The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Wind of Change: Scorpions to Expand “Crazy World”

with one comment

Crazy WorldHere’s an upcoming catalogue title that lives up to its name: the Scorpions’ 11th album, 1990’s Crazy World, is getting the double-disc deluxe treatment from Universal’s U.K. arm this summer.

At the time of release, the German rockers had been playing together for more than 25 years, enjoying their greatest success internationally with the iconic “Rock You Like a Hurricane.” But Crazy World actually spawned a bigger hit than that: “Wind of Change,” a power ballad celebrating the end of the Cold War and the fall of the Berlin Wall, was a worldwide hit, peaking at No. 4 in the U.S. and even higher in Europe. (It’s still one of Germany’s biggest-selling, if not the biggest, singles of all time.)

It provided a fitting close to the band’s “classic” period; longtime bassist Francis Buchholz would depart the band in 1992. But the band is still going strong with founder/rhythm guitarist Rudolf Schenker and longtime vocalist Klaus Meine and lead guitarist Matthias Jabs all still part of the band. They even famously retired with 2010’s Sting in the Tail, only to un-retire the following year.

This new edition of Crazy World, released June 3, is augmented with seven B-sides, including Russian and Spanish-language versions of “Wind of Change,” as well as a bonus disc featuring 12 tracks from the band’s Crazy World live tour and four music videos.

Amazon links are not live yet, but the full track list is after the jump.

Crazy World: Deluxe Edition (Mercury/UMe, 2013)

Disc 1: Expanded LP (originally released as Vertigo (U.K.)/Mercury (U.S.) 846 908-1, 1990)

  1. Tease Me Please Me
  2. Don’t Believe Her
  3. To Be with You in Heaven
  4. Wind of Change
  5. Restless Nights
  6. Lust or Love
  7. Kicks After Six
  8. Money and Fame
  9. Hit Between the Eyes
  10. Crazy World
  11. Send Me An Angel
  12. Wind of Change (Edit) (single A-side – Vertigo VER 54/58 (U.K.), 1990/1991)
  13. Big City Nights (Live At The Moscow Peace Festival) (“Wind of Change” CD single B-side – Vertigo 878 833-2 (U.K.), 1990)
  14. Ветер Перемен (Wind of Change) (from Vertigo U.K. CD single 866 265-2, 1991)
  15. Vientos de Cambio (Wind of Change) (from Vertigo U.K. CD single 866 265-2, 1991)
  16. Holiday (Live Version) (“Send Me An Angel” CD single B-side – Vertigo 868 519-2, 1991)
  17. Hit Between the Eyes (Live Version) (B-side to “Hit Between the Eyes” CD single – Vertigo 866 621-2, 1992)
  18. The Zoo (Live At The Moscow Peace Festival) (“Wind of Change” U.K. 12″ B-side – Vertigo VERX 54, 1990)

Disc 2: Live Crazy World Tour and promo videos

  1. Bad Boys Running Wild
  2. Hit Between the Eyes
  3. I Can’t Explain
  4. The Zoo
  5. Rhythm of Love
  6. Crazy World
  7. Can’t Live Without You
  8. Blackout
  9. Dynamite
  10. Lust or Love
  11. Big City Nights
  12. Rock You Like a Hurricane
  13. Tease Me Please Me (promo video directed by Jeff Richter)
  14. Don’t Believe Her (promo video directed by Wayne Isham)
  15. Send Me An Angel (promo video directed by Meiert Avis)
  16. Wind of Change (promo video directed by Wayne Isham)

Written by Mike Duquette

April 18, 2013 at 10:33

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds great, but one problem, i have checked on numerous sites, even on Amazon U.K/U.S two of the biggest on line sellers and at this stage nothing. Hopefully i will know tomorrow. There is no sign of it anywhere, although the details are on google. A strange affair.

    peter chrisp

    June 17, 2013 at 05:58

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: