The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Good Things: Edsel Expands Fine Young Cannibals Catalogue

leave a comment »


Fine Young CannibalsOur friends at Slicing Up Eyeballs and Super Deluxe Edition have confirmed track lists for Edsel’s upcoming reissues of both studio album by U.K. group Fine Young Cannibals.

Along with General Public, Fine Young Cannibals were formed from the ashes of The (English) Beat, with guitarist Andy Cox and bassist David Steele joining forces with singer Roland Gift, whose soulful voice was one of several hundred the bandmates auditioned. A video of lead single “Johnny Come Home” on The Tube, which premiered before the band was even signed, earned FYC a deal with London Records; their self-titled debut in 1985 yielded two U.K. Top 10 hits, “Johnny” and a cover of Elvis Presley’s “Suspicious Minds” with guest vocals by Jimmy Somerville.

The Raw & The CookedBut it was second, and ultimately final, album, 1988’s The Raw & The Cooked, which bought FYC a wider audience across the globe. Featuring polished production by David Z at Prince’s Paisley Park Studios (David’s brother, Bobby Z, was the drummer in Prince and The Revolution, and David himself was crucial in the production and engineering of Prince’s smash hit “Kiss”), The Raw & The Cooked spun off two major MTV-ready hits in “She Drives Me Crazy” and “Good Thing,” both of which topped the Billboard charts in America.

FYC’s success after The Raw & The Cooked was short-lived; they broke up in 1992, and only reunited briefly in 1996 for a greatest hits compilation and new single, “The Flame.” These double-disc expansions help keep the FYC flame burning, though, with a handful of non-LP tracks and dozens of remixes bolstering these packages. While hardcore fans will certainly point out omissions – notably, several mixes featured on the 1990 compilation The Raw & The Remix and a non-LP house track released under the name Two Men, a Drum Machine and a Trumpet – there’s certainly more to enjoy here than on any previous CD issue.

Edsel’s website has not divulged any details on packaging or liner notes, but fans will be able to find out soon: both titles hit U.K. stores on February 18. After the jump, check out the full track details and pre-order links for both titles!

Fine Young Cannibals: Deluxe Edition (Edsel (U.K.), 2013)

(Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1: Original LP (released as London Records LONLP 16 (U.K.)/I.R.S. Records LP IRS-5683, 1985) and B-sides

  1. Johnny Come Home
  2. Couldn’t Care More
  3. Don’t Ask Me to Choose
  4. Funny How Love Is
  5. Suspicious Minds
  6. Blue
  7. Move to Work
  8. On a Promise
  9. Time Isn’t Kind
  10. Like a Stranger
  11. Wade in the Water (B-side to “Blue” – London LON 79, 1985)
  12. Love for Sale (B-side to “Johnny Come Home” – I.R.S. IRS-52760 (U.S.), 1985)
  13. Motherless Child (B-side to “Funny How Love Is” – London LON 82, 1986)

Disc 2: Remixes

  1. Johnny Come Home (Mark Moore 12” Remix)
  2. Johnny Come Home (Extended Remix)
  3. Johnny Come Home (That Other Mix)
  4. Johnny Takes a Trip
  5. Suspicious Minds (Extended Mix)
  6. Suspicious Minds (Suspicious Mix)
  7. Suspicious Minds (U.S. Remix)
  8. Suspicious Minds (Caught in a Dub)
  9. Suspicious Minds (Shakedown Mix)

Disc 2, Tracks 1 and 4 from London 12″ 869 259-1, 1990
Disc 2, Track 2 from London 12″ LONX 68, 1985
Disc 2, Tracks 3, 6 and 8 from I.R.S. 12″ IRS-23626 (U.S.), 1986
Disc 2, Track 5 from London 12″ LONX 82, 1986
Disc 2, Tracks 7 and 9 from London 12″ LONXR 82, 1986

The Raw and The Cooked: Deluxe Edition (Edsel (U.K.), 2013)

(Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as London Records LP 828 069-1 (U.K.)/I.R.S. Records LP IRS-6273 (U.S.), 1988) and extra tracks

  1. She Drives Me Crazy
  2. Good Thing
  3. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be
  4. I’m Not Satisfied
  5. Tell Me What
  6. Don’t Look Back
  7. It’s OK (It’s Alright)
  8. Don’t Let It Get You Down
  9. As Hard As It Is
  10. Ever Fallen in Love
  11. You Never Know (B-side to “Don’t Look Back” – London LON 220, 1989)
  12. Social Security (B-side to “Good Thing” – London LON 218, 1989)
  13. Ever Fallen in Love (John Potoker Extended Mix) (12″ A-side – London LONX 121, 1987)
  14. It’s OK (It’s Alright) (Ploeg Club Mix) (12″ A-side – London 869 129-1, 1990)
  15. Ever Fallen in Love (Club Senseless Arthur Baker Remix) (12″ A-side – London LONXR 121, 1987)

Disc 2: Remixes

  1. She Drives Me Crazy (The Monie Love Remix) (12″ A-side – London LONXE 199, 1988)
  2. Good Thing (Nothing Like The Single Mix) (12″ A-side – London LONX 218, 1989)
  3. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be (Jazzie B and Nellee Hooper Remix) (12″ A-side – London LONX 220, 1989)
  4. 4. I’m Not Satisfied (Matt Dike 12” Remix) (12″ B-side – I.R.S. IRS-24009 (U.S.), 1990)
  5. The Flame (from The Finest – FFRR 828 854-2, 1996)
  6. Since You’ve Been Gone (from The Finest – FFRR 828 854-2, 1996)
  7. Trust (B-side to “The Flame” – London Records LONCD 389, 1996)
  8. Take What I Can Get (from The Finest – FFRR 828 854-2, 1996)
  9. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be (Jazzie B and Norman Cook Remix) (12″ A-side – I.R.S. IRS-23996 (U.S.), 1989)
  10. She Drives Me Crazy (David Z 12” Version) (12″ A-side – London LONX 199, 1988)
  11. Don’t Look Back (12” Version) (12″ A-side – London LONX 220, 1989)
  12. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be (Monster Mix) (12″ promo A-side – London LONXDJ 389, 1996)
  13. Good Thing (Prince Paul Remix) (12″ A-side – London LONXR 218, 1989)
  14. The Flame (Beatmasters Full Fat Mix) (CD single B-side – London LOCDP 389, 1996)
  15. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be (12” Mellow Mix) (12″ A-side – London LONXR 220, 1989)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 6, 2013 at 15:09

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: