The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

You Are Needed Now: Omnivore Reissues Two Townes Van Zandt LPs

leave a comment »

TVZ-Late-Great-CD-and-LPJoe rightly had much words of praise for Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions and Demos 1971-1972, Omnivore’s paean to underrated country singer/songwriter Townes Van Zandt. To hear Van Zandt’s works, including “Pancho & Lefty,” “To Live is to Fly” and others in newly discovered alternate and stripped-down forms on two discs, was a revelation to even the most hardcore fan of the late performer.

Now, Omnivore has taken the logical next step and will reissue High, Low and In Between (1971) and The Late Great Townes Van Zandt (1972), two of his most enduring albums and the ones most prominently covered by Sunshine Boy. Packed with original songs, including “You Are Not Needed Now,” “Blue Ridge Mountains,” “If I Needed You” and signature tune “Pancho & Lefty” (later a hit for Emmylou Harris as well as Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson, who named an album after the song); great production from longtime associates Kevin Eggers and Jack Clement and strong session work from noted players like Larry Carlton (Joni Mitchell, Steely Dan) and Don Randi (keyboardist for The Wrecking Crew), these albums finally get the due they’ve deserved for over 40 years.

Featuring new liner notes from Colin Escott, who penned liners for Sunshine Boy, these two albums will be available on both CD and 180-gram LP formats. For the vinyl, the first 1,000 copies will be pressed on orange and clear-colored vinyl, respectively, with all other copies on standard black. The new editions are available May 21 and can each be ordered below.

High, Low and In Between (originally released as Poppy LP PYS 5700, 1971 – reissued Omnivore, 2013)


  1. Two Hands
  2. You Are Not Needed Now
  3. Greensboro Woman
  4. Highway Kind
  5. Standin’
  6. No Deal
  7. To Live is to Fly
  8. When He Offers His Hand
  9. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
  10. Blue Ridge Mountains
  11. High, Low and In Between

The Late Great Townes Van Zandt (originally released as Poppy LP PP-LA004-F, 1972 – reissued Omnivore, 2013)


  1. No Lonesome Tune
  2. Sad Cinderella
  3. German Mustard (A Clapalong)
  4. Don’t Let the Sunshine Fool Ya’
  5. Honky Tonkin’
  6. Snow Don’t Fall
  7. Fraulein
  8. Pancho and Lefty
  9. If I Needed You
  10. Silver Ships of Andilar
  11. Heavenly Houseboat Blues

Written by Mike Duquette

April 11, 2013 at 09:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: