The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Oh Yes, It’s Devo! “Hardcore” Compilations, Live Show Reissue Planned

with 4 comments

Devo Live 1981 SeattleThe fight against de-evolution never stops, as evidenced by not one but two upcoming reissues by alt-rock heroes Devo in the coming months. The Akron, Ohio-bred group will reissue a 1981 live show released for Record Store Day last year as well as two long out-of-print compilations of early demos.

Live 1981 Seattle was a hot item when it was released as a double-LP set by the band’s Booji Boy Records in 2012 for Record Store Day. The set found the band – brothers Mark and Bob Mothersbaugh, Gerald and Bob Casale and drummer Alan Myers – taking their New Traditionalists Tour to the Seattle Center Arena on November 28, 1981, performing classic tunes like “Whip It,” “Girl U Want” and “Uncontrollable Urge” as well as the then-new cuts including “Jerkin’ Back ‘N’ Forth” and “Through Being Cool.” Sourced from a DAT transfer of a tape found by archivist/”DEVO-Obsesso” Michael Pilmer in the possession of “Bob No. 2,” the CD, housed in a digipak with a deluxe booklet of rare road photos, also adds an additional two as-yet unannounced bonus tracks to the program.

Devo HardcoreMeanwhile, Booji Boy is teaming up with the Superior Viaduct boutique label to reissue both volumes of Hardcore Devo. Released in 1990 and 1991 by Rykodisc, these sets saw the earliest recordings by the band, conducted on four-track recorders and small local studios in the Kent State area between 1974 and 1977. Early versions of songs like “Jocko Homo,” “Be Stiff,” “Mongoloid” and even their earliest take on The Rolling Stones’ “Satisfaction” are on display. And, as a treat for this reissue, Hardcore Devo Volume 2 features a further four demos, none of which have been released before.

The Live 1981 Seattle CD will be available to order next month, according to the band’s official site. Vinyl editions of Hardcore Devo (a single LP for the first and two for the second) will street May 14, with a two-disc CD to follow in August; all of those bundles are up for pre-order from Superior Viaduct.

After the jump, check out the final track listing for Hardcore Devo.

Hardcore Devo (Superior Viaduct, 2013)

Disc 1: Hardcore Devo Volume 1 (originally released as Rykodisc RCD-10188, 1990)

  1. Mechanical Man
  2. Auto Modown
  3. Space Girl Blues
  4. Social Fools
  5. Soo Bawls
  6. Satisfaction
  7. Jocko Homo
  8. Golden Energy
  9. Buttered Beauties
  10. Midget
  11. I’m a Potato
  12. Uglatto
  13. Stop Look and Listen
  14. Ono
  15. Mongoloid

Disc 2: Hardcore Devo Volume 2 (originally released as Rykodisc RCD-20208, 1991)

  1. Booji Boy’s Funeral
  2. Can U Take It?
  3. Bamboo Bimbo
  4. A Plan for U
  5. The Rope Song
  6. Goo Goo Itch
  7. Be Stiff
  8. All of Us
  9. Baby Talkin’ Bitches
  10. I Need a Chick
  11. U Got Me Bugged
  12. Chango
  13. Fraulein
  14. Dogs of Democracy
  15. “37”
  16. Bottled Up
  17. Working in a Coalmine
  18. I Been Refused
  19. Fountain of Filth
  20. Clockout
  21. Let’s Go
  22. Man from the Past *
  23. Doghouse Doghouse *
  24. Hubert House *
  25. Shimmy Shake *

* denotes previously unreleased bonus track

Written by Mike Duquette

April 8, 2013 at 10:16

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome news. But I still hope they’ll reissue the early, groundbreaking Akron videos.


    April 8, 2013 at 10:42

  2. Talked to the band about reissuing both Hardcores back in early-mid 00’s – they said they had no parts. So these are going to be remastered from CD or they found them?


    April 9, 2013 at 10:43

  3. ClubDEVO dot com says nothing about remastering so I’d guess they copied straight from the Rykodisk CD release.


    April 14, 2013 at 22:28

  4. Now on iTunes and Man From The Past is missing from the bonus tracks.

    Ian Harris

    June 26, 2013 at 11:43

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: