The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Alive and Kicking: New Simple Minds Compilation Announced

leave a comment »

Simple Minds CelebrateScottish rock/New Wave band Simple Minds have been together in some form or another since 1977, and that near-35-year run of singles is about to be commemorated this spring with a new greatest hits set.

Celebrate: The Greatest Hits+ will be available as a double or triple-disc set in March, and will feature, depending on which version you buy, up to 50 tracks from the group. The set spans the band’s entire run, from their early years on Zoom/Arista at the tail end of the 1970s and beginning of the 1980s, to their hitmaker years with Virgin throughout the ’80s and ’90s to their current independent period. From debut U.K. single “Life in a Day” to the multinational hits “Alive and Kicking,” “Sanctify Yourself” and “Don’t You (Forget About Me),” the immortal end theme to John Hughes’ teen drama The Breakfast Club, it’s all here.

In addition, Celebrate will feature two brand-new tracks just for this release, “Blood Diamonds” and “Broken Glass Park.” (The triple-disc version includes another newer song, “Stagefright,” released as a free download in 2011.) The band, still featuring founding members Jim Kerr on vocals and Charlie Burchill on guitars (along with drummer Mel Gaynor, who’s played with the band since 1982), will commemorate the release with a 28-date tour of the U.K. in March, April and May.

After the jump, find Amazon U.K. pre-order links (a domestic release is expected in May) and the track list for the sets.

Celebrate: The Greatest Hits+ (Virgin/EMI, 2013)

(2CD: Amazon U.K. / 3CD: Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1

  1. Life in a Day
  2. Chelsea Girl
  3. Changeling
  4. I Travel
  5. Celebrate
  6. The American
  7. Love Song
  8. Sweat in Bullet *
  9. Theme from Great Cities *
  10. Promised You a Miracle
  11. Glittering Prize
  12. Someone Somewhere (in Summertime)
  13. New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) *
  14. Waterfront
  15. Speed Your Love to Me
  16. Up on the Catwalk

Disc 2

  1. Don’t You (Forget About Me)
  2. Alive and Kicking
  3. Sanctify Yourself
  4. All the Things She Said
  5. Ghost Dancing
  6. Promised You a Miracle (Live) *
  7. Belfast Child
  8. Mandela Day *
  9. Biko *
  10. This is Your Land
  11. Kick It In
  12. Let It All Come Down *
  13. Let There Be Love
  14. See the Lights
  15. Stand By Love
  16. Real Life *

Disc 3

  1. She’s a River
  2. Hypnotised
  3. Glitterball
  4. War Babies
  5. Space
  6. Jeweller to the Stars *
  7. Dancing Barefoot *
  8. Cry
  9. Spaceface
  10. One Step Closer *
  11. Home
  12. Stranger *
  13. Stay Visible *
  14. Rockets
  15. Stars Will Lead the Way
  16. Stagefright *
  17. Blood Diamonds
  18. Broken Glass Park

Disc 1, Tracks 1-2 from Life in a Day (Zoom/Arista, 1979)
Disc 1, Track 3 from Real to Real Cacophony (Zoom/Arista, 1979)
Disc 1, Tracks 4-5 from Empires and Dance (Zoom/Arista, 1980)
Disc 1, Tracks 6-9 from Sons and Fascinations/Sister Feelings Call (Virgin, 1981)
Disc 1, Tracks 10-13 from New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) (Virgin, 1982)
Disc 1, Tracks 14-16 from Sparkle in the Rain (Virgin, 1984)
Disc 2, Track 1 from The Breakfast Club: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (A&M, 1985)
Disc 2, Track 2-5 from Once Upon a Time (Virgin, 1985)
Disc 2, Track 6 from Live in the City of Light (Virgin, 1987)
Disc 2, Tracks 7-12 from Street Fighting Years (Virgin, 1989)
Disc 2, Tracks 13-16 from Real Life (Virgin, 1991)
Disc 3, Tracks 1-2 from Good News from the Next World (Virgin, 1995)
Disc 3, Tracks 3-4 from Néapolis (Chrysalis, 1998)
Disc 3, Tracks 5-6 from Our Secrets Are the Same (rec. 1999/2000 – released on Silver Box (Virgin, 2004))
Disc 3, Track 7 from Neon Lights (Eagle, 2001)
Disc 3, Tracks 8-10 from Cry (Eagle, 2002)
Disc 3, Tracks 11-13 from Black & White 050505 (Sanctuary, 2005)
Disc 3, Tracks 14-15 from Graffiti Soul (Universal, 2009)
Disc 3, Track 16 was a non-LP digital single (self-released, 2011)
Disc 3, Tracks 17-18 are new recordings

* indicates track exclusive to three-disc version

Written by Mike Duquette

February 6, 2013 at 11:53

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: