shirt
  11. Temptation
  12. Say My Name (Timbaland Remix)
  13. Love
  14. Nuclear

Tracks 1, 7, 10 and 13 from Destiny Fulfilled (Columbia, 2004)
Tracks 2-3 from Destiny’s Child (Columbia, 1998)
Track 4 from Simply Deep (Columbia, 2002)
Tracks 5, 9 and 11 from The Writing’s on the Wall (Columbia, 1999)
Tracks 6 and 8 from Survivor (Columbia, 2001)
Track 12 from This is the Remix (Columbia, 2002). Original version from The Writing’s on the Wall
Track 14 is a new track

Written by Joe Marchese

January 16, 2013 at 13:36

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: