The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Rilo Kiley Wraps It Up with “RKives”

leave a comment »

RKivesWhile indie-rock fans might be rightly bummed about the demise of L.A.-based Rilo Kiley, the members are at least delivering their fans a fine parting gift in the form of a new compilation that collects much of their rare and unreleased material.

The quartet, comprised of frontwoman Jenny Lewis, guitarist Blake Sennett, bassist Pierre de Reader and drummer Jason Boesel, fortunately never relied on their easiest gimmick to raise outside interest: both Lewis and Sennett were former child actors, she best known starring opposite Fred Savage in the cult-classic video-game film The Wizard (1989) and he a supporting player on the kid sitcoms Salute Your Shorts and Boy Meets World. (The pair also dated for a time, splitting around the release of second full-length album The Execution of All Things in 2002.)

In the mid-’00s, a slew of plum opening gigs for Bright Eyes and Coldplay, coupled with a few notable extracurricular endeavors (Sennett and Boesel formed The Elected and recorded for the Sub Pop label, while Lewis sang and toured with The Postal Service), broke the band further into the mainstream. These boosts in popularity coalesced into their signing with Warner Bros. to release 2007’s Under the Blacklight.

Unfortunately, that album would prove to be the band’s last: officially on hiatus since 2010, interviews with Sennett for various media outlets the following year indicated that the band were no more. But they’re not leaving without RKives, a generously-curated 16-track compilation featuring seven previously unreleased tracks. Until March 5, fans can also submit personal videos and other footage of the band for inclusion into a video for lead track “Let Me Back In.”

RKives will be released on April 2. Hit the jump to pre-order your copy and check out the track list!

RKives (Little Record Company, 2013)

Amazon U.S.: CD / LP
Amazon U.K.: CD / LP

  1. Let Me Back In *
  2. It’ll Get You There *
  3. Runnin’ Around *
  4. All the Drugs *
  5. Bury, Bury, Bury Another *
  6. Well, You Left *
  7. Draggin’ Around
  8. I Remember You
  9. Dejalo (Zondo Remix feat. Too $hort)
  10. A Town Called Luckey
  11. Emotional
  12. American Wife
  13. Patiently
  14. Rest of My Life (Demo) *
  15. About the Moon
  16. The Frug

Track 7 was the B-side to “The Moneymaker” (Warner Bros. PRO-S-102110, 2007)
Tracks 10 and 12 were B-sides to “Portions for Foxes” (Brute/Beaute W667CD1/2, 2005)
Track 11 was the B-side to “The Execution of All Things” (Saddle Creek SCE 56 (EU), 2003)
Track 13 was the B-side to “It’s a Hit” (Warner Bros. W-679 (U.K.), 2005)
Track 15 was the B-side to “Science vs. Romance” (Falsetto FR-002, 2001)
Track 16 included on the soundtrack to Desert Blue (Razor & Tie RE-82846, 1999)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 1, 2013 at 15:16

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: