The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Wu-Tang’s RZA Compiles Classic Stax for “Shaolin Soul”

with one comment

RZA Shaolin SoulA new compilation of music from Stax Records is coming courtesy of a most interesting source: rapper/producer/actor/director RZA of The Wu-Tang Clan.

The man born Robert Fitzgerald Diggs has rarely slowed down in the 20 years since Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) was released in the winter of 1993. Besides producing most of his group’s early records and solo projects (including ODB’s Return to the 36 Chambers, GZA’s Liquid Swords, Method Man’s Tical and Raekwon’s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx…), RZA has also made a name for himself in prose (writing and co-writing Wu-Tang guidebooks The Wu-Tang Manual and The Tao of Wu) and film, turning in solid performances in Jim Jarmusch’s Coffee and Cigarrettes, Ridley Scott’s American Gangster, and most recently The Man with the Iron Fists, a martial-arts flick he also co-wrote and directed.

Now, he’s taking a small detour by overseeing this new compilation of Stax tracks through his own label, Soul Temple. The RZA Presents Shaolin Soul Selection Volume 1 (not to be confused with a similarly-titled 2001 compilation on the Koch label consisting of soul songs sampled by the Clan) will span two CDs or three vinyl LPs and feature 24 tracks by Isaac Hayes, The Meters, Albert King, The Emotions, William Bell, Booker T & The M.G.’s and many more.

A mix of selections from the compilation, due out March 19, has been commissioned by DJ 7L, and can be heard on the above video or on Soul Temple’s Bandcamp page, where special album and t-shirt bundles are currently up for sale. The full track list and Amazon links for the regular CD set are after the jump!

Various Artists, The RZA Presents Shaolin Soul Selection Volume 1 (Soul Temple, 2013)

Amazon U.S.: 2CD / 3LP
Amazon U.K.: 2CD/ 3LP

Disc 1

  1. I Forgot to Be Your Lover – The Mad Lads
  2. Joy – Isaac Hayes
  3. In the Rain – The Dramatics
  4. I Could Never Be Happy – The Emotions
  5. Don’t Take My Kindness for Weakness – The Soul Children
  6. I’m Afraid the Masquerade is Over – David Porter
  7. Sing a Simple Song – Booker T & The M.G.’s
  8. Packed Up and Took My Mind – Little Milton
  9. Poverty’s Paradise – 24 Carat Black
  10. I’ll Play the Blues for You – Albert King
  11. All It Takes is You and Me – The Sweet Inspirations
  12. As Long As I’ve Got You – The Emotions

Disc 2

  1. I Forgot to Be Your Lover – William Bell
  2. Ike’s Mood – Isaac Hayes
  3. Move Over – The Soul Children
  4. Hang On Sloopy – David Porter
  5. Steal Away – Johnnie Taylor
  6. Cold Feet – Albert King
  7. Why Marry – The Sweet Inspirations
  8. I Like It – The Emotions
  9. Keep the Faith – Mel and Tim
  10. Walk On By – Isaac Hayes
  11. L.A. Jazz Song – Booker T & The M.G.’s
  12. Children Don’t Get Weary – Judy Clay

Written by Mike Duquette

February 20, 2013 at 15:49

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. From Europe, including p&p, it’s actually cheaper to order from Amazon USA (12.59€) than from Amazon UK (14.69). Crazy…


    February 27, 2013 at 01:00

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: