The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Grammy Winners, Alt-Rockers Go Deluxe At Target

leave a comment »

BabelTGTHaving blanketed Sunday night’s Grammys telecast with ads and promotions (including heavily discounted prices on Grammy-nominated artists and exclusive promotions on recent and upcoming LPs by Taylor Swift and Justin Timberlake), American retailer Target has partnered with a recent Grammy winner and an upstart rock group to expand and reissue two albums.

Babel, the sophomore album by folk-rockers Mumford & Sons, and Night Visions, the studio debut by pop-rockers Imagine Dragons, have both been repackaged with retailer-exclusive content.

The British-born Mumford & Sons have eked out quite the niche performing dusty, banjo and acoustic guitar-laden folk rock that’s taken them from small clubs to arenas in only a few short years. They’ve established themselves as a Grammy favorite, earning a nomination for Best New Artist in 2011 and both Record of the Year and Song of the Year in 2012 for “The Cave.” In 2011, they also earned high marks for their performance on the award show broadcast, sharing the stage with fellow folk-rockers The Avett Brothers and a young upstart named Bob Dylan.

Second album Babel continues the long list of achievements for the group: it was the fastest-selling album in England in 2012, was the second-highest selling album in America the same year, and was nominated for four Grammys this week, taking home a trophy for Album of the Year. This new reissue includes three bonus tracks from a previous, non-exclusive deluxe reissue – including a cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” with bluegrass musician Jerry Douglas and Paul Simon as featured guests – and adds three new live renditions of songs from both of their studio albums.

After the jump, “It’s Time” to check out a hefty deluxe edition by Imagine Dragons!

Recorded over three years, Night Visions, the debut disc by Las Vegas quartet Imagine Dragons, is divided between throwbacks and new trends. Lead single “It’s Time,” with its throaty chorus and mandolin-and-huge-drums hook, wouldn’t seem out of place on a Hooters compilation; follow-up “Radioactive” is a mix of arena rock and dubstep. The whole disc is equally at home on your car stereo or through a solid PA system at a party or dance hall, and now there’s plenty more Imagine Dragons to go around. This new edition also features tracks (five, in total) from a previous deluxe edition only available at electronics retailer Best Buy, and adds another two exclusive tracks. (All seven tracks have been released on various EPs from the band between 2009 and the present.)

Both titles are available for purchase at Target now; online links are with the track lists below.

Mumford & Sons, Babel: Deluxe Edition (Glassnote GLS-0139-02, 2013)

  1. Babel
  2. Whispers in the Dark
  3. I Will Wait
  4. Holland Road
  5. Ghosts That We Know
  6. Lover of the Light
  7. Lovers’ Eyes
  8. Reminder
  9. Hopeless Wanderer
  10. Broken Crown
  11. Below My Feet
  12. Not with Haste
  13. For Those Below
  14. The Boxer – Jerry Douglas feat. Mumford & Sons and Paul Simon
  15. Where Are You Now?
  16. Lover of the Light (Live)
  17. Roll Away Your Stone (Live)
  18. Below My Feet (Live)

Tracks 1-12 released as Glassnote GLS-0130-02, 2012
Tracks 13-15 released on deluxe edition – Glassnote GLS-0131-02, 2012

  • Track 14 previously released on Jerry Douglas LP Traveler (eOne, 2012)

Tracks 16-18 are exclusive bonus tracks

Imagine Dragons, Night Visions: Deluxe Edition (KIDinaKORNER/Interscope, 2013)

  1. Radioactive
  2. Tiptoe
  3. It’s Time
  4. Demons
  5. On Top of the World
  6. Amsterdam
  7. Hear Me
  8. Every Night
  9. Bleeding Out
  10. Underdog
  11. Nothing Left to Say
  12. My Fault
  13. Round and Round
  14. The River
  15. America
  16. Selene
  17. Cover Up
  18. I Don’t Mind

Tracks 1-11 released as KIDinaKORNER/Interscope B0017324-02, 2012
Tracks 12-16 previously released on Best Buy-exclusive edition – KIDinaKORNER/Interscope B0017403-02, 2012
Tracks 17-18 are exclusive bonus tracks

  • Tracks 12-13 first appeared on Continued Silence EP (KIDinaKORNER/Interscope, 2012)
  • Tracks 14-15 first appeared on It’s Time EP (self-released, 2011)
  • Tracks 16 and 18 first appeared on Hell and Silence EP (self-released, 2010)
  • Track 17 first appeared on Imagine Dragons EP (self-released, 2009)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 12, 2013 at 11:41

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: